The Truth About Barbie + The Answers

Thank you to everyone who played my SIX TRUTHS AND A LIE! 🙂 I loved reading each and every one of your guesses/comments. 🙂

Now it is time for the unveiling of The Lie. Lie, please step forward.

The Lie is:

#5Dill pickles.

I do not care for pickles AT ALL!

I prefer nut butter. 🙂

Now for the truths! 😀

           I HAVE wanted to be a cake decorator ever since I was a little girl.

           I DID live in Europe for the first half of my life — England, Turkey, and Germany were my childhood homes.

           I HAVE lived my ENTIRE life without a cell phone (though I hope to get one soon!).

           I DO sew on patches for some the boy-scouts who live around me — I even get paid for it. 🙂

           I DO love to babysit – it is one of my favorite jobs in the world! If I could do it all day I would! 🙂

           My great-grandmother WAS INDEED an undercover FBI agent during World War II. 🙂

………………………………………………………………..

Looking at the variety likes and dislikes in my “truths and one lie,” I’ve been blessed and have enjoyed a lot of special experiences. Even with all these–and a whole lot more–I’m still amazed that I don’t always have a positive view of myself.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One current example showed me this lack of self-confidence once again. Only a short while after beginning this blog, I had some wonderful ladies award me with the Stylish Blogger Award. I was hesitant and felt as though I shouldn’t – couldn’t accept it. I felt that I wasn’t anything special and didn’t deserve such an award.

I wasn’t loving myself. I need to find peace with myself.

Just like how I felt I wasn’t of worth of an award, I sometimes become influenced by the media’s perception. Many advertisers, magazines, and commercials bomb girls with the deceptions that they can only be beautiful if they are thin — that she has to look like Barbie.” (Have you noticed that the Barbie doll is making a comeback–with her “romantic” Ken? Hmmm) It’s tough enough wondering if we have a “correct” color of hair, the “correct” weight, or the “correct” size in order for society to consider us as “beautiful.” Just how I thought that my blog had to be “xyz,” society pressures all of us into believing that we can only be beautiful if we are “xyz.”

(picture source)

But is that really the ideal for any of us? To look like Barbie?

In reality, if Barbie were real, she’d be 7 feet 2 inches tall, have a 36 inch chest, 18 inch waist, and 38 inch hips (source). Not only that, but she would have myriads of medical problems, be unable to menstruate, and would topple over because of her proportions and have to crawl on all fours. I KNOW I don’t find that “reality” very pleasing.

Furthermore, some young adults look to fashion models as their “figure of health” (I’ve been there) and strive with all their might to become and look just like them. Some take it to dire extremes. Magazines like to feature images of very thin models, and unfortunately many of these models go to dangerous limits to stay skinny. These kinds of habits can lead to eating disorders.

Flower Bouquet

The average woman is 5 foot 4 inches and weighs about 140 pounds. While the average fashion model is 5 foot 11 inches and 117 pounds — seven inches taller but 23 pounds less than the average woman! Not only is that unrealistic for girls, but it is harmful.

I learned today from an article about a “plus-size” model who had reduced her body size to a 6-8 that she was being pressured to go back to the “PLUS-SIZE” of a size 10 in order to keep her modeling job. Since when was a size 10 a “plus-size”? Most plus-size stores don’t even carry sizes below a 14. So is the media reducing the size of “plus” in order for us to focus on unreal expectations of thinness?

The scale, our dress size, and the models’ runway photos don’t portray the whole and true picture. Listen to the voice inside you. Stay in-tuned with yourself and how you feel. Regardless of how the media and advertising might try to make us feel insignificant, we are more than sexual objects–their play-things–their sources of mere profit. We are beautiful. We are loved. We are divine. We can make a difference.

Monarch Butterfly

Let’s begin with one little step. Let’s change our focus away from the magazines and TV ads to how potential we have as women and individuals. One little pebble can make one big ripple.

That one compliment — that one smile — that one phone call — can change the world.

We can change the course of history.

 xoxox,

Thank you guys for always being there for me! 🙂

62 thoughts on “The Truth About Barbie + The Answers

  1. Pingback: I’m Sorry! « katshealthcorner

  2. I love pickles!
    I’ve dealt with a lot of self doubt in the past. It lead to terrible anxiety, disordered eating, the whole shebang. I took at least a year of therapy to get me out of that and a lot of learning about myself to finally accept myself. I can say now that I’m better than ever.

