Balance With Self · Health And Nutrition · My Life

Hey My Nut Buttahs!

Hey My Nut Buttahs! 😀

Can you believe I have already hit the bottom of my SECOND jar of walnut almond butter?! At least there is another OIAJ in my future! 😉 And by your requests, Protein Granola Bars will be next! 😀

My life has been pretty crazy over the last few weeks. Some of the things that have been going on include —

I RE-DID MY RECIPE PAGE! GO CHECK IT OUT

We have a TON of figs right now! We have a fig tree out front,  and it is officially a giant.

AND, it JUST decided to have ALL of its fruit go ripe.

(P.S. these Texas figs start green and turn yellow when ripe)

We’ve been giving them to our neighbors (well, more like on our knees BEGGING them to take some), and I must say, many of them didn’t know what they were. All we had to do was mention Fig Newtons and that these figs were the filling inside of the newtons did they say, Oh! YUM! 🙂 You’ve just got to love them! 😀

We have new revolving Pantry shelves to hold our canned goods.

With canned goods, we want to use the ones we get first before the new ones, but the older ones tend to stick in the back and the new ones are placed in front. So, we always grab the ones in front. With these shelves, we don’t have to worry about not using stuff. I also like that it makes things a little bit more organized. 🙂

I just received a box of goodies from Swanson Health! They sent me Coconut Flour, Raw Cacao Nibs, TVP (texturized vegetable protein), Muesli, Wheat Bran, and Oat Bran.

I can’t wait to use these!! 😀 What I love about Swanson is their wide variety of the products I love — and their prices are VERY good! Plus, shipping is always $4.99, so buying more stuff doesn’t mean shipping goes up.

Are you interested in getting some free Swanson Health Products goodies to review on your own blog? Then check out the Swanson Health Blog for all the details.

I got a package the other day with my shirt from the 28 day challenge I participated in!

I LOVE IT! Here’s a close-up of the design on the front.

I can’t wait to wear it! Paige is so sweet — I am very grateful to have had the opportunity to do this challenge with her and the other women!

My mom and I have been going over my college plans. It is getting really exciting! Right now I’m just finishing up a couple of classes (I finished another math class the other night — I’m done with Trig and now with Business Math). We discussed my SAT Scores and you know what — there was NO difference between them. I got the same score each time. What I scored on Writing on one test is what I scored on the other in Math, and vice versa. There was only a 20 point difference between the Math and Writing (those are my two strongest areas). I’m thinking I don’t have to take another SAT test unless I REALLY want to.

I re-did my room! 😀 Now my closet is organized, my shelves have been cleaned-up, and my floor is now spotless. It kind of reminds me of a hotel room in a way.

I love this quilt that is on my bed. What makes it so special to me is that my Grandma made it herself! By hand!

Guess what I put on my Mirror?

Can you see it? Here’s a close up.

Oh yes I did. My life is now.perfect. 🙂

What is one thing I should take into consideration when picking the college I want to go to? I’m having to decide between two and I don’t know what to do!

What should I do with all of these figs??? I’m thinking some Fig Walnut Bread! 🙂 And some Preserves!

What should I try first with my new goods? I’m thinking of some muffins

xoxox

57 thoughts on “Hey My Nut Buttahs!

  1. Your room is so pretty! And clean 🙂 I am really bad at organising my room and keeping things in order 🙂 And WOAH to that fig tree – we have one in front of our house as well, but it is like 20 cm high and has maybe 3-4 figs 🙂
    When choosing the right college, it is good to look what the colleges offer – classes, sport activities, what´s in the surroundings, if you know someone who chose the same college, etc… When the decision is still hard, try flipping the coin :))
    Fig marmelades/jams and compotes are tasty! And dried figs.
    I am jealous of those raw cacao nibs – I ran out of mine!! 🙂

      1. I love to sprinkle them over my oatmeal, it gives it a nice “crunch”. And it is a good addition to vegetarian cocoa chilli – I add a spoonful of cocoa while making the chilli and then add a couple of nibs over the top. And you can also add it to sweet treats like fudges, oat cookies or banana soft-serve..

  2. Thank you for reminding me that fresh figs are in season! They are my favorite fruit in the world!!!!!!!!!!!

    College-my advice? Go to the one that won’t be overly difficult for you academically. Have fun in college. Learn a ton. But don’t make it all about the academics.

  3. College: pick a school because of the people there, not because of the fancy buildings. Take time to meet the professors because these are the people you will be spending time with the next four yrs. Make sure you are comfortable there, because it will be hell if you aren’t. And just have fun! No need to kill yourself in college 😀

    Figs: I want you to make a healthy fig newton recipe!!!!!!

      1. I definitely second the fig newton recipe!! Please? 😀 And I want to try fresh figs so badly….are they really that amazing? I hope so!

  4. Make sure you visit a few schools and take tours while you’re there. Really, there is no better way to experience a school than a walking tour with a student guide who isn’t afraid to answer your questions.

    Figs? If you don’t just eat em on their own, I’d definitely make a fig and goat cheese pizza with whole wheat bread 🙂

  5. Well, I don’t know if you’ve applied to schools yet but the first step is getting in! And you want to apply to a few, just in case! Beyond that, you really need to visit. i found that when I visited schools, the college I thought I would adore I really didn’t like, and the college that I was just “meh” about I ended up LOVING. The atmosphere of the student body makes a huge difference.

    I just got my swanson products too! Use the oatbran to make something awesome for featured food friday (next friday!)

  6. Love your room 🙂 … okay one thing to consider (that i didn’t and now I’m transferring) is distance from home! I went to a school 6 hours away and thought I could handle it but turns out being close to my family and friends is more important..now I’m only 1 and a half hours away 🙂 GOOD LUCK!!!

