The Vegan Slow Cooker!

Hey My Chocolate Covered Cherries!

Thanks for all of your comments on my last post. Homemade Protein Powder is definitely something I enjoy – so much cheaper than that stuff you can buy! :D Also, thanks for all of your love and support with my Driver’s Ed. I’ve only been driving for less than a week and I feel like a lot of it is coming 100 mph and I need to grab it all at once. I have those feelings that I need to be a perfect driver RIGHT NOW, but I haven’t even been driving for very long. I JUST started, and I’m already getting those feelings – those thoughts – those wantings. But right now, I am just going to take it one day at a time.

Remember when I received The Vegan Slow Cooker from Kathy Hester?


She had sent me a copy (free of charge – she did not pay me) to review and I absolutely LOVE it!


This quote is so right! I love how much time slow cookers save me. I just throw everything in my slow cooker, set the timer, and POOF! Dinner served! :D

The recipes are so amazing and SO easy to make!


Remember that Vanilla Cranberry Quinoa I tried?


And that Lentil and Split Pea Soup? 


AND that Chocolate Valentine Dream Oatmeal? The recipes were from her! If you want to read how I rated them, click here.

I had the oatmeal (like, 1/3 of the recipe – the batch is HUGE) as a yummilicious part of my lunch! WITH peanut butter on top of course. I love how easy it is to cook steel cut oats in the slow-cooker! SO much easier than having to stir them in a pot for an hour. Because of this book, steel cut oats and I can have more dates. ;)

Some of the other recipes that caught my eye have included the following:


The Apple Sage Sausage


Perfect Pizza From Your Slow Cooker


I mean — just look at that! :D


Wholesome Chocolate Chip Banana Bread – this one I love! I never would have thought to make bread in a slow cooker.


And the Pumpkin and White Bean Lasagna.

Some others included the:

  • Spanish Quinoa
  • Carrot Cake and Zucchini Bread Oatmeal
  • Holiday Sweet Potato Casserole

and brownies, and granolas, and pasta dishes, and so much more!!! I am just drooling at that list. AND, they are all VEGAN with many of them Gluten and Soy-free, too! :D

I would TOTALLY recommend this book to you. I’ve read many slow-cooker books, but this one is by far my favorite. I love how easy and simple the recipes are – my sister (who doesn’t cook very often) could definitely make these. We have really enjoyed the recipes we have tried so far, and we can’t wait to try more of them!

Kathy Hester is also the amazing woman behind Healthy Slow Cooking, aka: she has a blog! Go check her out. You will not regret it. :)


I used to always be afraid of using the slow cooker.

But this book has changed everything.

Now,

You could call me a Vegan Slow Cooker.

When you first started driving, did you have any struggles with certain aspects of it? I know I need to work on my checking my mirrors when I brake, right turns (which I’m getting better at), and changing lanes.

Do you have a favorite food to make in the slow cooker? I’m really loving making oatmeal, quinoa, and beans!

Do you tend to stay up late even if you shouldn’t? That is one of the things I am working on. Going to bed at a decent hour (10pm is my goal), prioritizing and using my time well, and driving are the parts of balance in my life that I am focusing on right now.

xoxox

38 thoughts on “The Vegan Slow Cooker!

  1. I really need to invest in a slow cooker! All of these recipes look and sound phenomenal- especially the chocolate chip banana bread! I never, ever would have thought to make bread with a slow cooker.
    I went through the same thing when I first started driving. It’s intimidating! But, as with everything, the more you practice and the more you experience, the easier with will become. Before you know it, it will be second nature. (:

  2. I am glad you enjoy all those slow cooker recipes! And I love Kathy´s blog, she is very inspirational. I think it is something that all you Kats, Kathys, Kaths etc. have in common, there´s something about the name :D
    The only thing that DIDN´T make me any problems while driving was driving backwards and parking :D
    Yesterday I wanted to go to bed early. So I went and then I was laying there with my eyes wide open til 4 a.m., nothing good :)

  3. It’s so funny that you are reviewing this book now. I just bought a copy as a birthday gift for a vegan friend and had never even heard of the book. I saw it on Amazon and I thought, what an awesome concept. Now I’m really excited for my friend because I think she will like it as much as you do!

  4. I need this!! I would love to try the sausage and the bread! My favorite slow cooker recipes are for oats or chili. Coming home to the smell of chili cooking is the best!!

    • My dad makes beans for supper every Sunday, so coming home from church to the smell of that is just SO incredible. I know what you mean with the chili! I should try making me some of that in the slow cooker. That would taste so much better than the can — nothing can beat the flavor of homemade!

  5. I don’t normally use a slow cooker, but all those things you made in it look delicious! I had kind of the same problem as you with driving.. I felt like I needed to be perfect right away. I mean, I was driving on a road with real drivers, so I felt like I should be as good as them. I probably almost killed myself and my teacher about 8 times with the whole ‘turning left on green but you have to yield to cars going straight even though you have a green light’ thing. Just keep practicing, and you’ll get better!

  6. Vanilla Cranberry Quinoa??? That sounds like a must try!

    Yeah when I first started driving, I was always afraid of changing lanes. I didn’t want to take my eyes off of the road to look in my blind spot! I’ve gotten better though. I haven’t really gotten better at parking though… and I don’t think I ever will. I have TERRIBLE depth perception problems and have had them my whole life. I could never play sports. They’ve wanted to do lasik on me for a while to fix it. I drive a Honda Pilot, so I have real problems getting it in to a parking space. I just can’t tell how close I am to other cars, and sometimes I actually get out of the car to feel it. It’s pretty bad.. I’ve hit two cars while parking >_< wow… I'm scary haha

  7. Sounds like a great book! I love new cookbooks :D They are my favorit bedtime reading!
    I have never made homemade sausage before, but I would like to give it a try!
    Im absolutely horrible at getting to bed! There are always too many more fun things to do, than to sleep! But I do know how important sleep is, so I would like to get this bad “staying up late+getting up early” habit under control!

      • Haha, I know! I’ve done pretty well the past two nights — been in bed by 10:30pm and wake up at 5am. So much better than the usual 12am to 4and then a quick napduring the day. But I hope to get that tobeing IN bed by 10pm, not just starting to get ready forbed at 10:30 or 11pm.I want to be able to listen tomy body and go to bedat the firstcue that it is ready for bed (if you get what I mean).

  8. Oh and PS, I failed my driving test THREE times because I couldn’t parallel park. Finally the lady signed “pass” on my test, handed me the slip and said, “You passed, now go learn to parallel park.”

    • Haha, apparently parallel parking is my next lesson. I can’t wait. ;) I guess it is a skill that you should know, but really — there aren’t many situations you ever HAVE to parallel parkanyways.

  9. Pingback: Chocolate Covered Cherry Milkshake! « KatsHealthCorner

  10. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your
    webpage? My blog is in the exact same niche as yours and my visitors would genuinely benefit from some of the information you
    present here. Please let me know if this ok with you.
    Appreciate it!

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

