My Secret Weapon + 4 Loaves All At The Same Time!

Hey you guys! I have been having fun answering all of your questions and I can’t wait to post my answers. :) Haven’t left me a question yet? Then leave me one either here, or you can leave me one anonymously here.

Do you like to eat grains?

I do! Some of my favorites include whole wheat, oats, and quinoa. :)

Did you know that there have been some studies that show that eating more grains can extend your life? :) No wonder grains are called the staff of life. :)

If you are striving to include more whole grains into your diet, check out my recipes. Whole grains never tasted so good. :)

What is one of my favorite things to bake? WHOLE GRAINS BABY!

Whole Wheat Home-Made Bread. :)

Kat’s Delectable WHOLE WHEAT Bread

printer-friendly version

This is based on a 30+ year Bosch recipe–tweaked a bit. Since I have two Bosch mixers, I am able to make 10 loaves of bread at a time. Here’s the recipe for 4 loaves. They freeze really well too. :) We always freeze the extra loaves and pull them out when we need them. :)

Ingredients for 4 loaves of Kat’s Delectable Whole Wheat Bread

  • 4 cups warm water
  • About 9 cups whole wheat flour*
  • 1 Tbsp salt
  • 1/3 cup coconut, canola, or olive oil
  • 1/3 cup agave, maple syrup, or honey
  • 2 TBSP yeast
  • optional: one 500 mg vitamin C chewable tablet, ground up
  • optional: 1/4 cup ground flax

— A Kitchen Aid or a Bosch mixer is recommended, but any other mixer that can handle bread dough will work.

Notes: *You may need more or less flour depending on humidity outside. **Or you can use 4-5 bread pans.

You will also require the secret weapon—explained in the directions.***

Directions

Combine the warm water, salt, oil, honey/agave, yeast, vitamin C, and flax in a mixer (I used my Bosch).

Add the flour 1/2 cup at a time…

Until it is all incorporated — the dough should be a little sticky, but it should pull cleanly from the sides of the bowl.

Then knead for 9 mins. This is my larger Bosch Mixer (I do both at the same time; my big mixer can make 6 loaves: hence, 10 loaves).

Now for my SECRET WEAPON!!!!!

Can you guess?

It’s Tomato Juice Cans!!! (fyi–they are about 46oz — the BIG ones)

Spray the cans well – we don’t want any sticking! :) (Note: that is the really really BIG PAM Spray Can! not one of the little ones!)

Then, spray your counter-top with cooking spray. Take your dough out of the mixture and lay on the sprayed surface.

Separate the dough into 4 loaves (I like to used my plastic spatula to separate them — a knife would work too).

Then drop the dough mounds into the sprayed cans.

Once the loaves are all snuggled up in their “homes,” set your oven to its lowest setting.

Once preheated, turn it off, and place the bread in the oven to rise until about double in size (about 15-25 minutes).

Then turn the oven on to 350 degrees and bake for 25-30 minutes. :)

Hehe, YAY for muffin tops!!! :D

These guys freeze really well!!! :D

DIG IN!!!

My favorite way to eat it is—-with Peanut Butter ALL OVER IT! :D

xoxox,

Ever tried my Banana Bread with Peanut Butter all over it? You need too! (after you make some of My Delectable Whole Wheat Bread of course!)

107 thoughts on “My Secret Weapon + 4 Loaves All At The Same Time!

  1. OHMYGOSH YOU ARE A GENIUS!!!! Seriously, these are like the perfect sized slices of bread! Reminds me of those thin whole wheat buns….only better!

  2. That is such a cool way to make it! I was just thinking that I would have to halve the recipe at least, but I all of a sudden I decided that if I made it I could share some with friends or donate it. Spread the love!

  3. Pingback: Ask Me ANYTHING « katshealthcorner

  4. I think that’s the same Bosch recipe that I use! It is definitely delicious!

    I love the way you cook your bread in cans!! It looks like it turns out the cutest loafs (much more fun to eat!)

    And I agree that whole wheat, oats, and quinoa are some of the best grains ever! I also love brown rice and bulgar! Honestly, I think whole grains are a lot tastier than the “white” versions. Much more…..nuttier! :)

    Have a fantastic rest of the week, girl!

  5. Yay! I remember this bread from a loong time ago; it is SO good. I’m totally craving homemade whole wheat bread now, because tonight for mutual some of the girls made homemade WHITE bread. I was sad that it wasn’t wheat, haha. Looove this! I need to try baking it in those big cans.

  6. Okay – it’s official – I knew I liked you and now it’s confirmed – carbs and grains ROCK!!! LOVE bread…and that last pic – YUM :)…just add some Apple Butter and I’m there!

    • I become distraught when for some reason we can’t make bread for a certain week. I don’t enjoy having to search through the ingredient lists of the entire bread aisle to find one that has an amiable list. That’s why I love homemade bread. Not only do you know EXACTLY what’s in it, but it tastes SO good! :) Much better than that prepackaged stuff. :)

      Yes, go make some! You will never turn back. :)

  7. Pingback: FAQ! « katshealthcorner

  8. I’ve seen it said a few times already in the comments, but that is an amazing and ingenious method of baking bread in the cans! I love it – perfect sandwich sized slices of bread!
    I always bake a normal old boule and it’s not very exciting at all :P Going to have to pull my bread books out and find a nice recipe to play around with I think hehe

  9. Pingback: Me And My Orange Skin! « katshealthcorner

  10. Pingback: My Favorite Hummus! « KatsHealthCorner

  11. Pingback: There’s A Face In My Pumpkin Pie!!! « KatsHealthCorner

  12. I just made this tonight for my family. Except I used rapid rise yeast to make it rise quicker and I mixed/kneaded it by hand. My whole family loved it!

    Can’t wait for your next post with your tips and tricks….

    BTW- I love your blog. I officially check it everyday now for new postings :)

    • I am so glad that you like it! It is my FAVORITE recipe for bread (I love it more than any of that Great Harvest Bread). I love that it worked for you by kneading it by hand. My next post will have a few updates on the recipe and some tips on getting the perfect dough every time, so stay tuned! :) Awe shucks!!! You just made my day. :)

  13. Pingback: HANDmade Flowers + Snacks That Smile Back! « KatsHealthCorner

  14. Do you have a suggestion for making gluten free with this bread recipe??? A whole grain would be great since rice flours dont work the same

  15. Pingback: Doctor’s Appointment + What Kat Ate #10! « KatsHealthCorner

    • Thanks, Kara! You are such a sweetheart! :) I know you will love this recipe. My family can never get enough of it and I’m making it all of the time! ;)

      ________________________________

  16. Pingback: A Shootin’ Good ’n natural Day. « KatsHealthCorner

  17. Pingback: A Whole Lot Of Random Stuff About Me! « KatsHealthCorner

  18. Pingback: Things That Make Me Smile. « KatsHealthCorner

  19. Pingback: My Homemade Bread! « Kat's Health Corner

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

