Balance With Self · Health And Nutrition

Should I Care If I Go Blind? + What The Girl Did

Hey my lovelies!!!

Thanks for all of your lovely comments about my last post. I’m so glad that you guys like Pumpkin as much as I do. 🙂

So, what did the girl do?

She made Pumpkin Ice Cream! 😀

I just added a bit of this, and a bit of that, so I can’t really give you the recipe yet. Haha, what a shame. I guess I’ll have to make it again. 😉 Nonetheless I’ll drive you CRAZY mad for the recipe by saying it was like a Pumpkin Pie, but in the form of Ice Cream! 😉

Now I am going to talk a little bit more seriously.

……………………………………………………………………..

When my mom was first diagnosed with diabetes, her dietician told her how hard it is to work with diabetics in this city, as many who have diabetes have fatalistic attitudes.

Even though the national average of people who have diabetes is 7%, in this city it is 14% — which is double the national average! And most diabetics here just accept the fact that they’ll go blind or lose an arm or leg.

I don’t know about you, but I would like to keep my arms and legs where they are. 🙂

My mom’s dietician further explained she works with people who tell her that “because of diabetes, their father lost an arm, their brother died of a heart attack. But it doesn’t matter, it’ll happen to me too. Whatever. They don’t care. I’ll still do what I want, eat whatever.” They seem to have just accepted that it’s “fate” and they can’t do anything about it. They’ve accepted that they may go blind. They feel they’ll end up just like their family did.

My family genetics is difficult. Not only does my mother have diabetes, but so did my uncle and my grandmother (who died of diabetic complications).

Diabetes in my family, so I have to be careful in the decisions I make.

 

I do NOT want to become another “statistic” to be recorded. I am NOT going to just give up and let “fate” take hold–not when I can do something about it.

Even though diabetes is in my family history, doesn’t mean I have to get it. I can eat smartly, stay active, take care of my body. I can take control of my destiny.

SO, SHOULD I CARE IF I GO BLIND?

Yes, especially if I can prevent it.

The decisions I make each and every single day — decisions on what I eat, how active I am, how much I learn, my attitude, make the difference.

YES. I DO CARE.

…………………………………………………..

Does your family history affect your lifestyle choices?

How would you describe your eating philosophy? I focus on eating the most nutrient rich foods possible. 🙂

xoxox,

78 thoughts on “Should I Care If I Go Blind? + What The Girl Did

  1. Wow that pumpkin ice cream looks yum…can’t wait to see the recipe (soon?)!

    My eating philosophy is like yours: to eat as healthy as possible. It’s difficult when I’m the only healthy eater in the family.

    Love your attitude about health and not becoming another statistic! You go girl! 🙂

    Megan

  2. this is SO SO POWERFUL!! you WILL NOT become another statistic– you have that power and its awesome you have realized this at your age

    my fam has a history of cancer– which im definitely weary about

  3. I totally agree with you on prevention. Why be another statistic if you don’t have to be? Way to be healthy! My motto is moderation but overall focus on eating nutrient dense foods 😀

  4. What a great attitude! Your mom is lucky to have a daughter like you! 🙂

    We’re foodie twins, remember? I definitely try to eat the most nutrient rich foods as well!

  5. I’m so excited for that recipe. It’s really such a shame that you have to make it again for us 😉

    That must be so scary! We don’t have anything that runs in our family that I’ve ever had to be concerned about, and thank goodness for that. It’s so important that you are proactive for yourself and your family’s future. Especially since we’re still young, we can really take control on our health!

  6. What a great post. My dad had a heart attack several years ago. Since heart disease does run in families, I am scared that I will have one too. I have heard before that sometimes you can’t fight genetics. That doesn’t stop me from trying. I eat as healthy as I can and stay active. That’s a big reason why I try to eat as well as I can. I know that every choice I make can make the difference between having a heart attack and not having one.

    1. Yea, by this post, I was trying to convey that I am going to do my best. I may be destined (simply by genetics) to have diabetes, but sometimes people get diabetes simply by not eating healthily. So I am going to make sure that doesn’t happen. I am so glad you are making that decision too! 🙂

  7. Great post Kathleen! People should never just “give up.” Life is a constant thing and you can constantly do things to change your so-called “fate.”
    You have a great plan! Way to go! 🙂

  8. This is an amazing post girl!! Everything you said about taking charge of your life, your health, and your destiny sounds JUST like me!!!! And you’re doing a fabulous job with taking charge! Keep up the AWESOME work!! 😀 I know every last bit of it will pay off because you’re determined… and in the end, being determined never let’s you down! 🙂

  9. This post REALLY hits home girl. My father in law has diabetes. He gives himself a shot in his belly every night, and he doesnt even care. He comes into work with sugar laden starbucks, eats huge portions of ribs and sugary biscuits, and can finish an entire box of girl scout cookies in 2 days. I always tell him he needs to change his ways or risk losing something, like his life, and his response is always “at least I will die happy.” That attitude to me is the most selfish and disrespectful thing ever. What about your family? What about your younger daughter? Dont you want to walk her down the isle? Don’t you want to play with your grandbabies??

