Balance With Self · Health And Nutrition

Q&A Eating Disorder

Hey my Cinnamon Rolls! 🙂

Thank you guys for all of your amazing comments on my last post! I’m so glad that you guys love Pizzert Babies as much as I do!

I have been having a TON of questions on formspring, so I have another Q&A post for ya! I’ll have to do more than one of these to fit them all in. Some have been asking about how I eat and also about my eating disorder in the past, and here are my answers!

Have you ever had problem with binge attacks/eating? If so, I’d really appreciate it if you could talk about it on your blog.

I wouldn’t say I have ever “binged.” I find that if I miss a meal, I get pretty ravenous, but I wouldn’t really say binge. The closest thing to that is probably when I get a whole basket of strawberries! They are just TOO good! 😉

In one of the recent posts, it sounded like you don’t eat anything that could be perceived as unhealthy. You don’t even feel comfortable eating your birthday cake. Do you not think that this kind of strict eating habits could be your past eating disorder in a new form? How do you manage social situations, if you can’t eat anything unhealthy?

That is seriously a tough question. Mostly, the reason I choose not to eat Cake, Ice Cream, and Pizza is because they all have milk in them (which would give me a stomach ache). I must admit, when there’s nothing healthy at parties, I’ll eat before, or ask if they have some fruit or something. My mom just tells me that what happens if I’m in a situation where there is NOTHING else to eat? What if you go on a date and your date gets McDonald’s or something? What are you going to do? You don’t want to be rude. I see that unhealthy food as something I don’t need to put into my body. I feel that I should put as much healthy food into my food as possible. But I guess if there was NOTHING else, I would have to settle for something.

Though, this past week (when I was in Illinois), I’ve actually allowed myself a couple of splurges, like a taste of fudge, a baby-size ice cream cone of frozen custard, a glass of diet Sierra Mist, etc. I don’t EVER eat those kind of things, and they were definitely VERY SWEET. But, I allowed myself because it was a special occasion.

For me, one bite of a treat is enough for me. The baby-sized version of the frozen custard was almost too much. The entire time, I just wished I had a container of strawberries I could devour instead, but I didn’t have one. It’s alright though.

What kind of chocolate do you like? (Like what percentage of cocoa content. 45%, 72%, 10% etc)

I like me some BAKERS 100% Chocolate!!! The darker the better! 🙂

About how many times a week do you do something with a friend?

Like go shopping? Hang out? Spend time just talking kind of things? As often as I can, but at least a couple of times a week. 🙂

Do you ever wonder how you could be overweight yet you still eat healthy? I
struggle with this same thing and was wondering how you cope with it. I just
don’t get it!

Hmmmmm, I wouldn’t say that I am overweight. I am in the healthy weight range for my height, but I still want to be stronger, more toned, feel better about myself, etc. I am still finding that balance with myself, but I know what you mean.

Really, your weight really isn’t the best way to measure your health. “Skinny” on the outside doesn’t mean you are healthy on the inside. You can be “skinny,” but fat at the same time.

Eating too much of a good thing can be just as bad as not eating enough of it. Take for example, Vitamin A and beta carotene. If you eat too much of beta carotene, which has pigments just like your skin does, you can turn orange. I myself have turned a little orange through eating too much ORANGE, like cantaloupes, mangos, pumpkins, sweet potatoes, carrots, etc. But vitamin A, also called retinol, is essential for your eyes and your skin’s health, has antioxidant properties, along with many other imperative characteristics.

So, really, you have to find that balance with yourself. Listen to your body and pay attention to the voice inside of you. That is the way to true happiness with yourself.

Also, don’t compare yourself to the models on the runway and the pictures in magazines. The average woman weighs 140 pounds and is 5″4. The average model is 5″11 and weighs 117 pounds. That is by no means a healthy weight, and should never be a goal for anyone! And also, the pictures in magazines aren’t real. Like, take the Dove commercial. The girl in the finished product doesn’t look anything like who she really is. The girl isn’t even as pretty as the girl!!!

Always remember that you are beautiful, just the way you are.

I am looking for a low cal whole wheat bread recipe that is free of added
sugars. (only made with natural sugars). any suggestions?

I have been working on a recipe for bread that is no sugar added/low sugar, so I’ll post about it soon!! 🙂

Were you ever underweight during your past ed?

