Balance With Self · Health And Nutrition · How do things work in my body? · My Life

The Birth Control Disaster!

CAUTION: The following talks about girly things, like periods and birth control, so if you are weirded out but that kind of thing or just don’t feel comfortable reading about it, feel free to X today and look forward to my next post for some deee-liciousness.

Over the past couple of years, I have gone through what I thought was a somewhat abnormal experience. It has been hard (and I’ve cried at some moments), but I am coming to find that more and more women are experiencing the same things I have. Because of that, I want to share my story with you.

I can tell you right now that I NEVER want to take birth control pills again.

Remember when I told you that I had gone all natural with my body products?

In early October of 2009 (October 5th to be exact), my mom found out milk and other things are contaminated with harmful drugs, hormones, chemicals; they even inject cows with unstudied hormones that make them produce more milk, but cripple and lesson the lives of the cows (evil and designing men). Those chemicals and hormones poison our bodies just as much as those do to the cows.

That night, I went cold turkey on the chemicals in my cosmetics, beauty care products, body care products — my mom and I went through my hair products, body lotions, body sprays, cosmetics — all of my beauty/body care stuff (toothpaste, face wash, deodorant), and TRASHED EVERYTHING.

My face broke out REALLY badly. It was all over. I believe that it was my body’s way of detoxifying and everything. I went through it all and know I am very grateful I cut them out.

But, something went wrong.

That month, I didn’t have my time of month…. For a while, I was confused – why hadn’t I had my time of month yet? When I first had my periods, I was in middle school. I had had them for years and they had always been pretty consistent. I would have them every 3-4 weeks; sometimes twice a month (but only if it was at the beginning and end of the month kind of thing). My mom and I started worrying. We decided to try waiting it out.

Nothing happened.

On April 6th (’10), when I had a physical, my mom and I asked the pediatrician about my period stopping. She informed me that that wasn’t her specialty — but she put in a recommendation for me to have an appointment with the clinic. She did send me in for blood work — SIX VIALS worth! (YUCK! I hate having my blood taken! I feel as though they are taking a part of me out of me and I don’t like it!!!)

On April 27th, we went to my appointment at the clinic. The doctor had read up on my case, medical background, and the reason we were there. She told me that in my blood work, everything was normal, if not better. We discussed and eliminated some possibilities, my diet, me. Of course she asked me the “sex” questions, and I could proudly tell her I have NEVER been associated with that stuff EVER!

After we talked with her, she prescribed seven days of Progesterone to see if that would kickstart my cycles.

Nothing happened.

When we emailed my doctor with my “no results,” she told us she believed it would come back in due time.

Still, nothing.

My doctor then put me in a recommendation for me to see a nutritionist — a dietician. So on June 15th, I went to the appointment. I absolutely ADORED talking with her, since we could talk all things nutrition and chemistry and such — my mom was just staring at us in bewilderment with how we could talk and totally know what the other was talking about. 🙂 After analyzing my diet, she told me it was very good and no concerns.

Now what?

My mom called in for another appointment, and I got one for the 9th of August, but the doctor, who happened to be the same lady who did my physical, called the day of  and talked with my mom about the situation. The pediatrician recommended that I see a GYN doctor — a woman’s doctor.

My appointment was on August 13th. I went in for my appointment. My GYN doctor was so kind and understanding. She listened to everything I had to say. She listened to the whole story. She agreed that when I changed my lifestyle completely 10-11 months before (the total change in body products, starting to go more organic) was probably what made my period stop. The product probably gave me the hormones to have my cycles. Because the products supplied the hormones, my body didn’t really have to make them.

She thinks that it might be that I just have an immature system, which was dependent on the chemicals and hormones to supply the hormones. We decided for me to try three months of a low dose of estrogen and progesterone (aka, the birth control pill — they also help regulate/even out hormones) and see what happens.

I was on them for about a month, and I FELT AWEFUL!!! While I took them the first three weeks, my moods changed dramatically. The littlest thing, and I would be crying. I would cry for no reason at all. I felt absolutely awful. I would toss and turn throughout the night, not sleep well, I feel absolutely fatigued. I was tired ALL of the time.

I wish I were joking, but I’m not.

September 7th. That evening, it happened. It was light, but I was I was having it. The problem was that it only happened once. It only happened because I took those pills.

Because I was so moody and not feeling well, etc., my mom talked it over with my GYN, and she decided to take me off.

