Why Is Water SO Important?

Seventy percent of your body is made up of water.

It may be hard to believe, but the human body is made of mostly water. Yep — you swim in it, you cook with it, and you are made of it. Water is all around you — in the sky, in the ground, in the sea; and it is also inside of you. What is water’s important to health in the first place then?

As I strive to become more in fit, water has become an increased aspect in my life. Because I dehydrate fairly easily, it is imperative that I drink enough water to make up for what I expend through my physical exertion, in addition to my daily requirements. What makes water so indispensible that individuals have to replace the water that they lose every day?

Mountain Stream And Moss

Registered Dietitians and Health Experts emphasize the importance of drinking enough water. Natalie Butler (RD.) declared a few reasons why water is so imperative to life: (source)

  1. Water is the single largest component of your body tissue and structure of your cell walls.
  2. Water takes a large role in your body’s entire process of nutrition: from the digestion of your food, to the absorption of the nutrients from your food, to the transportation of those nutrients throughout the body, and finally through the elimination process.
  3. Water also plays a large role associated with enzymes. Because enzymes are only activated in water, any amount of dehydration instantly affects the body’s health.
  4. Water helps maintain body temperature.

Furthermore, Kathleen M. Zelman on WebMD, in 2008, pointed out a few of the other benefits of drinking water:

  1. Drinking water helps maintain the balance of body fluids.
  2. Water helps energize muscles.
  3. Water helps keep skin looking good.

Buttermere

Water is lost from the body in a myriad of ways 24/7. Every breath you take utilizes water. To operate, the brain requires water. Water even evaporates right through your skin each and every day. It is vital for life.

Since an individual is made up of mostly water, it is vital that we replace any amount lost. Athletes need to monitor their water intake to make sure they are replacing what they are using up. People who work out also need to watch their water intake also, as well as people who don’t.

If a person loses just 20 percent of their body’s water, they’re dead.

If a person loses even 10 percent, they encounter significant symptoms: increased lactose problems, nausea, severe constipation, significant-dangerous weight loss, loss of appetite, severe fatigue, dark urine, lack of normal urine, and headaches, just to name a few. (source)

Water Drops

Thirst is another indicator of a water imbalance. If you become thirsty, that indicates you’re body is already dehydrated. Unfortunately, I sometimes forget to drink enough water and I don’t notice that I am dehydrated until I get a little dizzy, a little woozy, or a little light headed. The body exerts these kinds of symptoms to declare an imbalance in its water levels. Don’t delay drinking water until you are thirsty. Drink water consistently throughout the day to prevent dehydration in any form.

A deficiency in water may also come across as hunger. Think of your body as a car.  When a car is low on gasoline, the meter will show it – therefore, it is imperative that you keep track of what the meter is showing. Same thing with your body; when your body needs something (vitamin, mineral, water), it will turn on its hunger signals, trying to tell the body it needs to refuel. When you receive your first hunger signal, drink a glass of water first, as it may just be a disguised thirst signal.

Single Water Drop

As I strive to increase my water consumption, I realize that it can be difficult to drink enough water. Some days I do really well, while others I did a pretty good job, but I know I could have done better. Zelman continued with four tips to help individuals drink more water.

  1. Have a beverage [like water, green tea, milk, or 100% fruit juice] with every snack and meal.
  2. Choose beverages you enjoy; you’re likely to drink more liquids if you like the way they taste.
  3. Eat more fruits and vegetables. Their high water content will add to your hydration. About twenty percent of our fluid intake comes from foods.
  4. Keep a bottle of water with you in your car, at your desk, or in your bag.

Nevertheless, drinks like Gaterade and PowerAde, soft drinks, caffeinated drinks, and sugared drinks may not be the best for quenching your thirst — in fact, caffeine, sugar, and salt increase your need for water (they like to hog water for themselves). Sugar and salt are like sponges — they suck the water right out of you, and caffeine is a strong diuretic. Therefore, if you had a, for instance, heavy sodium meal, strive to balance out some of it through extra water consumption. Drink a cup of water for every cup of a caffeinated beverage you consume. Gaterade and PowerAde do have their place, but it is mostly for extreme athletes. Coconut water and smartwater are some other options, as they also replace your electrolytes.

Silent Water Drops

We know that water is indispensible for life to exist. But how do we know how much water to drink, since each and every one of us is unique and different?

