What Will Happen?

Hey My Cinnamon Swirls! 🙂

Thank you for all of your loving comments on my last post. I’m so glad that so many of you agreed with me about the QOCGBs — homemade is SO much better than the store bought. 🙂

This past weekend has been full of a TON of fun! I got to go over to my friend’s house and celebrate her brother’s birthday! My family and I went over to their house early in the morning and stayed all day. I don’t get to see Ana very much, so these get-togethers with her mean a lot to me. 🙂

When we arrived, Ana’s brothers told me she was busy in the kitchen. And guess what?

Ana had made my Banana Nut Bread!!!

She had written the recipe on a sheet of paper, and as I was looking at it, I must say — I was a little confused by how familiar it was. I thought it was mine, but I didn’t know. Low and behold, it was. 🙂 The only changes were we didn’t add the flax and used pecans in place of the almonds. I had some for lunch with Almond Butter on top and it was SO good!

A little later in the day, we went over to my girl Kelsey‘s house! We helped pack up some stuff and got to talk about some of the activities we had been going to. We wrapped the entertainment station, which had already been taken apart, in PLASTIC WRAP — the kind you get in your grocery store! I was astonished by how well it worked!

Just to let you know — Kelsey is doing great! She has been REALLY busy lately with moving and such. I’m sure she’ll update soon about life. Since the moving truck is coming early Friday morning, her family is busy getting their whole house packed up. I’m going to miss her so much! I’ve known her for 5-6 years now, and the thought of her leaving — it’s really hard. But I know she will have a lot of fun in Utah. She’ll be doing a lot of Ballroom Dancing, so I know she’ll enjoy herself. 🙂

Also, guess what she gave me for my late birthday present?

CHIA!!! I almost died. I have wanted to try these for the longest time EVER!!!! NOW I CAN!!!! 😀

After we got back from Kelsey’s, Ana and I had fun looking at wedding dresses online — the gowns were STUNNING! Ana wants something with lace and I want something very elegant, and we both want it to have shape. 🙂 I have so much fun daydreaming about my wedding day and my prince charming. 🙂

Dinner!

YUM YUM!

And this was followed by Cake and Ice Cream. 🙂 Or should I say a Septuplit Chocolate Cake (Tripe Chocolate Cake spread with a Triple Chocolate Frosting and topped with Chocolate M&Ms) and Chocolate Swirl Ice Cream.

Ana and I had so much fun making this. 🙂

And I must say that — I was proud of myself. I had a slice.

Not half-of-of-a-slice. A slice.

This was HUGE for me. If you remember my last Q&As ED edition, I couldn’t even eat my OWN birthday cake at my OWN birthday party. I’ve been working on it and talking to some of you guys about it and have come to the conclusion that I need to be able to eat a piece of cake and not feel guilty about it. I rarely eat it ever anyways, so why would a piece at a friend’s birthday party be so “bad”? I did take the frosting off (I thought most of the milk would be there) and passed on the ice cream (that would have given me a GIGANTIC stomach ache), but the cake wasn’t too bad. Very chocolatey, but good. 🙂

I am finding that balance with myself. I want to be able to have a piece of cake with all my friends at a birthday party. For years, I refused to even breathe the same air as those “unhealthy” foods — I just said no thank you and stood there while all of my friends ate it. I felt cut-off, but I just sucked it up. Now, I want to find that balance — to eat healthy, while not striving for 100 percent perfect.

Talking about Balance, there is a blogger sale that is GOING TO HAPPEN THE 25TH OF JULY for Susan, who is a fellow blogger and personal trainer who has just been diagnosed with leukemia.

Please go check out how she found out she had cancer and how she is doing right now. She is about to start chemo, which costs a fortune, and it has been really hard for her. Because she is in the hospital, she can’t work, so there’s no money. Janetha is holding this auction for her to help out, so please check her blog for the details on that. I hope I can help out.

Have you ever eaten those edamame you can find in the freezer section? I just tried them and they are fabulous! Very filling with all of that protein!

Do you like Chia Seeds? Fave way to use Chia Seeds? I can’t wait to make a pudding with them!

Do/Did you ever daydream about your wedding day? I like to watch Say Yes To The Dress. 🙂

xoxox

49 thoughts on “What Will Happen?

  1. I’m so jealous about the chia seeds: can’t find them in Belgium…
    Share your experience and I’ll move to America!
    That banana bread also looks delish! Yum!

  2. Wow Kat, congrats on having that slice of cake, I know what a huge step it is to eat a cake and don´t feel any guilt after that!! I am so happy for you 🙂
    We don´t have edamame here, but I am seeing it all over the blogworld and I am a bit jealous 🙂 The same applies for chia seeds – no chia in the Czech Republic – oh, what a country! :))

  3. this post is so unfair…i wish i could bake! haha i love edamame …and i dont mind frozen fruit or veggies either because they dont loose any nutritional value when frozen ! ( fun fact)

  4. KAT I’M SO PROUD OF YOU!!!! That is something that I’ve struggled a lot with but I’ve come to terms with it lately and I find going out to be a lot more enjoyable when I indulge a bit with friends. Like you said, it’s not every day and it’s not going to kill you. Plus that cake is adorable. i don’t think I would be able to resist. Plus you guys made it with love, it’s not like it was a store bought cake. You had the most important ingredient in there! haha.

    i love chia. It’s best in oats, especially overnight – it makes them super voluminous! I also think it makes a great egg replacer using 1 tbsp chia with 3 tbsp. water just like flax. I can’t wait to see what you do with it, because you get so creative in the kitchen!!

