ABC2 Granola Bars

 ABC is as easy as 123! 🙂

ABC2 Granola Bars

printer-friendly version

(originated from this recipe)

Notes:*You can also use one 15oz can pumpkin puree, 1 3/4 cups applesauce, or 1 3/4 cup mashed ripe bananas in place of the sweet potato

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Almond Butter
  • 15oz can (1 1/2 cups) sweet potato purée*
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup whole-wheat flour or brown rice flour
  • 1/4 cup ground flax
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/3 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/4 cup mini semi-sweet Chocolate Chips (or dairy-free chocolate chips)

Greased/sprayed 12″ x 16″ (approximately) pan/cookie sheet

As easy as 1.2.3:

1. Wet: In a large bowl combine wet ingredients.

2. Dry: Fold in dry ingredients (oats, flour, salt, cinnamon, almonds, raisins, and chocolate chips). Mix well until all incorporated.

3. BAKE! Wet your hands (or just take a spoon) and press the mixture into a sprayed baking sheet;

Bake at 350 degrees for about 16-20 minutes (or until golden in color, firm, but still has some bounce). Let cool and cut into bars.

I cut them about 1″ x 4″, and I made about 40 bars.

Store granola bars in zip-lock bags or wrap in foil (or just eat ’em up all at once! 😉 ). Will last about two weeks. They freeze well too. 🙂

What’s your favorite flavor of granola?

49 thoughts on “ABC2 Granola Bars

  1. those look like great granola bars!
    glad you found my blog, too. 🙂 biochemistry is one of my fave subjects, and there’s nothing more exciting than studying nutrition! 🙂

  2. Kathleen, these look delicious! I cannot wait to try them! First I’ll need some more sweet potatoes. But girl, believe me, when I get some, I am going to make these.

    • Totally! Pumpkin works beautifully in these! In fact, one week I’ll make it with sweet potato, and the next week I’ll make them with pumpkin (I like mixing it up). You can use applesauce too if you want. Even pureed bananas. Yum! 🙂

  3. wow! this actually looks like a recipe I really want to try! It looks like its from a company but way better, bigger, and fresher! Love the almond buttah! I love white chocolate chips in my granola and bananas! 🙂

  4. Um…LOVE THESE! I love how all the ingredients are good for you, so unlike a lot of granola bars on the grocery store shelves these days. I’ve never thought about making my own bars before, but I’m going to keep this recipe in mind!

  5. these sound awesome!!!! i’ve been wanting to make something with sweetpotatoes..i’ll have to save this recipe. i like coconut added to eveverything!!! or caco nibs. 🙂

  6. This is awesome!!!!! I LOVE pb&chocolate, and I am always looking for an easy on-the-go recipe. I am also lovin that it is sugar free 🙂 🙂 🙂 I gotta try this!

  7. These look absolutely amazing! I can’t wait to try them once my Chocolate Pretzel bars run out. 😉
    I love how you offered a bunch of substitutions, by the way. I’d probably use the mashed banana in place of sweet potato.

  8. Pingback: Milk and Cookies « katshealthcorner

  9. Pingback: Christmas Activities « katshealthcorner

  10. Pingback: Valentine’s Exclusive + Larabars + Carrot Balls! :) « katshealthcorner

  11. These look like they are the perfect consistency!
    I will give these a try tomorrow! I love almond butter in anything!

    I make a lot of energy balls (raw) like these ones:
    http://eatingwithsole.wordpress.com/2010/10/25/got-energy-balls/
    But just the other day I tried them with Almond Butter and dried currants and gogiès instead of trail mix… OMG they were great.

    I use almond butter all the time in stir fries too! Gives them that great nutty depth.

    great blog BTW!

  12. Pingback: No Sugar Recipe Round Up « Healthy Helper

  13. Pingback: What Is A Girl Going To Do? « katshealthcorner

  14. Pingback: These are a few of my favourite things… « Happy Domesticity

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

