Banana Split Brownie Pizzert Babies!

Hey My Banana Splits! :)

Thanks for all of your kind comments on my last post. I’m glad that so many of you have done a Leap of Faith too!! I know that doing it has changed me for the better — and surprisingly, I wouldn’t mind doing it again if I got the chance. :) I’d cry, but I’d still do it.

Pizzerts are definitely one of my favorite desserts. You can eat them for breakfast too (or lunch, or dinner)!

As part of the Detox I am doing (which only has 1 week left!), we’re supposed to cut out gluten to see how we feel and such. I don’t think I am doing such a good job — Me and Gluten are like best buds. It doesn’t seem to bother me, so I don’t worry about it. But to go along with the Detox, I though I would give myself a Challenge.

You know my love of Pizzert Babies?  This morning, I wanted some. So I thought to make some Gluten Free!

I was also in the mood for a Banana Split and a Brownie kind of thing.

I succeeded.

Gluten Free. Vegan. Dairy Free.

No Sugar Added. Deliciousness.

Banana Split Brownie Pizzert Babies!

printer-friendly version

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup gluten-free baking mix or other gluten-free flour (I used oat flour)
  • 1 tsp carob powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp worth of sugar (I used 7 drops of liquid stevia)
  • 1/4 cup nondairy milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk)
  • 1 Tbsp unsweetened applesauce
  • handful(s) of pecan pieces and mini carob chips

Top each with Vegan Cream Cheese (which I added liquid stevia to so it was more like cream cheese frosting), banana slice quarterscarob chips, and cherries! (see note)

Notes: Regular cream cheese would work too. Or even Coconut Cream. Or Peanut Butter!!! :) Pumpkin would work in place of the applesauce. You can use any kind of fruit you would like to top your Pizzert babies. If you don’t use a liquid that has vanilla in it, add about 1/2 tsp of vanilla. Cocoa Powder and Chocolate Chips can be used in place of the Carob powder and chips. If you want to be absolutely decadent, try using cream cheese frosting in place of the cream cheese!

Directions

Combine the flour, carob powder, baking powder, stevia (or sweetener, if dry), and pecan bits in a small bowl.

Stir in the milk, applesauce, and stevia (or sweetener if wet).

Add Pecans and Carob Chips!

Spoon about 1 Tbsp of the batter into each sprayed muffin tin cup, resulting in 6 “babies.”

Bake the Pizzert Babies at 350*F for about 5-6 minutes, or until firm in the center and bounces back when tapped.

Let cool few a minute or two.

Now it’s time to bring out your artistic skills and HAVE SOME FUN!

Top each Pizzert Baby with the cream cheese, carob chips, bananas pieces, and cherries.

These Babies are almost too cute to eat. Almost. ;)

Want to be featured too? Check out Katie’s Blog for the rules! :)

Do you like Banana Splits? I LOVE THEM!

Have you ever had Bean Brownies? I haven’t, but I really want to!

Do you eat Gluten Free? I don’t really worry about gluten for me, but I know quite a few of you guys out there that do eat that way!

xoxox

70 thoughts on “Banana Split Brownie Pizzert Babies!

  1. Oh, that is amazing! They really look almost too cute to eat! :) I love anything with banana, so Banana Splits are always an option:)
    I was really intrigued by the idea of bean brownies when I first saw them around the internet, but I haven´t tried them yet. I think they must taste great, brownies are awesome and beans are awesome, so nothing bad can come fromt his combo!
    I like gluten! I can´t imagine going gluten free, but I have never experienced any problems with it, so I won´t be messing with my gluten :)

  2. Aw, your pizzerts are so beatiful!! Really really cute! Love the cherries:)
    I havent cut out gluten, but I dont eat much of it.. I dont use a whole lot of flour (although I LOVE that you use oat in this- love oat flour!), but I eat lots of barley, oat, whole wheat pasta, quinoa ect. Some of it has gluten. As long as I eat balanced I dont worry about gluten. I feel like it is natural to have a little!

  3. You’ve done it again! I LOVE your pizzert babies and these look amazing!
    I’m hit and miss with gluten. Sometimes I’ll go gluten free, other times not. I have tried to take it out of my diet but didn’t really notice a difference in how I felt so for now gluten + paije = a-ok :)

  4. How cute :) Love the muffin tin idea! At first I was like “how did she make them so perfect!?” lolll :D And I’ve made bean brownies before! They’re so good! I gave my dad some and he couldn’t even tell that they weren’t “real” brownies :P

  5. I love banana split flavored stuff! I made a banana split overnight oat parfait once and it was amazing. I’ve never thought of doing pancakes or pizzerts like that, but it’s such a good idea!
    Bean Brownies = win. So good.

  6. Hey Kat!

    These look yummy! How do I share them with someone? I want to send this recipe to your other cuz, Chef Justin (http://www.JustInGoodTaste.com) He is going to start cooking gluten free, alkaline recipes for me and 7 of my “want to be healthy friends”, we call ourselves the “power team.” I’ve got some really yummy gf recipes if you want to try any of them.

    Hugs!

    Cuz Rosemarie

  7. Pingback: The Lazy-Girl Pizzert «

  8. Pingback: Awesome Vegan Desserts!

  9. Pingback: Blogging for Breakfast «

  10. YUM! These look like the little tartlets that I find at the local bakery…only better AND better for you! :) I will definitely bake these for my bff Zoe coming home in three weeks!

  11. These look delicious!! I actually feel better when I don’t eat gluten, but it’s such a hassle…I usually just eat it anyway. Thanks for the good recipe! :-)

  12. Pingback: Q&A Eating Disorder « katshealthcorner

  13. Pingback: Seven Little Things You Ought To Know. « katshealthcorner

  14. Pingback: Kat’s Recap of 2011! « KatsHealthCorner

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

