Walnut Almond Butter!

Hey my Doves! 🙂

I hope you all had a wonderful 4th of July! :D I had so much fun spending time with my family — I truly treasure each minute I get to spend with them.

I have SO many recipes to share with you (including smoothies, nut buttahs, muffins, breadsticks, and so much more) I just don’t know which one to do first. But I did ask you guys which one to do this time, so here it is! 😀

I love that this nut buttah is a combination of nuts other than peanuts. don’t get me wrong — peanuts are VERY good for you, but variety is something i strive for with nuts — each nut has a different nutritional profile, so each provides different vitamins and minerals. That’s what I love about this! It’s a combination of two different kinds of nuts.

Walnut Almond Butter

printer-friendly version

makes about 3 cups total

Ingredients

  • 3 cups of walnuts (raw if desired)
  • 3 cups almonds (raw if desired)
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Directions

Lay out the walnuts and almonds on two separate baking sheets.

Toast the nuts @ 400 degrees F for about 8-10 minutes, or until fragrant. (SKIP THESE FIRST TWO STEPS IF YOU WANT RAW NUT BUTTER.)

Scoop almonds into blender.

Blend on high until the almonds because a meal.

Transfer the almond meal into a bowl. Add the Walnuts and salt to the blender and blend until smooth and creamy.

This might take some patience and lots of scraping the sides.

(though walnuts actually take less time to cream than peanuts do!)

Once the walnuts are creamy,

add the almond meal and blend until combined.


Pour into your container and store in the fridge. 🙂

Dive into this loveliness! 😀 I have already gone through my first jar and have already dug into the 2nd. 🙂

It is just SO delicious! I’ve been using it wherever I would use peanut butter. I’ve also been using it in my Protein Granola Bars, which will be one of the next recipes coming up.

What do you want next? My Chocolate Covered Cherry Smoothie? My Protein Granola Bars? Or my Fig Walnut Bread?

What is your favorite combination of nuts?

xoxox

67 thoughts on “Walnut Almond Butter!

  1. Awesome idea to combine nuts! The only nut butters I’ve tried to combine have been almond and coconut, and that was super tasty. I’d love for you to share your granola bar recipe – I’m always on the lookout for tasty bars 😀

  2. Looks delish! I love both those type of nuts so I’m sure I would love them in butter form! Your blender must work really well to get them so smooth and creamy!

  3. This looks amazing!! I love walnuts, but I have never had walnut butter!
    The only mixed nut butter I have tried is macadamia nut, which also containes cashews! Is my favorit!!
    How can I choose..? But I will vote for chocolate cherry smoothie! That combinations is soooo good 😀
    Have agreat day 🙂

      • Ahhhh my gosh! You’ve never had macadamia nuts??!!! GASP! Go buy some-now!!! They are sooo buttery….

      • Oh, You MUST get your hand on some!! I always order it from Iherb, the Artisana brand is soooo amazing!
        I cant really describe the taste.. It very unique. Its fat and creamy and macadamia-Y 😛 So good, and different from other nuts!
        Plwase let me know if you try it out 🙂

        • I’ve never had Macadamia either…the light color scares me off a little – looks like Tahini which i’m not sure about 😉

          This looks AWESOME Kat!! I recently tried (cough – I bough it) 😉 – Almond Hazelnut Butter – SO good. Try that next time! 🙂

          Oh – i vote for the Walnut Fig Bread. But I’m a sucker for anytime of bread of course.

  4. this looks delicious! i love both of those nuts but i think it would be interesting to try them together!

    i would love to see a protein bar recipe!!! 🙂

  5. haha…you know what? I JUST made some walnut-almond butter like 2 seconds ago! Great minds think alike, eh?

    And I vote for protein granola bars!!!

  6. Thanks for the recipe, I really wanted to see this one 🙂 I like mixing walnuts and almonds – I usually put both of these into my oatmeal. But brazilian nuts and chestnut butter is also a good combination 🙂
    Fig walnut bread, pretty please!! I just love everything with walnuts in it 🙂
    Have a lovely Tuesday (or the whole week actually 🙂

    • Well, I really can’t say! I’m already into the second container (I had to use two bottles for this recipe). It never lasts long enough for me to tell! It is just so delicious! 🙂 But I’m sure it would last just as long as regular peanut butter (the peanuts and salt only kind)would in the fridge.

  7. I have been craving a walnut brownie for a while and this is just making it worse. I could just slather a plain brownie with this and it would satisfy the craving! Or maybe I should make your carob walnut muffins with cocoa powder! Oooh I’m glad I just thought of that.

    I want to see the fig walnut bread!! Told you I was craving walnuts.

  8. I would love the recipe for protein granola bars. I am struggling with getting enough protein in my diet so I would love it.

  9. yummm! looks SOOO good! I love nut butters! Cashew is my favorite though! Love your blog girlie, thanks for stopping by! And no worries, photos will get better with practice and patience. At least, that’s my motto! 😉

  10. I like coconut+just about any other nut! Same with walnuts. I love them! the protien granola bars sound yummyy 🙂

  11. I don’t know why I’m surprised at how easy it is to make nut butter but wow! I loooove walnuts and almonds, it’s only natural that I make butter out of them now. So glad you posted this!

    I vote for the protein granola bars next. 🙂

  12. mmm! i learned in my nutrition class that walnuts are great for brain power! (: i think i’d like to try making an almond butter with peanuts mixed in..have you ever had nuttzo?! it’s fabulous.

  13. I want a blender! Wah wah! 🙂 I can’t believe you’ve never had macadamia nuts, they are sooo good! If you ever feel like eating unhealthy for a change, eat a white chocolate macadamia cookie. You might never go back to healthy eating.

  14. This looks soo good! I’ve always wanted to try making my own nut butter, but never have. I don’t know why. I loooooove almond butter, and the idea of a combination of 2 nuts (because the only thing better than one nut butter is two!) is genius!

  15. With as much nut butter we go through, I really need to make my own. This walnut almond butter is calling my name! Yum! I can’t wait to see the Protein Granola Bars. 😀

  16. Pingback: Hey My Nut Buttahs! « katshealthcorner

  17. Pingback: Feature Presentation « Teen Eat and Live

  18. Pingback: Protein Granola Bars « katshealthcorner

  19. Pingback: Dark Chocolate Almond Butter « Beautiful Disasters

  20. Pingback: You Guys Are SO AMAZING! « KatsHealthCorner

  21. Pingback: Neapolitan Oatmeal! « KatsHealthCorner

  22. Is it necessary to make the almond meal before blitzing the walnuts, or would it still be viable to just chuck all the roasted nuts into the blender/processor and start it up?

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