Alarmingly, September that was the last time I’ve had it, and I haven’t had it since.

I know that because I took the pills, I had it. But I don’t really want to take those pills again, because of how felt on them and how they made me feel. Even though it did bring my hormones back to normal, I felt exhausted all the time, depressed, irritable, and oh-so not like me.

I am grateful that I did take them so I know I am capable. I had been praying and praying throughout this entire time. I know that He answers prayers. I know He answered mine, even if it wasn’t in the way I had hoped.

I still waiting to see if my body can get it’s hormones back in balance on its own, but I NEVER want to take those birth control pills AGAIN!!!! I have had my time of month before, but I just don’t understand why I don’t anymore.

One of my hopes and dreams when I grow up is to become a mother. I just hope those dreams can come true.

Has your time of month ever just stopped?

What are your views of birth control pills? Positive? Negative?

xoxox

71 thoughts on “The Birth Control Disaster!

  1. I don´t take control pills. I don´t need them for the “main reason” they are usually prescribed or for any other reason, so why should I put any excess hormones into my body?
    Once my period stopped because I was eating too little fats. But it was quite easy to figure this out!

  2. I went on birth control pills once and they made me nauseous all of the time so I said I’m done with this-never again! I think it’s not uncommon for menstual cycles to be highly irregular when we are younger. I know that mine was terrible–I had horrific cramps–so when reading your story I am thinking you have it better than I did! Supposedly before all of these hormones were in our food, women did not start getting their period until about age 17 (don’t quote me on that-I’m sure you can look it up) and now because of the hormones in food girls are getting it on average at age 12 but lots are now getting it at age 10 and up. So your story fits right in with a lot of these statistics. If you are not ingesting hormones, the fact that you aren’t menstuating might be (but do some research) pretty normal. I’d be curious to see what you find out about this. I have two daughters (11 and 6 and my 11 year old does not drink cows milk).

  3. oh my gosh!! thnk u for sharing ur story! ihope it gets sorted out- do u know what u are going to do for the next step!? im not on birth control but a few of my friends are.. but didnt have symptoms like u!

    1. Well, my doctor just says to wait it out. I don’t really know what to do though. I’m thinking of having all of those tests done again (even if it means taking more blood). It just doesn’t feel right to not have that time of month, even if my doctor says it’s fine.

  4. Oh my gosh this sounds just like me. I’m 18 now and I haven’t had my period for about a year and half. I’ve had blood work done and they haven’t found anything. My doctors think it might be time to go onto birth control but I refuse. I want to be a mother too one day so it scares me at times. I hope yours gets back on track soon!

  5. Wow thanks for sharing this!

    My periods have stopped just because my body fat % is still too low – although my weight is technically at a healthy weight I still need to gain. So I’ve had to up the fats quite a bit. If once I get that up it still doesn’t work I don’t know what I’ll do :O

  6. Have you thought about going to see a naturopath / homeopath who may be able to help you sort out what is happening in your body; and help you get your body back to the way it should be.

  7. Kat, I feel your pain! I stopped using bc in January and I am just now having my period. It totally wacks out your body! Try reading up on the Fertility Awareness Method, it can help you learn the signs of ovulation and really understand your body! 🙂

  8. Im sorry you have had such a horrid exerpience. I actually HAVE to take birth control. My periods get so bad because I get ovarian cysts. DUring that time of the month I can barely walk, so I literally spend 3 days in bed. It is also really heavy. I have gone through a super plus tapon AND pad in an hour. Pretty bad. Ive tried every pill out there to help reduce the pain and bleeding but nothing has worked. SO now I am on the pill that only gives you 4 periods a year, so that way I only have to deal with the pain 4x. Birth control has been a saving grace for me. There is NO WAY I could live with that pain every month. WHil I understand why you dont like it, it is my saving grace!

  9. Oh my goodness Kat, I feel for you. I stopped getting my period when I was 14, at a totally healthy weight. We told the doctor and she just said it would come back. Then I had my whole disordered eating issues, so everyone was convinced it was due to that. I got all my blood tests done and everything was totally normal! I was back to a healthy weight and still never got my period. I was sent to a GYN and she gave me the progesterone, but that didn’t work. I’m now on birth control and thank goodness it hasn’t affected me like it did to you, but it still bothers me that I’m not getting a real period. The human body is so confusing but we have to have faith that it will happen. I’m so glad you posted this because it makes me feel a lot better too!