    1. I will definitely consider that! I’m graduating a year early (I could graduate earlier than that, but I don’t want to grow up too fast, so I’m slowing it down a little bit). One of the school’s I’m considering is a 20 minute drive, so I could live at home while at school. The other school is over a 1000 miles away! I don’t really want to be so far away at so young. I’m so glad that you’re not so far away!

  7. You have a fig tree?? So jealous! I love fresh figs, but in my grocery store, they’re soooo expensive! Choosing a college was really easy for me, there was only one I really wanted to go to (and thankfully, I got in) but there are always things to consider. Money/scholarships play a big role, but don’t choose a college that has an inferior program just because it’s cheaper. Visiting the college I went to is what did it for me! I went for a weekend and I just knew I had to go there.

  8. I absolutely love what you put on your mirror! What a fantastic idea. How did you do it? I’d be interested in doing something like that myself.

    I wish I could help you with the college and the figs, but my college of choice was in my hometown, so that made deciding easy… and I don’t use figs that often, so I’m not sure… You could probably make them into some kind of filling and make bars with them, though.

    1. The school that I am leaning towards right now is in my hometown too! 🙂 My friend actually got me the “Hello Gorgeous!” sticker for my birthday! I’m sure Hobby Lobby has them, so you can look for them there! 🙂 You can buy them on-line too.

  9. I dont know if Ive ever had a fig. I love how creative you get with cooking and baking though. 🙂

    Personally I want to go to college on the other side of the country – I want to see new places and experience new things. It will definitely be hard visiting and moving almost 3,000 miles away though! I haven’t decided on a college yet but my top choices right now are both schools that have good swim teams for me and good academics too. I wish I could visit them.

  10. That’s awesome that you have a fig tree, I love fruit trees!
    Yay for doing well on your SATS! Do you play to go to college in the fall of 2012? I know you just turned 16, so I’m not too sure. What are the two college? I’m trying to figure out my whole college plan right now too. Some things I’m taking into consideration -quality of the eduation -religion/faith (not neccessarily going to a school of a particulur religion, but looking at how involved the students are in that kind of thing and what I could get involved in) -price -location -environment. Good luck on your decision!

  11. I love that you wrote that on your mirror. I may just have to do it – it will be very interesting to see what my husband will say. 🙂

    For the figs, you could make a ton of “lara” bars from them, subbing figs for the dates. Figs, Pecans and walnuts are a good combo along with some rolled oats and maybe some spices like ginger and cinnamon if you’re feeling really wild that day. 🙂

  12. Oh my peas. I’d die if I had a fig tree. I’d eat them just the way they are for breakfast, lunch and dinner, no joke. When my fam gets figs, they’re usually gone within two days. Figs and papayas are probably my favourite fruits.

  13. Ah, seriously? You have your own fig tree? That is so cool, and Im totally jealous! 😉
    I just found fresh figs yesterday, and had to buy some even though I have no idea what to do with them 😛 Please let me know if you get some ideas!
    I love your mirror! And it is true! You ARE stunning!!

    1. Awwwweeeee, this comment made my day. 🙂

      I just realized that my mom made jam out of all of the figs we had picked. So you can do that! I know that there are no-sugar added recipes out there, regular recipes, and fruit-sweetened recipes you can try. It’s pretty tastety!

  14. What year did you take your SATs? I’m going to be a junior and I’m soooo nervous!! PS love all the organizing! It always calms me when I organize 🙂

    1. I just took them this last May and June. So, this year. 🙂 Don’t worry — you’ll do great! Just remember that it is just a logic test. And practice, practice, practice! 🙂

  15. College – have you toured them? I toured a number of colleges when I was in your shoes. When I toured the school that I ended up going to, I instantly fell in love with it and honestly, couldn’t imagine going anywhere else. I guess I would say….go with your gut. Did one campus / overall feel of the school appeal more to you than the other?

    Good luck! Very very very exciting times ahead m’dear!

  16. Definitely visit! I got accepted to a couple of colleges in Virginia and made my dad take me to visit ALL of them. And when I stepped on Virginia Tech’s campus, I KNEW that this was the school for me. I’m still rocking the Hokie Pride even though I graduated in 2008 and my little sister followed me there and my little brother is planning on going there in a few years. Sorry for the Hokie brag…we’re lifelong fans!! But seriously choose a school that you just feel comfortable at. You can imaging walking around that campus everyday and living in the dorms (which are never that great).

    I LOVE your pantry organization system. I need something like that ASAP because my canned goods are out of control.

  17. oh man you must make some fig bread. And then send it to me, pleaseandthankyou. 😉

    And I would highly recommend scheduling a college visit for both that you have in mind. Things really “clicked” when I visited the one I’m attending this Fall. good luck!

  18. I am loving these revolving pantry shelves! What a brilliant idea!

    Girl, I would so take figs if I lived close by! And I love what you wrote on your mirror! As for picking colleges – there are two really important things to consider as far as long term goes. 1. Quality of education. If one school will give you a much better education than the other, then that’s important. Some universities have really strong programs in certain areas and have great networks for finding jobs later. And 2. Cost. If you have a full ride somewhere and would have to pay full price elsewhere – then that is really something to consider. I know far too many people who have $100k in debt and are working jobs that only pay $30k a year (meaning that they may never be able to pay off all the debt). And I mean, school debt isn’t the worst thing in the world, but it is a burden that I hope you can avoid! Hope this helps some. 🙂

  19. Your fig tree is HUGE! WOW! My mom has a wee little baby one that has yet to produce figs. hehe. Lucky girl you are!

    P.S. love the mirror! 🙂

Comments

