My Favorite Hummus!

Hey my Chocolate Chip Cookies! ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m so glad that you enjoyed my Part 2 of My Life! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for all of your sweet comments and for always beingย so kind and thoughtful! You guys have changed me for the better. ๐Ÿ™‚ย YOU are the best readers anyone could ever ask for! ๐Ÿ™‚ THANK YOU! ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

What do you think of when youย eat Hummus?

When I eat hummus, I think of my childhood.

When we lived in Turkey, my mom would get little me a bowl of hummusย and a big chunk of bread. I would then, very meticulously, tear off a pieceย of bread, dip it gently into my hummus, and proceed to devour it. ๐Ÿ™‚ I was very particular in the way I did it. ๐Ÿ™‚

This is my and my family’s favorite hummus.ย ๐Ÿ™‚ I always like homemade better than any hummus from the store. There’s something about making it yourself–the love you put into it– thatย just makes it taste better! ๐Ÿ˜€

Afterย I made this, I stuck it in the fridge for later.

I had some for lunch.

As I am finishing myย lunch, my dad walks in and says, “What’s this?”

“Hummus! :)”

“Where’d you get it?”

“I made it.”

He tastes it….”THIS IS SO GOOD!!! Why didn’t I know you had some?!”

“I just made it.”

“Well, next time, make sure I know about it. ;)”

Haha, I love you Daddy. ๐Ÿ™‚

Kat’s YUBBYย DUBBYย Hummus!

printer-friendly recipe

notes: Vegan, Gluten Free, Soy Free, Sugar Free, and absolutely DELICIOUS! ๐Ÿ˜€ I love to eat it with fresh vegetables, whole-grain bread, whole-grain flat-outs, etc! ๐Ÿ™‚

Ingredients

  • 3 cups Chickpeas, prepared and rinsed
  • 1/4 cup Tahini
  • 1 TB Olive oil
  • 2 1/2 TB lemon juice
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 tsp salt
  • pinch of pepper
  • 1/2 tsp red cayenne pepper (optional, but gives it a nice KICK!)

Directions

Add all ingredients, except the chickpeas, into your blenderย (I used my trusty BlendTec).

Blend for about 5 seconds, or until it is all combined.

Add the chickpeas.

Blend on high until it’s creamy (about 10-15 seconds). You may have to scrape the sides a couple of times.

Tear off a piece of bread, dip it in, and ENJOY! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Or store it in an air-tight container in the refrigerator for later. I like to eat it after it has chilled in the fridge for a little while.

ย 

How do you like to eat hummus? I REALLY like it with my Homemade Bread!

What food brings back memories for you?ย Hummus for me!

What do you call your parents? I have called my parents Mommy and Daddy since my childhood, and that’s what I still call them. ๐Ÿ™‚ While we lived in England (I was a little girl), I even corrected one of my teachers on her spelling. She had written M-U-M on the board. I raised my hand and said “That’s not how you spell it!” She then responded, “Well then, how do you spell it?ย :)”ย I thenย strutted up toย theย board and wrote the following: M-O-M-M-Y. ๐Ÿ™‚ She has been and will forever be M-O-M-M-Y to me. ๐Ÿ™‚

xoxox

85 thoughts on “My Favorite Hummus!

  1. Pingback: The Exclusive Insider’s Look Into My Life! Part #2 « katshealthcorner

  2. Awww ๐Ÿ™‚ How cute ๐Ÿ™‚ I had no idea you have lived in so many places! That’s awesome! Where have you lived?

  3. Haha your daddy is so funny! Thats awesome that you all like hummus. I dont think my dad even knows what it is! lol I call my mom either mom or mama, and dad is always daddy, no matter what. Im 22 and married and still a daddys girl. I ALWAYS will be ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I am totally obsessed with the hum! I love to dip my veggies in!!
    Love the story about you correcting the teacher! Too cute ๐Ÿ™‚ I just call my parents mom and dad.

  5. I’ve never made hummus before but one time my bf tried making falafels which were a fail but the leftovers were used up as hummus haha ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. aww loved the story about “mum” your too cute!!!
    i normally call my mom “momma” and my dad “padre”
    not sure why on that last one haha
    your hummus looks super good!

  7. Oh I love hummus! I just started making our own a few months ago and you are so right it tastes so much better than any you can buy. The only one I have made so far has been a spinach hummus. I am really excited to try your recipe. It looks so good. I am having an all natural organic giveaway on my blog and if you haven’t already I would love for you to enter.

  8. The hummus looks soo good, I need to buy some chickpeas tomorrow and try to replicate:) I love hummus with carrot and celery sticks and also when I make savoury oatmeal (which is not that often since I love my sweet morning treat, but sometimes savoury is better:), I put a spoon of hummus in it.

  9. I love Hummus and I often thought of making it but as always never got around to it. thanksfor the inspiration. certainly looks doable

  10. I love hummus and cheese sandwiches. They’re so delicious! Sometimes I grill it and the hummus gets warm and the cheese gets melty.. soo good!!
    I usually call my parents mom and dad, but when I want their attention I use their first names. They don’t mind because they’re super laid back, but I know parents that would be furious if their child did that!

