I Am “Coco” For “Choco-Date Muffins”

Just like that crazy little bird in those commercials. He is always exclaiming “I’m Coco for Cocoa Puffs! Coco for Cocoa Puffs!”

….now that you have that song in your head — hehe, I know that you do :)…. When I sank my teeth into one of these babes, I became that crazy little bird! The only thing different was that I was exclaiming “I’m Coco for Choco-Date Muffins! Coco for Choco-Date Muffins!” πŸ™‚

Coconut Chocolate Date MuffinsΒ 

printer-friendly version

(based on an old recipe from the Vegetarian Times)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped dates
  • 6 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 tbspΒ coconut oilΒ (or canola)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • *optional: 2-3 Tbsp honey, agave, or sweetener of choice
  • shredded coconut to top muffins with

Directions

Combine the dry ingredients in a bowl.

Form a well in the center of the dry (like a wishing well) and add your wet ingredients into the hole.

Combine with a fork until all ingredients are incorporated.

Separate the batter into sprayed muffin tins. (each tin 2/3 full)

Bake for 15 minutess @ 375 degrees F,Β topping the muffins withΒ the coconut half-way through baking.

Coco for Choco Date Muffins! πŸ™‚

68 thoughts on “I Am “Coco” For “Choco-Date Muffins”

  1. Girl, you’ve gotta stop making such amazing muffin recipes! You have me drooling and dying to make these. Where do you come up with the basic recipe? That’s what I struggle with the most. Do you just experiment a ton till you get the measurements right, or is it an adaptation from another muffin recipe?

    • I like playing around with recipes and making them my own. πŸ™‚ I love having a challenge and taking a recipe that isn’t so healthy for you and transforming it into something that tastes just as amazing, if not better, but is so much better for you. It sometimes feels like it takes forever to get the right ratios for the right texture, sweetness, etc; but it is totally worth it. πŸ™‚

  2. I saw your daddy at Costco this afternoon. πŸ™‚ I still have to get used to seeing him on this side of town, hahaa. I can’t wait to see you tomorrow, deary! πŸ™‚ Are you bringing some fun snacks to munch on for the drive up? I’m bringing apples… and maybe some sort of bar if I have the time. πŸ™‚

    • I feel the same way! Muffins in my house go so quickly!! If I have the time, I make lots of muffins, and then freeze them–they seem to freeze pretty well– and that way I have a constant supply. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much! That really means a lot to me!

      One of the things I strive to do is reduce the amount of added sugar in my recipes, and replace the sweetness with healthy alternatives. With the dates, no added sugar is needed! πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: The Start Of Something New « katshealthcorner

  4. Pingback: Baby It’s SNOW Outside! « katshealthcorner

  5. Pingback: Almond Joy Pizzert Babies! « katshealthcorner

  6. Pingback: A Fruit And Veggie Quest + ‘C’R’A’Z’y ‘SP’uffins « katshealthcorner

  7. Pingback: A Blissful Reese’s Pizzert « katshealthcorner

  8. Pingback: Carob Walnut Muffins « katshealthcorner

  9. Pingback: Fundraiser Dinner/Auction + Lots Of Lovelies « katshealthcorner

  10. Pingback: Yes, I Did It Again. « katshealthcorner

  11. Pingback: Pumpkin Spice Muffins! « KatsHealthCorner

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

