Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate Chip Pancakes!

Hey my Chocolate Chips!

Thank you guys for all of your support on my LINK LOVE post! I truly enjoyed trying those recipes, and I can’t wait to try some more! 🙂

What have you been doing today?

Today I have been reflecting on how grateful I am for my Dad.

My Dad is always there for me. If I ever need anything, he is there. If I need to talk, I know I can go to him and he would take the time to listen and help me.

I am so grateful for everything my Dad has teaches me. He teaches me the value of always giving an honest work for the pay, of spending my money wisely, and of saving my money.

He teaches me the value of Family Time. On Monday Nights, we get together as a family and spend time together — we call it Family Home Evening (aka FHE). Spending time together, we strengthen our bonds as a family and get to know each other better. We try not to plan activities on those nights so we can have that valuable time together. Indubitably, he teaches me the value of the family — our family.

He teaches me to pray if I ever need an answer to anything — life, friends, school. If I ever need help in math, I know I can ask God in prayer for help. God is the Greatest Mathematician — He created this world. He knows Calculus and Physics like the back of His hand. I know He can help me — all I have to do is ask and do my part. As I continue to learn throughout my life, I am so grateful for this knowledge.

Today is my Dad’s Birthday.

To celebrate his birthday, I decided I wanted to make him some pancakes.

My Dad wakes up REALLY early in the morning –aka, 4am– to go to work. I didn’t want him to have reheated pancakes for his birthday — I wanted him to have FRESHLY MADE pancakes. So if I wanted to make him pancakes, that meant I had to get up at 4am too.

So that’s what I did.

Funny thing is that my sister told me, “When I woke up this morning, I thought I smelled pancakes. I determined I must have been dreaming, because it was before 5am in the morning!” I can tell you that she was very happy to find out that she HADN’T been dreaming. There WERE pancakes! 🙂

These Pancakes are so light and fluffy!!! THEY ARE THE BEST PANCAKES I HAVE EVER HAD!!! THESE ARE EVEN BETTER THAN IHOP’s PANCAKES!!!!

These pancakes are dedicated to my dad for everything he does for me, for my family, and for the world.

Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate Chip Pancakes!

printer-friendly version

Notes: You can use applesauce in place of the banana. Use any kind of chocolate chips you’d like!  Carob Chips would be amazing in this! Also, if you want to make these MORE chocolatey, try replacing a TB of the flour with cocoa powder (and if you are like my dad, make sure it’s DARK cocoa powder). If you want a more coconut flavor, use 2 tsp of coconut oil in place of part of the banana, and add a handful of shredded coconut. Vegan, Sugar Free, Soy Free, and ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! 🙂 Plus, they are SINGLE LADY STYLE! 😀

Ingredients for one Single Lady (or Guy) 🙂

  • 1/3 cup + 2TB whole wheat flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup mashed banana
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

Handfuls of chocolate chips! (to authentically be my dad, use DARK chocolate chips :))

Top with Peanut Butter and some more CHOCOLATE CHIPS!

Directions

Start heating up your skillet/griddle on medium to medium-high heat.

While your skillet is heating up, combine the flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.

Set aside.

Combine the wet ingredients in a separate bowl: the banana and almond milk.

Add the banana mixture to the flour mixture,

and stir to combine.

Once your skillet is ready, spray the pan so your pancakes don’t stick (or if your griddle/skillet is non-stick, then you can skip this step). Pour the batter onto the skillet/griddle using a 1/4-cup measure.

Sprinkle with Chocolate Chips.

Once you see lots of bubbles, it’s time to FLIP! It should take about 2-3 minutes per side, or until the bottom is golden brown.

Look at how BIG and FLUFFY these are!

As soon as they are lightly golden brown on both sides, remove them from the heat.

Top with Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chips.

EAT THEM UP!

Happy Birthday Daddy.

To you from me — your loving daughter.

My dad ate his so fast that I didn’t get the chance to take a picture. So these pictures were taken later in the day. Even though these weren’t the original ones, I was thinking about him the entire time as I was making them.

105 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate Chip Pancakes!

  1. what a SWEET POST!! this made me smile! I LOVE my daddy too- we have such a strong bond! you are SUCH a sweetheart for waking up early to make him some!! i sure hope he enjoyed them- how could he not? they look AMAZING!

  2. awww such a sweet post! AND it’s my dad’s birthday, too! How funny!