I wouldn’t say I was ever in the “underweight” category for my weight. I caught myself before I did too much damage. I was still VERY restrictive; I felt I had to be a certain way, look a certain way, and I wasn’t happy with myself. I felt that to be perfect, I had to eat certain things at certain times, eat at certain times, etc., instead of focusing on my body and eating when it was hungry. Finding that balance is what is most important to me. Everyone is different. Through my quest for balance, I have found that I was eating (and still sometimes do eat) even when I’m not hungry, so listening to my body is one of the main things I continue to focus on.

How many calories do you eat a day? If you don’t count, what would you
guesstimate?

I strive not to count calories, but to just be aware. Probably around 1800-2200 a day, but I just listen to my body. I view food as fuel. When you work out more, you need more fuel (just like a car — the more you drive, the more fuel you will need).

What are your opinions on naturally sugared foods (dates, bananas, etc) vs
unnaturally sugared foods (cereal, graham crackers, etc)? Do you think natural
sugar is a lot healthier for you than regular or do you think they both are the
same?

I feel that the sugar in fruit is WAY healthier for you than any added sugar. The thing with sugar in fruit is that fruit also comes with nutrients, phytochemicals, and antioxidant, which “added sugars” mostly lack.

Your body’s energy comes from sugar. Complex carbohydrates are broken down into simple carbohydrates, which the body can then in turn use for energy for all of the chemical reactions that occur. (here’s a really good video that talks all about if fruit is healthy or not, and this on talks about how sugar is processed in the body).

TOO much sugar (the white, processed junk) is a poison. Nature made sugar come with the antidote — fiber. Sugarcane has a THICK layer on the outside. Nature made it in all one package. Fruit has fiber. Added sugars do not. White sugar has been stripped of all of it’s nutrients and fiber, therefore, stripping it of it’s antidote. Is it our place to change nature’s ways?

Added sugars should be avoided as much as possible for our health. I would say DIG IN to fruits and vegetables! The more fruits and veggies, the better! 🙂

Are dates healthy?

Like I said above, yes, I feel that dates are healthy — in moderation of course. They do have sugar, but they also come with fiber, vitamins and minerals, and other nutrients that our body needs. I would rather use dates than white sugar ANY DAY!

If you have any questions, you can comment below, comment on this page, or you can comment anonymously here

 I am willing to open up about my eating disorder. I feel that not only does opening up about it help myself, but it also might help others who may be reading it. I can also answer questions you may have on other parts of my life too. 🙂

xoxox,

P.S. Happy Memorial Day! 🙂

56 thoughts on “Q&A Eating Disorder

  1. I’m so glad you’re willing to open up. I love the part about how you said weight isn’t the definition of healthy… I know what you mean with that, I eat healthy and I’m not overweight but I could definitely stand to lose some. But whenever I start thinking like that I go back to my ED so I need to just accept things the way they are for now!

    1. Thanks for opening up like that! I know I am not overweight — I just want to tone up! I know what you are talking about. I kind of think everyone has their own kind ofED — not necessarily with eating, but their own struggle in life. But we are all there to lift each other up. Always know we are all there for you no matter what!

  2. Hi, thanks for answering those questions, your answers are really mature and clever! I like your opinion on weight issues, I can really relate to that:)

  3. Great Q&A, Kat! I love what you said about why you eat so healthy. I totally agree!
    Also, 100% dark chocolate is my all-time favorite! So rich and chocolatey! I love it! 😀

  4. I loved reading this, Kathleen.. and learning more about you! I can relate to not wanting to put any unhealthy foods… like pizza and such into my body.. even at parties. I sometimes bring my own food to cookouts with friends. They used to think I was crazy..but now they are just used to it, I guess!

    1. Same here! My friends are now just used to it. They now just remember to “get something for Kathleen” like strawberries, other fruit, vegetables, etc. 🙂 When I went to Prom, my date asked my mom where I would be able to eat (of course I could eat anywhere, but he didn’t want me to feel pressured right before the dance), and my mom told him Golden Corral! There i could have a GIGANTIC salad and lots of fruit — my kind of food!!! 🙂 He was so sweet. 🙂

  5. OMG Kat I can’t believe someone called you over weight!!!! You are most definitely not…you’re gorgeous inside and out! Thank you for sharing all this with us!:)

  6. Thank you so much for sharing this Kathleen! I love your healthy attitude to food and weight. You can never really see how healthy a person are from the outside!
    YOU are a healthy good role model! I know it means so much for girls, especially for young girls, to read this answeres! Im so happy for you that you have found such peace with food!