  5. Way to go eating a piece of cake! I usually eat smaller portions of cake if it’s made with white flour or made from a box or unknown bakery. White flour and preservatives are difficult on my digestive disorder. I’ll eat a ton of my own cake with frosting, though!

    I love chia seeds in my mango/Greek yogurt blend and on green salads with mandarin orange slices.

    I didn’t dream much about my wedding, but it was a dream day, at a 125-year or older dance hall in the TX hill country. It was perfect!

  6. As someone who experienced exactly the same thing, I know what a big accomplishment it is to have a slice of birthday cake on your birthday. Good for you, girl 😀 You should be super proud of yourself, and I hope it was as delicious as it looked ^^

    Ooo chia. I have a love/hate relationship with those little buggers. I like them occasionally, but I don’t really understand what all the hype is about… and I hate when they get stuck in my teeth.

  7. chia seeds give me amazing endurance and energy, I kid you not. They really are amazing and one of my top superfoods! They also make oats really plump, mmmm.

    p.s. your banana bread looks insanely delicous!!!

  8. Oh, so many things I want to comment on in this post!!
    First of all : Good for you that you where able to eat the cake and not beat yourself up for it! I know that takes a lot of work to get there, Im really proud of you! I always pass on “normal” food. Ive done it for so long that I actually dont think too much about it. But it is not normal or healthy to live with so many restrictions! So proud of you for breaking free!

    Second: Im so excited to finally “meet” girls who loves food-gifts 😀 Im the only food-obsessed girl I know in real life, and as much as I want to give my friends a jar of nut butter as a present, I know they would not have been too happy about it 😛 I dont get that… what could ever be better than food gifts? 😀

    That banana nut bread looks to good- and with nut butter!?? YUM ❤

  9. Yay! I’m so happy you and ate and enjoyed the cake!! That is so awesome that your friend made YOUR recipe!

  10. i’m proud of you!! we all deserve a slice of cake every once in awhile but it is hard not to feel guilty about eating it – this is a huge step!!

    i absolutely LOVE chia seeds! I just got some the other day for the first time and i think they’ve become my favorite food next to peanut butter. they add so much volume and i like to eat a lot so it’s a win-win!

  11. I’m so glad to hear you had a piece of cake 🙂 As long as it’s once in a while, it’s not going to hurt anything! I’m still trying to find that balance. I have a very all or nothing attitude, so stopping at one slice is hard!

  12. Love love love chia seeds in my oats or in yogurt bowls with fruit, etc.

    Congratulations on the cake! I remember the days of not eating my own birthday cake too. I’m glad that you are making progress!! It’s awesome to actually eat food and NOT feel guilty about it. Plus that cake is ridiculously cute 🙂

  13. Good for you for challenging your self with the cake girl! That is a big step! I am sure it was delicious too right!?!?! See, so worth it!!!

    I love edamame….so yummy! Especially with a little soy sauce!

    I love watching wedding shows on tlc and looking and gowns….there are so many out there and they are so beautiful!

  14. Love that you are finding balance! Sounds like you made a great choice by enjoying a piece of cake sans frosting! 🙂

    I’m already married so I sometimes daydream about our renewal of vows ceremonies each other (we renew our vows every year on our anniversary). One of these years we’re actually going to do a big thing and invite all our family and close friends, but it will probably be like our 10 or 15 year anniversary. This year is #3 for us so we’ve got a couple of years till then, haha!

  15. I love chia seeds as well. I make yummy pudding with chocolate protein powder, greek yogurt, flaxseed, unsweetened cocoa powder, stevia, water and chia seeds! Putting them in overnight oats is a great option too!

  16. Woohoo! I’m glad you took the plunge and tried some of that cake. I know how hard it was for you and I am so proud of you for having some cake and really ENJOYING it! I went through a phase where I wouldn’t eat any sweets because I thought they were “bad.” Now I know better and indulge my sweet tooth on a regular basis. It’s all about balance! 😀

  17. You go, girl! Eat that cake. Seeing others use your recipes is seriously one of the best compliments ever.

    Frozen edamame: yes!
    Chia seeds: great in oatmeal and fabulous in overnight oats.
    Wedding dreaming: I LOVE Say Yes to the Dress. I think I watched 4 episodes yesterday.

  18. Congratulations on being able to enjoy a piece of birthday cake! I was once in that position– avoiding all unhealthy foods in fear of losing my control.
    That’s quite an accomplishment 😀

  19. Pingback: Fig Walnut Bread! « katshealthcorner

  20. I love frozen edamame! I get it in shell and then take it out of the freezer and heat it up in the microwave with a sprinkle of salt and then suck the edamame beans out of the shells…such a fun and nutritious snack 😛

    I proud of you for having that cake, its hard to let go but small baby steps are the way to get there. You end up being much happier! (I went through the same thing..just said no to everything)

    The sad part is that some store bought icings are so filled with crap that they, in fact, do NOT have dairy! (i.e Pillsbury) I still can’t eat store bought icing…too much nasty stuff!

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

