Heat Can Kill

Hey my Cookie Dough Ice Creams!

Thank you so much for all your tips on how to eat healthy at Olive Garden! They really helped and I was able to have a delicious time, while still being healthy!

This is what I wore to Olive Garden.

I went with some family friends (an older couple with the husband’s mother who’s 90 years old) who invited me to go with them. A couple of weeks ago they had asked if I had ever been to Olive Garden and I explained no. They then said they would take me the next time they go. :) So I went!

If you can tell in the next picture, my cheeks got really rosy.

I’m not wearing blush at ALL! The rosy-ness is from the heat in my room.

The people who were taking me to Olive Garden came and we were off!

I started out with a salad with the dressing on the side. I also took off the croutons cause I don’t really like those — never have on salads. Now if they had had chickpeas and sunflower seeds, my dreams would have come true.

I dipped my fork into the dressing (I had my own little cup) and then had a bite of salad (i heard that tip from my cousins). That way you have dressing in each bite, but not too much. I liked how I could taste the dressing, but it wasn’t overpowering like many dressings are when dumped over salads. It was the perfect amount.

I had one bread stick. I was at Olive Garden and I had to have one.

Though, I must say, I didn’t really care for it. I’ve had better bread sticks, like the ones at Souper Salad. These bread sticks were ok.

I guess I like my pastas to have lots of tomato sauce on them because I had to ask for some more. :)

Overall, I really liked the service at Olive Garden, I like that they offer GLUTEN-FREE pastas for those who are gluten intolerant, and I really like the Italian dressing they had. But, I guess I had expected MORE. I had heard so much about it, I guess I got my hopes up too far. It was REALLY yummy, but not as yummy as I had hoped.

I babysat all yesterday morning, so I got to spend it all in air conditioning, but once I got back to my house, it was difficult.

You could feel the sweat trickling down your spine.

The air stuck to you. It is so thick you can cut it.

It’s hard to breathe because it is so humid.

I went to bed at around 10 last night. My parents didn’t allow my sister and I to sleep in our beds — it wouldn’t have bene safe in this heat. So we both slept on the living room floor — without blankets. Even though I had a fan on me, it didn’t help. The heat in my house had sucked all of my energy out of me. I tossed and turned. I woke up, felt the heat, and tried to fall back asleep. That happened for a pretty long time. I finally decided to check the time.

It was only 1 am.

I was so mad. 1am?!?! I still had ALL night to go! I must say, I was pretty upset. I was to the point that if it had been 3am I probably would have just stayed up — that’s how much I was done with “trying” to sleep. Though, I decided to give it another try. So I did.

I finally woke up again at 5:45. I was done. I got up and stayed up.

I had a very weird dream last night too – almost disgusting, almost evil. I wonder if it was from how awful my body felt in the heat. I don’t know.

I just know that drinking a whole TWO QUARTS of ice-cold Crystal Light (if I was going to drink that much water at one time, I wanted it to be cold) and eating half a bag of frozen fruit really helps your body cool down.

The thermostat says that it is 86 degrees right now, but that is only downstairs. Upstairs, it’s another story. It is probably 100 degrees up here right now. It doesn’t help that all of our computers are upstairs — especially when you want to blog. The heat just sucks all the strength you have right out of you.

I’m sorry I haven’t been keeping up with your posts recently. The heat in my house is just tiring me out and I just can barely stand it. I will catch up once my house gets back to normal temp. I don’t even think we ever need to use another oven in my life if this heat keeps up — we can cook all of our food just in our living room! I hope that when the guy who comes to fix our air conditioner comes soon.

I don’t know if I can bare it.

Through all of this, I have learned that sometimes, you don’t appreciate something until you lose it. Like air conditioning, cars, your wallet, friends, food, pets, books, family. This heat has really shown me everything that I am grateful for in my life. It has really helped me grow. I am actually grateful for this experience and what it has taught me.

Can you sleep well when the air is hot and sticks to you? When the air just lays on you and won’t get off? When the humidity makes your pillow feel damp? I know that it makes it hard for me to sleep.

What’s your favorite meal at Olive Garden? If you haven’t been there, what would you want to try there? I really liked their Italian Dressing!

What are some of the things that YOU are grateful for? I am grateful for all of my friends, for Christ, for my family, and your all of you!

LOVE YOU!