    I totally agree that I dont WANT to put bad foods in my body. I used to go crazy over everything back in my ED days. Nowdays, I can still overeat and eat when Im sad. But it is always healthy foods. I had a major date+PB binge on Saturday. But I could NEVER sit down with ice cream or what ever..

    Yey for dark chocolate, the darker the better 😀

  7. I’m so glad you’re willing to be open about your ED! I always like to see how it’s different for everyone who has suffered. I have just recently adapted to eating some unhealthy foods just for pleasure, like candy, ice cream, etc. and I have to say, while I may not feel as energetic as I would with my normal healthy regimen, it’s nice to be able to go out and enjoy treats with friends and family.

  8. Thanks for sharing, Kathleen! You are such a beautiful person 🙂

    And Baker’s Chocolate ROCKS!!! WAHOOOO!

  9. This was really helpful and I am so glad you opened up about it 🙂 And you are right, weight is NOT an accurate defition of health in my opinion, too.

  10. Thank you for your kind words about my blog! You are so energetic and passionate about health- very happy to have “met you” Kathleen!

  11. I wish I had your discipline when it comes to food… I know saying that can be borderline ignorant/disrespectful since you’ve had issues with eating in the past, but appreciate how the your biggest and best point of your post is healthy moderation (something that I could definitely use more of)!

  12. What a great post, I love reading younger blogs and seeing how well educated you all are on the topic of nutritional science. I didn’t learn half the stuff you know until I was starting college and taking all my science classes! More people need to be educated on this stuff, so keep it up! =)

  13. very interesting.
    I used to be very restrictive in what I ate. I still don’t want to consume ingredients I perceive as “bad” (like fake sugar, trans fats, and HFCS) but I have at least not freaked out so much if whatever I was eating ended up having it in it.
    I remember one time I started crying because of something I ate had HFCS in it… drama queen!

    I’m very lenient when it comes to “splurging”. Even though I eat only wholesome non-processed foods (the only thing remotely packaged I buy is bread) I still have fun when making desserts. Yes, I put in poison sugar into my cookies, and like them!!

    The thing I like about making my own baked goods and desserts is that I can make them as healthy as possible and use organic ingredients (:

    1. That is one of the reason I love baking my own goodies too!!! You can make them taste the way you want (mildly sweet or REALLY sweet) and you know exactly what is in them (unlike those prepackaged stuff that you have to TRY to interpret the ingredient list, which looks more like a science experiment than a food). I’m glad that you have found that balance with yourself! 🙂

  14. That was weird when that one person implied that you were overweight. You look perfectly healthy to me. And also, if dairy upsets your stomach, you may be lactose intolerant. It can be controlled with over-the-counter pills. But honestly, I don’t think dairy is that healthy. And soymilk makes a perfect replacement. I’m working on a soymilk ice cream recipe. I think it’ll be fine.

    1. I’m pretty sure that I am lactose intollerant (or at least have some form of intollerance some days more than others). Ever since I cut dairy out, my stomach problems have gone away! 🙂

  15. As someone who is a little overweight but still eats pretty healthy, I’m really surprised by that question you were asked, but I love your response. You are not even close to being overweight, but most importantly, it’s not about what you look like on the outside- it really is about being healthy. I have a friend that weighs less than 100 pounds and is my height, and she can’t even run a lap around the track! I would rather be my weight and fit than that skinny and in bad shape.

    Anyway, this is a great post 🙂

  16. I apprecaiate your honesty in this post but just be sure to make your readers aware that these habits work for you and might not necessarily work for them. I could see young readers looking at your restriction of ice cream and pizza as something they also need to strive to do and I hope they understand that you have found that is YOUR balance, but not for every one 🙂

    1. Hey Erin! Thank you for making that point. I guess I forgot to mention that. It is absolutely true. That is my balance and it might not be the balance for everyone. Each and every one of us is different, so each of our “balances” are different. 🙂 You are always there for me. Thanks! 🙂

  17. Way to go, Kathleen! This post is awesome. I’m glad you took the time to write about all that. We all have struggles and it’s hard to open up about it. I’m really proud of you. 🙂 Good luck with everything and please let me know if I can help. We go through the same things, girly!

Comments

