A Balanced Diet is…

Hello my Almond Joys! :)

I am so glad that you guys like Single Lady Recipes as much as I do! There are times that baking a WHOLE batch isn’t necessary, when you just want ONE!!! :) Thank you for all of your sweet comments on my Single Lady Banana Cream Pies! Each and every one of your comments touch me SO much! You guys mean the world to me! :)

So,

What Is a Balanced Diet?

I couldn’t have said it any better. ;)

Ok. Let’s be serious. I want to hear from you your views of a Balanced Diet.

What do YOU consider a Balanced Diet?

xoxox,

P.S. Stay tuned for the Exclusive Insider’s Look into My Life! :)

60 thoughts on “A Balanced Diet is…

  1. for me, it’s eating all my wonderful veggies, fruits, and grains along with my daily dessert aka it’s letting myself enjoy my life :)

  2. I think that a balanced diet includes all of the essential nutrients and vitamins, but also some of the not-so-healthy things that we love to eat. Its important to nourish yourself well by making sure to take in macro- and micronutrients. However, I believe that its also important to occasionally (not often!!) consume food that doesn’t really have much nutritional value (fried stuff, desserts, etc) just because if we deprive ourselves, we’re not happy.

  3. Ha! Love this! And I can’t wait to see your views on balanced diet and your “Exclusive Insider’s Look into My Life!”

    I believe a balanced diet has equal amounts of veggies, fruit, protein, carbs, fat. Really, everyone is different so a balanced diet is different for everyone. For example, some work better on a low carb high fat diet while other work better on high carb low fat. I also agree with fitchocoholic above. A balanced diet is not deprivation. If you are happy, you are balanced :)

  4. Haha I agree with the photo! Really, though, a balanced diet to me is getting plenty of fruits, vegetables, whole grains and lean meats or fish, with the occasional sweet. Although I tend to bend the rules on the “occasional sweet” part sometimes. :P

  5. A balanced diet to me is whatever my body wants!! Mostly it craves vegies and fresh fruit with grains like oats, brown rice and whole wheat tortillas, but sometimes it screams at me for chocolate and ice cream. Of course it is always requesting some healthy fats :)

  6. Not restricting or depriving yourself is for sure balance in my eyes! People often ask me if I feel deprived since I eat so healthy and I always say no because I eat exactly what I crave…what I crave just happens to taste good AND is nutritious! Lol!

  7. Thanks for the comment on my blog! I like yours! To me, a balanced diet is a diet that has REASONABLE PORTIONS of fruit and vegetables, proteins, and some healthy carbs and fats. Of course,unhealthy fats are OK once in a while, but only if you exercise.

  8. I think a balanced diet is different for everyone. That’s something we all have to figure out individually. No “health” magazine or online calorie counters can tell you. You have to listen to your body.

  9. I think balance = enjoying all sorts of food, while focusing on the foods that provide the most bang for your buck (fruit, veggies, whole grains, etc.). :) And ice cream.

  10. I agree with Mr. Bear! :)

    haha. I think a balanced diet is eating everything in the right portions. Eating what your body needs. and trying to get protein, carbs, veggie or fruit, and a fat at each meal.

    I think its so important to eat balanced! FOR the most part!

    I think balance sometimes includes eating a little too much ice cream. Its being human and not overanalzying but still making sure we are eating good hearty foods!

  11. I love how you called us almond joys! I automatically thought of your AMAZING almond joy bars, which I have had 4 of today. Going on 5 before bed..
    I consider a balanced diet one that is mostly healthy, but allows for some wiggle room when a craving hits or an opportunity arises where you might get to enjoy a treat. I also think it’s important to get a wide variety of foods for optimum nutrition!

  12. It’s just a way of eating that satisfies you mentally, emotionally, and physically. You don’t exclude major food groups out, and you enjoy all varieties, including Snickers and carrot sticks! :-)

  13. I consider a balanced diet a diet in which you eat lots of fruits, veggies, healthy fats, carbs, proteins and everything you need with the addition of a few treats every once in a while.

  14. I’m still struggling with trying to find a balance…it’s always extremes with me…whether it’s not letting myself eat any “fun foods” or eating all “fun foods” and not healthy foods! Love the picture of the little kitty though =)

    • I totally understand. I have been in that situation before until I finally figured out how to include baked goods into my life and found that balance. I know you can find that balance too. :) I love the kitty too! He is so cute! :D

  15. Haha, I completely agree that a balanced diet is filled with chocolate ;)

    A bit more seriously… I think a balanced diet is eating fruits, veggies, whole grains, healthy fats etc. in order to make sure you get all the nutrients your body needs, but at the same time, to eat what your body’s craving. As much as I love veggies, sometimes all I want is a good piece of chocolate cake ;)

    Awesome post, girl (as always)!! I love how you cover such important things on your blog :D
    <3

  16. I’m still trying to figure out what a balanced diet is. I think it’s about eating nutritious foods but not being overly restrictive and still enjoying treats on occasion. My biggest obstacle in eating nutritiously is that often times the people around me aren’t eating healthfully and I don’t always want to be eating different food than everyone else, ya know? So I’m working on finding balance between eating healthfully but not being the wacky girl who only eats special food. It’s just about listening to your body and fueling well. While it might taste good, eating a bunch of junk food doesn’t make anyone feel good!

    • I totally understand! Sometimes it can be really hard to eat healthy. But it is all about Balance. :) Just listen to your body and eat healthy at least most of the time. That way you can still have fun and have that ice cream at the ice cream parlor. Sometimes, it’s about the experience. But if you eat healthy most of the time, there is no reason why you can’t have a treat once in a while! :)

  17. Did you do that Cross-Stitch!! I love it – I used to always do X-stitch when I was younger…I should start that again…it would be good for a distraction…now I want that pattern :)

    A Balanced diet to me is doing what works for YOU. YOU and you alone. Because EVERYONE is different. AND diets and lives change with time. What you do today won’t be the same 5 or 10 years from now – trust me, I know. So just accept where you are and live in the moment ;)

    • No, I didn’t do this one. One of my best friends cross-stitched this for my birthday. :) I love it so much! :D

      I totally hear you. Each and every one of us is different, soour balances are all different. :)

  18. I like that sign ;) except preferably a cookie in each hand :-P

    or, perhaps, a cookie in one hand, a carrot in the other? ;) I htink a balanced diet is one that incorporates all 3 macronutrients in some proportion (aka don’t cut out ALL fats or ALL carbs). The ideal proportion, however, definitely varies per person and doesn’t necessarily need to be controlled meticulously. A balanced diet is about being able to fuel your body with healthy, whole foods while still allowing room to live a little, go out to eat, have a ridiculous dessert. A balanced diet is, ultimately, supposed to be something you can keep up in the long-run. :)

    good “food” for thought, as always, girl :) <3
    n

  19. Pingback: The Exclusive Insider’s Look Into My Life! Part #1 « katshealthcorner

  20. Pingback: 28 Day DETOX Challenge + Bootylicious Blog Award « katshealthcorner

  21. Pingback: The Exclusive Insider’s Look Into My Life! Part #2 « katshealthcorner

  22. I love this site! So honest, young, sweet. For me, a balanced diet is eating what makes me feel good, physically and emotionally. So, ice cream or fries are fine, so long as I enjoy them and feel good after eating them. Sharing dessert makes me happy. I like the social aspect of a splurge.

  23. Pingback: Kat’s Recap of 2011! « KatsHealthCorner

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