    Oh and these pancakes look out of this world good. Give me pb, chocolate, and banana and I am happy! 😉

  3. Yup, nothing can ruin my day now. 🙂 Reading that post gave me warm fuzzies. You’re so awesome, Kath!

  4. Aww that was so sweet of you Kat! Wish your dad a happy birthday from me…..I’m sure he had a wonderful day after starting it off like that!

  5. You are SO sweet! What a nice way for your dad to begin his special day! I love showing love by baking up treats for my family and friends!

    PS, I bet these little stacks could get you a couple of things if you know what I mean! Ohhhhh, Santa! Did you know it’s Christmas in July?? 😉

  6. Are you the cutest daughter ever? YES!!! So sweet, Kat! So sweet! I am sure he LOVED it! He is so lucky to have you as a daughter 🙂 🙂 🙂

  7. Awe this is the sweetest! I’m sure your dad really appreciated this. Happy birthday to him!

    You have serious pancake making skills. I always flip mine super bad 😛

    • I usually flip pancakes really badly too, but these were actually really easy to flip! I’m sure you’d be a pro with these! 🙂 I saw your interview on Dani’s Blog! I LOVED IT! 😀

  8. Aww that was such a nice post! Happy Birthday to Papa Health Corner! Pancakes are such a nice treat, especially since you got up so early to make them! You’re so lucky to have a great father like him and he’s so lucky to have a great daughter like you. I guess it’s in your genes 🙂

  9. Happy Birthday to your dad!! I love how you woke up at 4am to make him pancakes, they look so fluffy and delicious. I most definitely am following your pancakes recipe, I love how it doesn’t need any eggs 😀

    • I’m glad that you love these!!! I had to make myself some today — THEY WERE SOOOOOOO GOOOD!!!! You’d never miss the eggs EVER! 🙂 And I wasn’t kidding about them being better than IHop’s. 🙂

  10. wow! It is so bright in your kitchen for 4 am!!
    These look amazing, banana peanut butter and chocolate is like my absolute favorite combination out there so this will definitely be one to try soon!

    • Ok. Confession. I didn’t take these pictures at 4am — it was WAY to dark outside. I actually took these right before I posted it. Is it still ok if I didn’t take these at4 am? Should I not have used these pictures? I did make Banana Dark Chocolate Chip Pancakes for my Dad yesterday morning.

  11. It is such a nice post about your dad! You two seems to be very close, which is lovely:) And your recipes are lovely as well (as always):)

  12. Waking up at 4am and making pancakes for your dad, you must be the sweetest daughter alive!

    These pancakes look amazingly fluffy and delicious, I will definitely be making these to fuel my pancake addiction!

    • Yes, haha. YOU DO LOVE PANCAKES!!! I want to make your Cinnamon Raisin ones again. I found that I had only used 1/2 cup rolled oats to make the flour and that I need to use 3/4 cup rolled oats to make 1/2 cup oat flour. How much rolled oats did you use?

  13. Isn’t it amazing when you can make things with great ingredients and still have them be delectably light and fluffy! Impressive looking! I will definitely have to give them a try. I like the tip of dropping the chocolate chips in after you put the batter in the pan too. For some reason I just learned this recently on another blog post about blueberry pancakes! Don’t ask me how I lived and cooked all these years without knowing that…Maybe I’ll make them for next week’s FHE dessert ;D

    • Well, if your husband like stuff sweeter, try adding some stevia or other sweetener. That might help his fussiness. 🙂 Or add more chocolate chips. Chocolate solves everything. 😉

  14. Pingback: What I ate Wednesday! « owlmazing

  15. Kat, you are so sweet! I loved hearing about how you woke up early to make breakfast for your Dad. That is love right there. ❤
    Those pancakes look fabulous too! Yum! 😀

  16. Pingback: Yes, I Did It Again. « katshealthcorner

  17. Pingback: Pass A Spoon « Little Miss Healthify

  18. Pingback: You Guys Are SO AMAZING! « katshealthcorner

  19. Pingback: A Patriotic RED, WHITE, And BLUE. « katshealthcorner

  20. Pingback: Nutty Love {Peanut Butter Recipe Round Up!} | lactosefreelizzie

  21. Pingback: Nutty Love {Peanut Butter Recipe Round Up!} | lactosefreelizzie

  22. Pingback: Kat’s Recap of 2011! « KatsHealthCorner

  23. Hi Kat, I just came across your blog the other day and I made these pancakes right away. You should know that these are the best pancakes I’ve ever had! Thank you! 🙂 I can see why your dad loves these, and dark chocolate is my fave as well!!

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