  10. I was on the pill before and couldn’t even last the month. I was moody all the time and I got a migraine just about every day I was on them. I got on the IUD instead, which I love. I have had that for the last four and a half years with no problems. About six months or so, my period did stop and it didn’t really concern me. It’s probably just the IUD. I figure it will come back eventually. 🙂

  11. oh no!! Have you thought about an endocrine problem? or a thyroid thing? Definitely don’t take more drugs than you have to. The girl who suggested a naturopath is right, they will probably suggest good things I hope it works out!! I’m not getting my period right now because I am working on gaining weight, so this is an easy explanation for me.
    Best of luck!!

    1. I’ve been thinking about the thyroid thing. My mom and grandma both had thyroid problems (my grandma had to have it removed I believe, and my mom has to take pills and is having to up the dose and stuff).I hope that when I get more tests, which I’m thinking of doing soon, they may find something (I want them too, but then I don’t want them too, if you get what I mean).

  12. I am so sorry you had to go through that Kat! I’ve had to go through something similar and it is definitely awful! I’ve been tested by numerous doctors and all my hormone levels are normal and correct but for some reason I won’t have a period. Its the weirdest thing because everything is where its supposed to be! It really comforting to hear that other people are going through this too…..much more reassuring!

  13. I don’t know if my case is similar, but the part about the change in lifestyle effecting change in hormones grabs my attention. Like, everything would be perfectly healthy and normal, but it just wouldn’t work out! I personally looked up some “estrogenic” foods and perhaps you could look those up as well. Good luck in everything 🙂

  14. Hey Kat, I’m glad that you’re getting some supportive comments and finding that you’re not the only one. Kudos to you for putting this topic out there. You’re a remarkable teen. I tried Yaz several years ago and exacerbated some circulatory problems. (My hands and feet have always been cold during winter.) I drove to yoga one bitter cold winter day, pulled off my socks & sneakers and discovering that my feet had turned bright blue! I stopped taking Yaz and now have to wear wool socks & insulated shoes when it’s cold to keep my feet from changing color.

  15. Hi Kathleen 🙂
    Im so sorry this have happend to you. I have actually never heard about this before, but I really hope youll be ok soon! Maybe you body just need more time to balance out again! Please let us know how this is going over time! I cross my fingers for you! 🙂

    I did lose my period when I stared dieting when i was 14/15. I was already so skinny, and when I lost more weigth, I lost it. It took many years befor I got it back- I think I was 18 or 19. My eating still wasnt good( a lot of starving/bingeing/over training ect.), but I had put on some pounds, so I guess my body could handle it.

    Im really scared of birth control pills. For me, I probably should take them, but Im to scared and try to protect myself in other ways. I have never taken pills, and I hope I never have to!

    Wish you the best<3

  16. That sounds liike an awful experience, and I hope everything turns out okay. I got my period when I was 13 and then lost it during my eating disorder, even though I was not severely underweight I just wasn’t getting any nutrition whatsoever. It’s finally now regular this year so far (and im 16). I don’t drink cows milk or really eat any dairy, and I try to stay away from “chemical foods.” I don’t use chemicals on my body or hair, only occasionally my teeth.

    It’s really interesting to read about what you went through, so thank you for sharing!

  17. ohmygosh, Kathleen! I am going through the exact same thing!!! My period has stopped for a just a couple years now…my doctor took my blood tests and found I had low levels of estrogen, so I was put on an estrogen patch. However, it is NOTa birth control pill. It is just the hormone in a patch form that slowly delivers the hormone to my body over a week, then I change it. It made my face breakout a little, and I felt bloated…..no where close to what you felt, though! I stopped taking it, but I should probably take it again. My doctor said because I workout so much, the hormones steal from my bones and brain. Therefore, I need the extra hormones to protect my bones and brain. My period stopped because I workout super hard as an athlete (like 4 hrs per day?), and I have purty low body fat%….Definitely at a healthy weight, though. The patch I use is called Vivelle dot if you want to check it out.

    Best of luck!

  18. Oh my goodness, I really hope you are able to get everything figured out! It’s crazy to think how much the chemicals in the food we eat and the products we use can affect us. I have negative views toward birth control, but for mainly religious/moral reasons. I don’t need anything now but one day when I am married I definitely plan to practice NFP(natural family planning). Hearing all the negative birth control affects makes me glad I’ll never take it!
    Hugs and prayers to you Kathleen!

