Slow Cooker Vegetarian Stuffed-Bell Peppers

Hey My Glorious Blossoms!

Throughout this past semester, I came up with ways to make my life a little easier. With a full schedule, I didn’t have a lot of time to dedicate to cooking and baking. Because of this, my slow cooker became my best friend. This recipe became one of my classics. I could throw it all together and let it cook while I did other things. Once they were done I could store them in Rubbermaid containers and have them for dinner for the next few days. This is a super duper easy recipe and I know you will enjoy it!

Here’s how I make them!


Wash the peppers and cut out the seeds attached to the top, making a hole to the inside of the pepper.


Add the rice,


Beans,


Spaghetti sauce,


Dried chopped onion, chili powder, garlic powder, and salt (to taste)


And fold them together in a medium-sized bowl.


Use a fork or spoon to stuff the peppers with the filling, and place them inside the slow cooker bowls.


Add ½-cup water to the bottom of the slow cooker.


Top with the lids and cook on high heat for 3-4 hours, or until the peppers soften.

Grab a fork, serve ‘em up, and dig in!


Slow Cooker Vegetarian Stuffed Bell Peppers

Ingredients

  • 4 bell peppers (I usually use green), cleaned with tops and seeds removed
  • 1 cup cooked brown rice or quinoa
  • 1 ½ cup cooked black beans (or whatever beans you have on hand)
  • 1 cup chunky vegetable spaghetti sauce
  • 2 Tbsp. dried chopped onion
  • 1 tsp. chili powder
  • ½ tsp. garlic powder
  • Salt to taste (depends on amount of salt in beans/sauce/etc.)

Directions

Wash the peppers and cut out the seeds attached to the top, making a hole to the inside of the pepper.

Combine the rice, beans, spaghetti sauce, dried chopped onion, chili powder, garlic powder, and salt (to taste) in a medium-sized bowl. Use a fork or spoon to stuff the peppers with the filling, placing the stuffed peppers inside the crock-pot.

Add ½-cup water to the bottom of the slow cooker and top with the lid. Cook them on high heat for 3-4 hours or until peppers soften. Serve with a fork and dive in!

PRINT ME!

………………………………………………………………..

I just made another batch of these for lunch yesterday afternoon and my family LOVED THEM! My favorite part is how easy they are to make. I also like mixing the grains, adding vegetables, using different colors of peppers, etc. Such a simple recipe yet super nutritious! :)

What are some of your favorite college essentials? School essentials? Kitchen essentials?

with lots of hugs,

Kathleen

16 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Vegetarian Stuffed-Bell Peppers

  1. I bet that made your apartment smell INCREDIBLE :) I would be so jealous if I were your roommates. What helps me is having frozen veggies in my freezer (namely peas because those are easiest on my stomach) and taking up some precooked protein for the week!

    • Hey Madison! He-he, if you were my roommates I might get scared since there would be 3 of you chasing me around for those stuffed peppers. ;) jk. I love keeping frozen vegetables with me up at college too! They really make like easier. :)

      Btw, is Alley your middle name? I remember when I kept calling you that, and then I found out your name was Madison….. Ha-ha. Oops on my part. :P

      ________________________________

  2. Okay, so I am not a vegetarian but these look good enough to eat WITHOUT adding any meat to them. Looks like an easy dish. I may prep these on Sunday and take them to work for lunch during the week. Yummy.

    • Hey Cynthia! :) I’m not a vegetarian either, but that doesn’t mean I don’t like eating vegetarian meals, especially delicious ones like this. Up at college I did exactly what you mentioned — I would cook these up on Sunday and store them in individual Rubbermaid containers to eat throughout the week. They turned out beautifully and really made my life easier on those days. :)

      I hope they turn out for you! :)

  3. Pingback: No Beans, No Problem Chili | Fearless Food & Fitness

  4. I created stuffed peppers last night based on this recipe. Black beans, jasmine rice, half of a diced onion, and pasta sauce (that’s what I had on hand), and it was perfection. BIG thanks.I will be referencing you in my next post!

  5. Pingback: Easy Vegetarian Crock Pot Stuffed Peppers | Because It Calms My Nerves:

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

