baking · chocolate · Goodies · Health And Nutrition · vegan · vegetarian

Chocolate Chip PUMPKIN Cookies!

Good morning beautifuls! 🙂

Thank you guys for all of your wonderful comments on my Photo Ops post! I loved talking with you about photography and your love of it, which is just as much, if not more, than mine. 🙂 You are the sweetest readers a girl could ever have!

Remember the post on what the girl did with all of her pumpkin.

Well, the girl just did something else.

What else might you ask? What else did the girl do when she still had a lot of pumpkin? 🙂

She made cookies!!! 😀

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies

printer-friendly version

This is my go-to recipe and is are a hit no matter where I go! 😀 These cookies are also my mom’s absolute FAVORITE! Vegan. *In place of the stevia baking blend, 1/2 cup of dates blended up with the pumpkin and applesauce will work; **In place of the chocolate chips, try carob chips, raisins, or even dried cranberries.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup Applesauce
  • 1/4 cup Smart Balance, Earth Balance, or butter
  • 1/2 cup Stevia Baking Blend: More Fiber (see note above), or you can just use sugar
  • 1 cup Pumpkin Puree
  • 1 cup Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp ground Cinnamon
  • (optional) 1/4 tsp each ground Ginger and ground Nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup mini Chocolate Chips (see note above)

Directions

Cream together smart balance and stevia.

Mix in the applesauce and pumpkin purée.

Add flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and spices.

Fold in chocolate chips.

Cookie-scoop the dough onto a sprayed*** baking sheet (I used my #40 scooper–it’s about 1 1/2 Tablespoons).

Flatten with your fingers to the shape of a cookie.

Bake 9-11 minutes in a preheated 340*F oven, or until lightly golden and fairly firm.

Let rest for a few minutes on the cookie sheet (they finish cooking as they rest). Then transfer to a cooling rack.

Eat ’em up! 😀

Oh, and you know how I mentioned I had a lot of Pumpkin?

I wasn’t kidding. 🙂

😉 I have been caught Orange-Handed. 😉

Do you consider Pumpkin a Fruit or a Vegetable? Even though I KNOW Pumpkin is a Fruit, I still view it as a Vegetable (I view other Squashes in the same way).

xoxox

104 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip PUMPKIN Cookies!

  1. We made something just like this last year in cooking class and they were delicious! But these are way healthier, and probably just as fab. They look so soft and delicious!
    I consider pumpkin a fruit and vegetable at the same time. It kind of depends on how I’m eating it 🙂

  2. oh my…these look so good!!! I just bought a whole bunch of pumpkin, too….I’m gonna have to make these for my mommy-she loves pumpkin and chocolate 🙂

  3. It’s a good thing we have a huge honkin’ tub of smart balance and lots of pumpkin puree we never used from thanksgiving. I know what I’m making soon..

    I had NO idea pumpkin was a fruit..I never gave a thought about what type of food it was. Learn something new everyday!

  4. These sound like the greatest cookies ever. They’re whole grain, have pumpkin and chocolate chips, and are sugar-free. Count me in!
    I definitely consider pumpkin a vegetable. I didn’t actually know that pumpkin was a fruit until now. I guess you learn something new every day.

  5. What a fantastic alternative to regular chocolate chip cookies! I habe a few cans of pumpkin kicking around that I had NO idea what to do with… thanks for a great idea

  6. That looks so good!!!!! I can’t believe how much pumpkin you got! – Was it on sale? …or going out of stock ? 😉

  7. Ummm those look amazing! Then again anything with pumpkin and I’m totally sold 🙂 heehee. I actually didn’t knwo it was a fruit… I think I had some knowledge of it in teh back of my brain but I forgot! Thanks for the tidbit 😉 haha.


    n

  8. Those cookies look gorgeous! I think I’ll be using my lone pumpkin can to make a batch of these, yessirree!

    I see pumpkin as a vegetable too, same with tomatoes 😉

    That’s a crapload of pumpkin there lady, you’ll be orange soon 🙂

  9. Love this recipe!

    I have always thought of pumpkin as well as all squashes as a vegetable. I suppose it is because we had a “veggie garden” when I was growing up and we always had squash and tomatoes in the garden as well.

  10. the texture on these look so amazing! I so wish I had pumpkin like that; I miss the days when Trader Joes made canned pumpkin

  11. I’m a pumpkin hoarder too!

    In 2009 around Thanksgiving, all of the stores in my area ran out – they said it was a national pumpkin shortage! It made me want pumpkin that much more.

    When I saw it again in stores around September of last year, I bought a whole case! Pumpkin is good enough to enjoy year-round. =)

  12. Ummm I think we need to have an intervention about your pumpkin obsession 😉 Unless of course you keep using it to make delicious cookies like these. Then by all means, hoard the pumpkin 🙂

  13. I love pumpkin chocolate chip cookies!! I made some a few months ago, they are amazing!

    I don’t really classify pumpkin as a fruit or veggie, I just know it’s really good for me! 🙂

  14. I love how you gave a replacement for the stevia blend. I’ve been using stevia a lot and I don’t want eat too much of it… dates blended up with the pumpkin sounds like a good replacement!:)

Comments