  19. I wish I could help or offer some suggestions. I don’t get my period, but it’s probably due to my low amount of fat on my body or the fact that I workout a lot hence more testosterone in my body than there should be. I don’t know if not getting period is harmful unless you want to have kids in the future and I don’t so I don’t know.
    I’m sorry about the whole issue though.

    1. actually, lifttorun, not getting your period IS dangerous, even if you don’t want children. every month that you don’t menstruate, calcium leeches from your bones.

  20. Thanks so much for opening up about this, Kathleen! A lot of my friends got their periods starting in 5th grade! I felt like such a late bloomer, I didn’t get mine until the beginning of 9th grade. I was so happy when it came, because me and my mom were starting to get nervous about how long it would take to come!

    It was regular (as regular as a period can be when you first start getting it) for I think 3 months, and I haven’t had it since. It’s been almost 2 years since I last had my period. I am sooo scared. I have NO idea why it just stopped coming. It is really stressful. I just keep hoping it will come. I don’t want to go to the doctor yet, because frankly, what can they do??

    I’m so glad you opened up about this, I thought I must be the only girl that doesn’t have a regular period! I hope our periods come soon, I really really want to have a family. That’s honestly all I want in life, is to have children and I’m soo scared that if my period isn’t regular that I won’t be able to have a family one day!

  21. I’m so sorry you had to go through this experience, it’s incredibly disconcerting and frustrating. I went through something similar (period stopped and then was eratic for a while once it returned) when I was very stressed out one year. I’ve also had the opposite happen when I was having bleeds between periods too. The truth is, very few women truly have ‘normal’ periods that run like clockwork. The endocrine system in the body can be influenced by a number of factors (including among things, dietary changes) and you may find in time everything just starts to be normal again. I would definately avoid the OCP as you’ve decided, it really does play too much havoc with the body as well as cause a number of nutritional deficiencies.
    Keep strong and as hard as it is, try not to feel stressful about the situation, as stress can also cause menstrual system imbalances.

  22. I’m so sorry for what you’ve been going through!Your story sounds a lot like mine. I normally get mine every 4-5 months. People think it’s so strange that I actually get excited when I start cramping. Like you, I will NOT go on birth control because I don’t wan tany of the side effects that come with it.

    1. i hit enter before i was done whooooooops!Anyway, we are still tryin gto figure out a solution, so If anything starts working for me I’ll let you know for sure!

  23. aww kat, im sorry that you’re going through this tough situation, but thank you for sharing about it. i think a lot of girls can relate – my doctor said it’s pretty normal for young girls/women to have irregularities with their periods (though that doesnt necessarily console me). ive never been on birth control but ive heard some pretty bad stories about it! hope this gets sorted out soon! please keep us updated! (i really doubt anyone gets grossed out by this kind of stuff since…its relevant to all of us! haha)

  24. wow! its so hard to share something so personal…..good for you! my time of the month has stopped, and its been about a year……i’m hoping that it’ll come back soon!

  25. I take a low-dosage pill to help me with acne and since it’s cleared my face up considerably, I can’t help but feel positive about them. However, I also suffered from mood swings and tears the first couple months I was on them. My body did even out eventually, but it was an absolute ordeal to do so. It’s horrible to hear what you’re going through and your experience with the pills, I hope things turn around. I’m sure they will, we’re all rooting for you.

  26. Oh sweetie I feel so bad for you. I actually had been taking orthotricyclen since I was 18 and then the summer before I got married (2009, at age 29) I decided that I’d had enough of the hormones and I stopped them. Unfortunately I was just put back on them because my periods are so painful without the pills that the pain would come in waves (kind of like contractions) that would bring me to my knees and force me to call in sick to work. So now I’m back on, but I hate it. I wish I had some advice for you. I’m definitely keeping you in my thoughts. I just wish I could help in some way. Your attitude and outlook on life is so wonderful, and your diet is perfect, I’m sure your body is going to work this out.