An easy starting point is to drink half your weight in ounces. If you are in the sun all day, drink more. If you work out, drink more. If you have a heavy sodium meal, strive to balance out some of it through extra water consumption.

Water is vital. Water is important to health because life relies on it. Without water, life would not be able to survive. January has just ended, and February has just awakened. It’s a new month. Let’s all strive to increase our water consumption. What am I going to do? I’m going to go for an extra glass or two a day. I’m even going to try to drink a glass of water first thing in the morning. Let’s make this month the month of H2O – Health(squared) Overall.

Thank you to everyone who commented on my Working Out + Pumpkin Cranberry Nutty Cookies post! All of your tips are SO wonderful!!! How will I ever thank you guys enough!?!? 🙂

THANK YOU guys again!!!! 🙂

57 thoughts on “Why Is Water SO Important?

  1. I need water everyday. I think it tastes good, but I feel so good after drinking a big glass, too!

    Thanks for the info!

  2. This is such a great post because I think a lot of people struggle with keeping up with their fluid intake. For a while I was very particular about making sure I had 4 bottles of water every day, not including all the fruits/veggies and milk/tea/coffee I drank. But, that got really difficult so I stopped monitoring it so much.

    Now, I KNOW I don’t get enough, and you’re right, it IS really hard. It’s easier in the cold months because I always have a mug of tea in hand because I’m always FRIGID, but summer is so hard to remember! Thanks for this reminder!

    Also: one thing you didn’t mention is that caffeine is a major diuretic. At sports meetings they always advise that people drink a glass of water with every cup of coffee or caffeinated soda/tea, to replenish the fluids that will be lost.

    GREAT POST!

  3. I love how informative this post is! It’s so true that water’s incredibly important, and I always try to get enough. However some days, I know I’m lacking. I’ve been trying to be more aware of it lately though.

  4. What an AWSOME POST, Kathleen!!! Water is definitely extremely important, and I think it’s great that your getting the message out there!
    It’s definitely hard to get enough – I used to drink hardly any water! I love it, it’s just hard to remember! I now drink about 48 oz of water daily (some in the form or green tea 🙂 ), and it makes me feel SO much better! I’m still trying to drink even more though – another 8 oz would be ideal for me! My mom gets headaches when she doesn’t drink enough water. I guess it’s her body’s way of telling her she needs more.
    Once again, great post!!!

  5. I try to make sure I can get enough water every day as well. Some days I struggle more than others. If I haven’t been getting enough water, then there are some days where I am so thirsty that I feel like I can’t get enough. When I get dehydrated. I tend to get migraines so I have to watch it.

  6. Great post Kathleen! I loved learning all the info about water and our body. I love water, so I never really have a hard time drinking enough. I usually drink ~80 ounces everyday! 🙂

  7. I did a post on this yesterday!! I really need to up my intake, but I have a tiny bladder so its really hard! Thanks for all the info on how important water is though, it gives me extra motivation to keep trying!

  8. I LOVE water, I just never drink enough! Thanks for this great post, it really is a great reminder of how important water is for our bodies, really motivates me do drink more! I just need to always have a glass of water with me, like carry it around the house or something because I usually only drink like 1-2 glasses a day and that’s not nearly enough!

  9. I’m super strict when it comes to my water intake, lol. I used to drink waaay too little and last summer I decided to make an effort and start drinking more – now I drink a lot! I bring my bottle to university and I refill it when needed, so I have it in front of me during classes all the time. Since I increased my water intake (along with other healthy changes in my life, obviously), I hardly have headaches anymore (I used to have them very often) and I just feel better in general. 🙂

  10. great post! About a year ago I consciously started to drink more water – just to see if it makes a difference – and it really does! I drink about 3L a day now from a refillable water bottle (its my baby, I take it everywhere) and it definitely makes me feel healthier. I can’t believe I used to drink like one glass a day! SO bad.

  11. Great post! I think water is pretty much the coolest thing ever. I mean what other substance hydrates you and you can swim it? Water is amazing!

  12. thanks for the lovely informative post! it made me thirsty just reading it! i try to drink enough water..but somedays i don’t think i do…

  13. Pingback: Baby It’s SNOW Outside + SF VEGAN Cake! « katshealthcorner

  14. Pingback: The Truth About Fat «

  15. Pingback: Body Composition & Your Health | Exceptional Health and Beauty

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