  11. Awwww how cute is your dad!!!! You’re right….homemade humus is the best! It’s always so much more flavorful and I like that you can put that ratios of ingredients you want in it….store humus is sometimes toooo salty!
    Haha…I am boring, I just call my parents mom and dad!

  12. I love your hummus recipe, so easy and don’t you just love watching it process away in the blender (possibly while salivating a little). I love to make a hummus with roasted red capsicum; I think I’ll have to make some tonight in honor of your post ๐Ÿ˜€

  13. That hummus looks great! I need myself something better then a little magic bullet so I can so some real damage! I call my parents Mom and Dad – it is what I have always called them ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Haha, that’s the cutest story ever!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ My mom has always been mommy to me too ๐Ÿ™‚ And I call my dad pa. Yep, it’s from the Little House on the Prairie books – I read them all the time when I was little ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hummus is the BEST!! Especially when it’s like yours ๐Ÿ˜€ I love trying different kinds of hummus, and I’m pretty sure I know what my next one will be! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Have an amazing rest of the week!!!

    โค

    • I’ve read Little House in the Big Woods at least twice, and the Little House on the Praire probably three times! I LOVE THOSE BOOKS! Did you read the whole series? I really need to read the other ones.

  15. Aww cute story! I just call my parents mom and dad, though mommy and daddy might slip in sometimes.

    I love hummus! The “classic” kind is my favorite, so I bet I’d love your recipe. Have you tried mixing in nutritional yeast and a bit of water to make humnut sauce? It’s the best!

  16. I love your “m-o-m-m-y” story… how cute! I call my parents “Mom” and “Dad” now, but they were “Mum” and “Da” when I was a teen living in China (or in Chinese: “Mama” and “Baba”).

    I love that you have such great memories of eating hummus as a kiddo in Turkey. How cute!

  17. I never buy store bought hummus. I prefer homemade! I normally make huge batches and it never lasts long here. I call my parents mom and dad. I never did the mommy daddy thing. I think it’s interesting to hear how people refer to their parents. Your hummus sounds perfect!

    • A lot of times they will add “natural flavors,” but what does that really mean? Because they list it under “natural flavors” means they don’t have to list it on the label. So really, you don’t always know what is truly in a food product. That’s another reason I love to make my own hummus — I know EXACTLY what’s in it!

  18. I love homemade hummus! We usually add cumin to ours. I also like adding roasted red peppers, so good! Completely different flavor. Also, if for some reason you don’t have enough chickpeas, try using half navy beans, yum!

    Whitney

    • I don’t think I have ever added cumin to my hummus before. I have gotten cumin and cloves mixed up and added it to my oats instead of cloves. I don’t reccommend it. Now I make sure I doulbe check which spices I add just to be safe. ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Haha! That definitely sounds like my Dad and me on a regular basis. He loves when I make something other than baked goods. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I call my parents Mom and Dad…boring, I know. Funny story about you correcting your teacher though. I’ve never liked the sound of “Mum.”

  20. Hummus is one of my favorite treats. Eaten alone or used in place of mayo..its something I love to always have around ๐Ÿ™‚

    I have mentioned you on my blog today. Come check it out!

    • How do you like Hummus compared to Mayo on a sandwich? When I found out milk bothered me, I gave up Mayo and haven’t had it since.   Awwwwhhh, you are so sweet! Thanks! ๐Ÿ˜€  

  21. That’s such a cute story! My mom was born in England, but even though she has an American accent, she calls my grandma ‘Mum’ ๐Ÿ™‚

    I call my parents either Mom and Dad or Ma and Pops- I have no idea where the second ones came from!

  22. hey there! I just found your blog and I love it! I am definately going to be reading, I love your hummus recipe and everything you write about. You have such a happy and positive approach, I love it ๐Ÿ™‚
    My blog is private but I do want to add you if you want to read, so i added you as katshealthcorner and it says your added ๐Ÿ™‚
    Look forward to reading more!

  23. Pingback: 7 Things About ME! « katshealthcorner

  24. Just a few years ago, I hated hummus! My mom would buy it and I always thought it looked and smelled so weird! But after reading blogs about it, i decided to give it another go, and I loved it! It’s one of my STAPLES now! I have tried making homemade hummus, but store’s is always better. But I’ll try your recipe, I bet it’s delicious!

  25. Hi Kathleen…I love hummus…we can’t keep enough made over here at this house. Oh…my husband just came up with a new hummus recipe a week or so ago…it is already gone, but when he makes it again, I will have to bring some by your house…it is a Red Bell Pepper BBQ Hummus. Super Yummy!

  26. Pingback: Summer Recipe Round-Up (giveaway) «

  27. Hummus looks awesome and jsut in time for summer! It’s so adorable how you corrected your teacher! You lived in so many places, it’s amazing ๐Ÿ™‚

  28. Pingback: Simple Seed-Free Hummus–In your blender! | Kisses for Breakfast

  29. Pingback: The Blissful Eats. « KatsHealthCorner

  30. Pingback: Dinner is served! {Savory Recipe Round Up!} | lactosefreelizzie

  31. Pingback: My Endocrinologist Appointment! « KatsHealthCorner

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