  27. I am with you 100% on the BC thoughts. I took them in HS, but was constantly moody, hungry, and just not myself. I now am against them (for me) because the idea of putting excess hormones into my body just freaks me out. I don’t need the BC, so why take it? I believe in the natural way and am sometimes hesitant even on taking NSAID’s like Tylenol or ibuprofen. Keep your head up and hey, at least you don’t have the bloating and cramps right? =)

  28. Have you tried eating foods that can make your body increase it’s hormone production? Like black-eyed peas, chickpeas, lentils, lima beans, navy beans, red beans, soybeans, soybean sprouts, split peas, apples, cherries, dates, papaya, plums, pomegranates, barley, hops, oats, brown rice, wheat, clover, garlic, licorice, parsley, sage, alfalfa, anise, fennel, flax, pumpkin, sesame, sunflower, beets, carrots, celery, cucumbers, eggplant, peppers, potatoes, rhubarb, tomatoes, and yams.

    You should also try to stay away from these because they reduce estrogen:
    berries, citrus, figs, grapes, melons, pears, pineapple, buckwheat, millet, tapioca, white rice, white flour, broccoli, cabbage, corn, green beans, onions, and squash.

  29. I’m sorry that you had to go through all this. I was on birth control when I was 18 because I stopped getting my period and like a charm when I started the pill my periods came back. I’m still on it (I’m 22 now) and my periods are 4x a year, I’m on Seasonale. I love it. No side effects and no worrying about my period every month 🙂

    1. Ive lost my period for about 6 month now and my doctor has recommended for me to go on the pill but im so scared because of all the horror stories! What pill are you currently taking? I am so stressed about going on a pill that’ll have horrible side effects but I want to have kids in the future and want to have my period regulated so bad!

  30. Good on you for telling your story 🙂 I suffered from anorexia for 10 years and lost my period completely for about 5 of those. One of the main things that kick started my recovery was the fear of infertility and and osteoporosis. I would say that you should try to make a few small changes to your diet to help balance out your hormones. Make sure you are getting enough healthy fats and check out http://www.pure2raw.com to check out Lori and Michelle’s journey after coming off birth control. Their blog is so great and if you read old posts, you’ll get some great nutritional tips for hormone balancing. Try to include some weight bearing exercise into your daily routine to maintain bone density and most of all, don’t worry! 🙂 I am currently on BC because once my periods returned at age 24, man were they painful! I don’t have anything bad to say about BC – i’m on cilest – and I spent months deciding weather or not to take them. There should be a pill brand out there that suits you. Cilest is usually good if you struggle from low mood with other pills xoxo

  31. Yikes 😦 sorry your experience with the pills was bad. They have been a lifesaver for me, since I have a nervous system condition and my symptoms tend to get way worse (like, to the point where I can barely stand up or think) around my time of the month. I take BC pills that give me 4 periods a year, and while I know it is unnatural, I also know that BC pills have been shown to lower womens’ risk of ovarian and uterine cancers. So there’s pros and cons, and to each her own, I guess. I’m not sexually active, so I prefer to call my pills “hormone pills” or “bee-sees” because they’re not really controlling my birth (??) at all! 😀 And don’t worry, your cycle should regulate itself out. I’m no doctor, but as long as you stay in contact with your doctor (and it seems like you have been), there’s no need to worry. 🙂

  32. I think this has become a very common thing Kat. A lot of my girlfriends who have been on birth control for years and years have ended up being infertile… I’m not sure about the stats on that correlation, but it scared me enough to get off of the pill and let my body regulate itself naturally. Everyone’s bodies reacts differently to chemicals and for that reason alone I think one pill does NOT fit all!

  33. Wow Kathleen, I’m so sorry to hear you are going through this and can’t believe the cause of it! I lost my period for about 5 months in college and am not sure of the cause exactly, but think it had to do with over exercising and under eating. I got it back though thankfully and have a beautiful baby girl now. I’m sure you will get it back soon enough and be a great mom one day!

    I have heard of people taking maca powder to help balance their hormones so it might be worth looking into. I put one teaspoon in my smoothie each day and feel like it gives me a boost of energy (and a mood boost as well).

    Hang in there!

  34. Wow, what a crazy story!! Ugh, I’m so sorry! I’m on BC, and I’ve had lots and lots of problems with it. I’ve seriously been on like 7 different kinds. I’ve finally found one that works for me, but I’m still kind of nervous about it.

    1. Same here!!! I really don’t want to take them, but if that turns out to be the only way I can have kids, I’ll go with it. I really want to be a mom when I grow up, so motherhood would be worth it to me.

  35. Kat – making choices can sometimes bring on results that were unexpected (i.e., your lack of a monthly period). Going cold turkey clearly changed your body chemistry.