    Wonderful post darling, I hope you know that we all think you’re AMAZING and UNIQUE! We wouldn’t read your blog if we didn’t 😉

  3. YESSS I got it right! 😉 I hate pickles as well!

    And what a fabulous post about Barbie… She’s completely unrealistic and honestly not that attractive anyways! And why should beauty be so narrowly defined? I think beauty is a lot more about how you carry yourself and your ability to smile and connect with other people than the external casing. You, my dear, are absolutely beautiful and I love all of your posts; you clearly put a lot of thought into them and you are certainly making a difference.
    Don’t change for anybody. 🙂 You are fabulous and totally deserve awards! ❤
    n

  4. you DONT LIKE PICKLES!? oh dear.. no no no

    and wow seriously such an aamazing post.. i have heard about that barbie statistic once and its RIDICULOUS.. i just dont get why people JUST STOP forcing models to be skinny.. they should just make it a law!.
    again.. such a wonderful post Kathleen!

  5. There is another factor involved in how women are presented in glossy magazines which I might mention if I may. Most of the images are photoshopped to remove ‘blemishes and perceived imperfections’ and generally distort the pictures to make the models look even more ‘extraordinary’ than they do to start with. I always remember a photo of Grace Jones, a very famous one where she stands on one leg with the other at some extraordinary angle, and then reading a piece about how it was made…. the trouble is, even though one knows the photos are ‘enhanced’ the images stay in one’s mind. But as for Barbie, your piece really made me laugh – I find her quite terrifying as a doll, I would run screaming if a giant version of her appeared. I always wondered how she manages to walk on those funny little feet too. Great post Kat!

  6. Yay! I guessed pickles! They aren’t my favorite either, but I do enjoy them every once in a while – I love that vinegary flavor! But I completely agree that nut butter is WAY better 😉

    It makes me sad when I see models. You’re right – they look so unhealthy!
    You, on the other hand, look healthy and BEAUTIFUL both inside and out! Someone like you should be the real model of how we want to be – healthy, gorgeous, and most importantly, caring! Keep up the positive views, girl!! 🙂

    • 😀 Glad you think so too! 😀

      Awwww, thank you Alexandra! You are always saying the nicest things. Thank you! That totally made my day. 🙂 I agree. The kind of models we should be looking to should be real people with real bodies, not the unrealistic models with unrealistic bodies.

      Thanks again! 🙂

  7. Kat, this is such a well-written and informative post. I’m so glad you included the details about what a real-life Barbie would be like (unable to stand up!), and I’m really intrigued about the information you gave on the “plus-size model.” You’re right that most plus-sized stores don’t carry clothes below a 14, so why on earth should we have models that have to be smaller than that? Like you said, it’s just another way of continuing to promote the skinny ideal.

    This is a great reminder that you simply can’t trust everything you see, and I commend you for bringing this information to light. You are doing great work! 🙂

  8. This is a wonderful post and I’m so glad you wrote it! I hate to think that anyone would aspire to look just like Barbie or supermodels, but these are the kinds of standards that society has unfortunately set up for us and have been that way for too long…but what makes the difference are encouraging posts like this one that remind us to appreciate our own unique beauties. So thank you!

  9. I absolutely hate pickles too!
    This is such a wonderful post. I love everything you have to say and agree that it’s so unrealistic to compare yourself to models and strive to be anything but your own beautiful self. 🙂

  10. I was a pickle hater when I was little, I would always take the pickles off my cheeseburger and give them to my dad. Nowadays, I obviously don’t eat cheeseburgers ha. But I have grown to love a good quality pickle! mmm.

    Great post. 🙂 I agree with everything you said!

    • Thanks girl! Yeah, I see those kinds of pictures in the magazines too. I remember when I was younger I would look at those pictures and wish I had those bodies, but now I remind myself that they are not real.

  11. I love pickles!! But I hate babysitting. Yikes, Barbie sucks, doesn’t she? Whenever I find myself wishing I had a model body I remember how much working out and minimal eating that probably takes and that does NOT sound fun to me!

  12. Wow, Kathleen! You always blow me away with your wonderful, thought out posts!

    I especially appreciated this. I have always had body-image issues and I constantly am wishing I was thinner and prettier. It’s just not healthy. I should love myself just the way I am and stop comparing myself to others. The model photos are FAKE and Barbie is NOT REAL and we all have imperfections. We just have to learn to love our bodies for how they are, God made us special just the way we are for a reason.

    P.S I hate pickles, too! Can’t STAND them!

  13. Great post! Oh except the pickles thing…pickles are awesome! 🙂 You’re so right about Barbie and the way many of us see ourselves. It took me a long time to realize that I should focus on being thankful for my health instead of what the scale says.

  14. Kathleen, that is beautifully written!
    You are right, the standards we feel we should live up to are too high, out of reach and unrealistic.
    Self love is a major thing to achieve. And we will continue to strive towards that every day 🙂

  15. Pingback: Ask Me ANYTHING « katshealthcorner

  16. Pingback: Think You Can Beat Me??? « katshealthcorner

  17. Pingback: Recap Of CLEP Test + Some Goodies I’ve Received! « katshealthcorner

  18. Pingback: Yes, I Did It Again. « katshealthcorner

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

