baking · Balance With Self · Goodies · Health And Nutrition

Reader Request: NO SUGAR ADDED PUMPKIN PIE! + I Am So Thankful

Pumpkin Pie.

Whenever I eat Pumpkin Pie, I always feel the Spirit of Thanksgiving.

Thanksgiving is one of the most popular times to feel gratitude. Thanksgiving time is a time of retrospect, a time I more dedicatedly reflect on how blessed I am in my life. Also with what is happening in Japan with the Earthquakes and such, I am reminded about how blessed I truly am.

Some of the blessings I think about include how the Lord never gave up on me; how my family is always there for me; how my friends always lift me up when I am down; how Chip— my Kittycat–always makes me feel better; how YOU are the best readers EVER! YOU make blogging so much fun; and how Pumpkin Pie makes my taste buds dance! 😉

I strive to keep the Spirit of Thanksgiving with me throughout the year, and one of the easiest ways I do that is to make me some Pumpkin Pie. 🙂

Not only is this Pumpkin Pie have No Sugar Added, but it has TOFU in it! 😀

A little while back, Matt @  The Athlete’s Plate asked what was our favorite way to use tofu, and I told him I liked to use it in PUMPKIN PIE! 😀

One of my lovely friends devoured a slice of My NO SUGAR ADDED Pumpkin Pie and fell in love with it. She asked me for my recipe, and I gave her my word I’d share my recipe with her.

Now I am going to share it with you. 🙂

No Sugar Added Pumpkin Pie

printer-friendly version

This is No Sugar Added, can be Gluten Free (**see note), and is VEGAN!

Ingredients

Filling

  • 15oz can of pumpkin purée
  • 14oz soft (silken) tofu
  • 1 1/2 cup chopped dates
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • a dash each of ground allspice and cloves

Crust (based on this recipe from Bob Red Mill’s)

  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour (or oat flour to make GLUTEN FREE)
  • 3 tablespoons Smart Balance Spread
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 4-5 Tablespoons ICE cold water
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Directions

Combine the Tofu and Pumpkin in either a Blend-Tec, Vita-Mix, or what-ever-you-have blender.

Add Dates and Spices. BLEND ’em up!

Make the Crust:

Use a fork and mash together the Smart Balance, cinnamon, and flour.

Then, add the COLD water one tablespoon at a time.

You want to just add enough to make it dough-like. Not dry, but not sticky.

Once the dough forms, roll it out on a lightly floured surface.

Form into the pan (I used a 10-inch pie pan).

Imperfect-looking crusts give it more character. 😀

Pour in the filling.

Bake @ 350*F for about 50-55 minutes, or until fork inserted in the center comes out pretty clean.

Let cool and then enjoy!

I like to refrigerate my pies and enjoy them the next day. It gives the flavors some extra time to merge. 😀

Cut yourself a slice and DEVOUR!!! 😀

I may just have a slice for Breakfast tomorrow! Or for Lunch, after my CLEP test. 🙂

How do you like to use Tofu?

xoxox,

95 thoughts on “Reader Request: NO SUGAR ADDED PUMPKIN PIE! + I Am So Thankful

  1. Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday because of its focus on family and being thankful for what you have. I’m thankful for all of the sweet comments you leave on my blog!

    I’ve actually never had tofu…I’m not sure how to buy/prepare it – I guess that’s another adventure for the future!

    The pumpkin pie looks yumma!

    Megan

  2. Pumpkin pie is one of those desserts that everytime I eat it, I really wish it would just reappear so I could devour it all over again..and again..

    I think it’s cool that you use tofu in pie! I have never heard of that(heh, maybe I’m just silly)!

  3. Yum! This looks great! And I love that you made this pie in March. I only make pumpkin pie at Thanksgiving and I don’t know why…It’s so good it should be made all year round! 🙂

  4. YUMMMMM!!! Kat, sugar-free pumpkin pie??? Did you read my mind?? Did you know pumpkin pie is my favorite dessert of all time???? 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    btw, have you ever tried making pie crust with almond butter??? It’s reaaaaaally yummy 😉

  5. This looks great for Thanksgiving and any other day of the year! I love pumpkin pie, I love that there is no added sugar. My mom is a diabetic so I know she will love this too! 🙂

  6. What an interesting and creative way to make a pie!! I would probably never make this, simply because I would have to go out and buy tofu (lol) but I would totally try it if YOU made it for me 🙂 Awesome recipe girl!

  7. Pumpkin Pie is my FAV!! ❤

    I can't imagine putting tofu and dates in it! It looks amazing! I am just such a poop and have a hard time trying to get myself to try stuff like that!

  8. Kathleen!!!!!!! You posted the recipe!!!! So glad you did girl! =) looks amazing (as all your recipes do)! I think you may just have to send some my way :P…b/c I’ve never tried tofu and this recipe would be the perfect excuse to try it! =)

    1. Awwwwwwe, thanks Danielle. Yep, I decided to post it even though it wasn’t Thanksgiving. 🙂 What!? Never had tofu?! no,no,no. Try some! It’s like a clean slate that you can have fun with. 😀

  9. Ooh I’ve been looking for good ways to use tofu! I absolutely love pumpkin, no sugar added baking, and pie! This is perfect!
    Good luck with your test tomorrow! I know you’re going to do amazing, especially if you fuel up with an amazing breakfast like this!

  10. OMGsh I am so excited about this recipe! I have always wanted to make a healthy pumpkin pie……or any pie for that matter…..and now I finnaly can! I don’t think I can wait till thanksgiving to make it though….this might have to happen sometime this week!

  11. This sugar free dessert is just in time since I gave up all added sweeteners (even stevia, my love) for Lent. I love me some pumpkin, and even though I didn’t like pumpkin pie as a kid, I think I would really like this one because of all the yummy ingredients that go into it. Thanks for an awesome recipe!

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  12. You deserve to be blessed in your life girl! Because you are a blessing in many other people’s life (mine very much included) 😀

    You pumpkin pie looks absolutely fabulous!! I LOOOVE pumpkin pie!!!!

    Good, amazing, awesome luck on your test tomorrow! I’ll be thinking of you! 🙂

  13. I’m so glad you pointed out how we should be thankful ALL YEAR, not just on Thanksgiving. Like you said, there are so many tragedies in this world (esp in Japan right now) and you realize you can’t take anything for granted! I’m thankful for you too! 🙂

  14. This looks sooo TASTY!! Yummm. and pumpkin pie definitely reminds me of Thanksgiving too! I love that you used tofu in it. I’ve never heard of that before and now I am very intrigued!! Thanks for sharing!

  15. Yay for recipes without sugar added 🙂 I’ve never actually made a recipe with tofu. I once stir fried tofu with some veggies but I didn’t like it because I accidentally got the wrong kind of tofu. I’ve kind of been scared off of it since then. I really want to try using it in a pie like this though! I need to give it another chance.

  16. this looks amazing!I love using silken tofu to make pudding pies (like banana creme pie) it works so well (and you got to love the nutrition :D)!

  17. Wow, I haven’t had pumpkin pie in so long, this sounds great!!! I usually like to make tofu stirfry with some kind of peanut or teriyaki sauce 🙂

  18. I’m so happy that you posted this! My sister’s boyfriend can’t eat sugar, so she’s always bugging me for no sugar added recipes (which i never have)…can’t wait to show her.
    thanks!!
    emily

  19. Oh yum! I love love love pumpkin pie and you just gave me a reason to make it more often! Yay for sugar free!

    I’m still experimenting with tofu…but I’ve made tofu brownies and a pumpkin curry soup with tofu that both turned out fantastic!

Comments