41 thoughts on “Heat Can Kill

  1. Wearing an olive-coloured T-shirt to Olive Garden? How cool and classy, I like it! :) And those meals look good.
    I also don´t like high temperatures, (un)fortunately our summers are more on the cold side, so no sweaty nights here :)

  2. I don’t mind the heat very much….its the cold I can’t stand!!
    I don’t really like olive garden salad, so for an app I usually get the minestrone soup, which is fabulous. My favorite entree is either spaghetti w/ marinara like you had or the venetian apricot chicken, which is INCREDIBLE! :D

  3. Ahh I feel your pain with the heat, I can never sleep well in it either. If I don’t have a fan or something in my room, I pretty much die haha ;)
    Glad you had fun at olive garden! I love their gluten free menu too mmm :P

  4. the heat sounds terrible!! whenever it gets really hot in my house I can’t sleep either – unless I put an ice pack on my forehead! it actually does work, though.

    i’ve never been to olive garden but i’m defenitely with you in that i feel like everyone’s talked it up so much that it’s not going to live up to my expectations. we shall see!

  5. I’ve never been to Olive Garden but my family HATES it. It doesn’t really look impressive. I;m VERY grateful for my a/c, but I’m more grateful for Christ, my family and friends, like you said. :)

  6. I sometimes moan and gripe about our Canadian weather, but in all honesty I’m happy that we never have to deal with weather like that. I don’t do well in the heat AT ALL. It almost never goes above mid 80’s around here, and I find even THAT hard to deal with… I can’t imagine anything higher. I hope you’re doing okay, hun, and I hope it cools down for you soon!

  7. Kathleen you are my long lost sister… I do the “dip your fork in the dressing” trick allll the time! I missed your shout out for eating at Olive Garden tips, but you can order the light dressing as well [that tastes exactly the same], and I LOVE their Pasta E Fajoli [soo butchered that spelling] soup. You can get it in their unlimited soup, salad, and breadsticks combo for pretty cheap. I’m not a huge fan of OG pasta, but the soup is great and one bowl has something like 120-150 cals.. so that means hellooo refills! :)

  8. Oh my, the heat sounds aweful! I cant sleep if its to warm, I need the fresh air! I hope the air con. will be fixed soon so you can get some sleep <3
    The food looks so good! I suddenly crave pasta with tomato sauce :)

  9. Aww cute rosey cheeks.
    Were you wearing a green shirt to look like an olive? since you were going to olive garden… haha im so not funny >.<

    Ugh I HATE sleeping in the summer. Lately, even though its winter here, ive been having bad sleeps. I wake up thinking ive been asleep for ages and its only 12:30 am!! makes me mad too.

  10. I use the good ol’ for trick too. Works like a charm!!
    I have had so many nights like that this summer. My room is the only one in the house that doesn’t get air conditioning — or heat (in the winter). It’s awful. Sometimes I go down stairs and sit in front of the freezer (and eat ice cream.. my favorite part) to cool down.

  11. Oh no, I don’t well with heat :( It makes me grouchy, so I am feeling for you! I end up taking a ton of cool showers when it’s super hot. At least Olive Garden was good! I go every now and again and really like their soup.

  12. Aw sorry about the heat :( I cannot sleep in the heat so I have a fan in my room. I can’t sleep in the cold either which meant I couldn’t sleep in the winter, but then I got a heated mattress pad and my problems were solved (okay, that was random, lol :) )

    I went to the Olive Garden about a year ago, and it was good but for a place so popular, I had expected a bit more. Oh well, I went there with my friends, so it was more about the company :)

    I’m thankful for my family, friends, animals, and blogger friends (like you :D )

    Have a fabulous weekend girlie, and I hope your house cools down!
    <3 <3

  13. I haven’t been to Olive Garden in a long time lol. The salad is good there. Thanks for the salad tip! Dressings are always so fattening!! Now I’m craving pasta! Sigh… :)

  14. everyone always raves about Olive Garden but honestly I could take it or leave it. You are right though about the dressing; it’s tasty! The last time I went (a long time ago!) I got the salmon meal and it was pretty decent, but I could have made the same thing at home, haha!

  15. Mmm, Olive Garden!! I always go when they have all-you-can-eat pasta for $7.95 because I love my pasta, and you can CHANGE KINDS mid-meal! It isn’t the best pasta ever made, but I love the smell in the whole restaurant :) And the Italian dressing is definitely a highlight.

  16. Pingback: Vanilla Spice Almond Butter « KatsHealthCorner

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