    I know I dont have the disease so I can’t speak from their perspective, I just know I would do anything for the ones I love, and he seems to just want to do anything for a delicious bite of food.

  10. Ooh, Kat, that looks awesome! Can’t wait for the recipe– I have a bunch of canned pumpkin stashed in my cupboard.
    And don’t worry, one can manage diabetes with the help of a physician so that in most cases one can avoid damage to the limbs, the eyes, the nerves… all the more reason to eat healthy, I guess.

    1. Thanks girl! 😀

      Yah. I hear ya. I know that it can be managed. My mom manages it so well now that her doctor took her off her meds. 🙂 I didn’t want this post to sound like I’m scared or anything. Just determined. I wanted it to just show how I don’t want to continue with diabetes inmy family if I don’t have to. I can improve the lifestyle of my family now and my family to come. I can start now. 🙂

  11. Love this post! That’s so awesome you’re taking your health into your own hands. So inspiring! And so excited for your pumpkin ice cream 🙂

  12. Good post. So many people don’t realize the horrible consquences of the disease. I’ve had patients that have lost their feet from it and it must be taken seriously.

    Responsibility first.

    1. I guess I wanted to not really focus on the consequences of diabetes, but focus on how I am choosing to take responsibility for my health. 🙂 It is so true with what can happen if we don’t take responsibility. 🙂

      Thanks for your comment! 🙂

  13. My grandfather has just been diagnosed with diabetes (ok, so it might be something to do with the fact that he’s lived off a typical North of England diet for the past 80 years – think pies and mashed potato made with LARD every night for dinner!) but it has definitely made me think and want to continue eating clean for the sake of my own health. And when I say clean, I mean the 80-20 rule! My eating philosophy is moderation: eat healthily the majority of the time, but the odd slice of REAL cake or pizza causes no harm.

  14. I wouldn’t say that my family has a bad history, but my mom is overweight, her dad (my grandpa) has diabetes and her mom (my grandma) is very overweight. So I try to be a good example to them by eating right.

  15. My mother also has diabetes and it definitely runs in the family (Grandpa has it also). I’m hypersensitive to food and making good choices because I’d like to prevent it if possible. This was such a great post! Thanks for sharing.

  16. My family and I really do eat healthy, although it may not look like it on my blog 😉 But many of the recipes I post I give away to friends and co-workers. A few of my family members also have type 2 diabetes so I really try to watch what I eat and workout 5 days a week…

  17. Diabetes runs on my mom’s family said and heart problems are on my dad’s side. YES, definitely my family history has incfluenced how I eat and how I live my life.

    I am constantly reminding my family to eat better and try to show them different food they can eat or substitute for what they are eating now. It’s one of the reasons why I started my blog.

    Thanks for checking out my blog. You have a lot of yummy recipes on here. I’m off to click around and browse the rest of the blog.

  18. First off let me just say that pumpkin icecream sounds amazing!

    Second, I applaud you for having such a great, positive attitude about your families situation. I also have a lot of heritable diseases in my family so I totally know what you mean about not wanting to become another statistic. I think my families health history is partly the reason why I love healthy living so much! I think we choose are own level of healthiness though and that just because something runs in your family doesn’t mean you have to succumb to it…just make healthy choices and you can beat it!

  19. You have a great attitude! I think a lot of people would just give up and do nothing to prevent it. Especially at your age, most people have the attitude of ‘it’s never going to happen to me.’ Good for you for taking charge of your health, girl!

  20. One of the biggest reasons that I started watching what I eat is because both of my grandparents have diabetes, and when I read up on it it scared me. So now I limit my added sugars and bad fats and stuff. I’m glad that I’ve started doing that, because it’s given me so much energy!
    And that ice cream. I cannot wait for the recipe 😀

  21. Wow. Nearly everyone on my dad’s side had diabetes and lived with it into their 80s! It’s totally something that can be lived with as normally as possible!

    On an unrelated note, I want an ice cream maker SO BAD. That ice cream sounds fan-freakin-tastic.

    1. I totally agree. I just know that if you don’t take care of your body, you might not be able to live that long. My mom is my inspiration! I am so grateful for her! 😀

      Haha, thanks! 🙂

  22. Kat-if you are serious about health and avoiding diabetes, then I want to see way more recipes from you that have nothing to do with baking or sweet food. I want to see vegetables, vegetables and more vegetables and beans. “Healthy dessert” is an oxymoron. Do not fall into that trap.

Comments