    You might check out a naturopath or osteopath to see what they think. You might also ask your GYN to order a series of hormone blood tests. These should be done over a series of months, ideally a full year, to have an accurate view of what your body is doing.

    Also, are you extremely thin? If so, you might consider putting on a little weight. The female body NEEDS some fat to hold on to the estrogen we naturally produce. Without it, no periods.

    You can also try using herbs to regulate/bring on a period. Parsley tea, ginger tea, dong quai, & yarrow can help. Don’t use dong quai if you have any heart problems or cancer. Pennyroyal tea is also good, but if you suffered from severe cramps when you did have your period, don’t use it.

    Other herbs include sage, mugwort, rosemary, black cohosh, and feverfew. You’ll need to investigate each herb listed to see if you think any would be good for you. Each herb has side effects, just like medications.

    All best in your quest for good health.

    1. My GYN did take hormone tests (a couple of them) and they all turned out normal. I am definitely not extremely thin. I am right in the middle for my healthy weight range for my height, so I don’t think that is the problem.

      Thanks for the suggestions on the herbs!

  36. Dr. Fuhrman just sent out an email today dealing with infertility. His recommendations are avoid processed white carbs, consume plenty of plant sources of protein and iron, eat plenty of micronutrients, maintain a healthy weight and get (healthy levels of) exercise. Women who fail to do this have a higher likelihood of infertility. Seems like you are doing everything right with your diet & lifestyle.

  37. Wow, this is amazing to see that it has happened to so many other girls and food bloggers. Yes, I haven’t had my period for a while either. I lost it when I lost a bunch of weight one summer. They gave me some pills to make it start up again, but I only got my period once. Then I started eating eggs and drinking milk everyday, and I gained about 7-8 pounds, and it came back. But now it’s gone again.

    I’m really scared about it because my doctor said that not getting your period can negatively affect your calcium absorption, and it can put you at a greater risk for osteoporosis. This freaks me out! Please post or email me if you find something that works! I don’t want to take any pills.

  38. A time ago I was at an unhealthy weight and my period stopped. I didn’t have it for over a year but was too embarressed to tell my mom. (we aren’t close)
    Anyway, I finally went to the doctor and told her and she put me on BC pills and the period came a month after! I’ve had regular periods ever since and I no longer have to worry about if I will be able to have kids and whatnot. I’ve now been on BC pills for about a year and don’t really recall if it has effected my mood/disposition. Whatever I am now is the norm for me!

    Anyway, I would suggest taking BC pills. It will help you later on down the road (for actually birth CONTROL) and will regulate your periods. It was scary not having a period for over a year (for me) so I’m grateful that everythings back on track. Perhaps try a different brand of BC and make sure to stay on a low dosage!

  39. Hey there –
    I just came across your blog, and I’m really lovin’ it. Great recipe ideas, and your writing is enjoyable to read.

    I’ve actually had the EXACT same experience (only I also had odd physical side effects in addition to emotional ones), and have yet to find an answer.

    However; I know that if you’re very committed to having children, you should try out NuvaRing. The hormones are released locally, so the side effects are supposed to affect you less. I’m just not willing to do the ring/insert thing.

    Good Luck – seriously, hope you find an answer.

    -Gabby

  40. Thanks for the comment on my spiced apple bread recipe! I didn’t know people actually read my blog (:

    As for youR blog, I find that we have very similar life experiences. I, too, struggled with eating disorders on and off since high school and experienced the whole birth control fiasco.

    I got on birth control pills when i was 16 because I hadn’t had a period in over half a year. 8 years later when I finally got off them, my periods stopped coming all together. It wasn’t until a year later that I got my first period, pill free, in 9 years.

    The best advice I can give you (besides never using birth control pills again…because all it does is mask your symptoms instead of treating the cause) is to make sure you EAT enough! I’ve had blood work done and seen many doctors (some of who told me I would never have kids), but after giving up my crazy strict eating regimen, my body eventually reset itself.

    You would think the doctors who saw me would stop and ask a 89 lb, 5’4 girl why the hell she was so thin instead of just scribbling out a prescription for pills. Sigh.

    I am almost 110lbs now and eating disorder free. It’s been an uphill battle, but I’m happy to say that I get those cramps I look forward to so much every month like clockwork.

    Wish you and all the other girls the best,
    Christine

    PS: For anyone wanting more advice/insight or just want to talk, feel free to drop me a line: chris.w.chen@gmail.com I just hope my ten years of experience can help someone else.

Comments

