Balance With Self · Health And Nutrition · How do things work in my body?

Maybe I Ate Too Much Orange…

Hey My Baby Carrots!

Thank you for all of your thoughtful comments on my last post! My life has been really busy with all that has been going on, and by setting my priorities, I have had an easier time staying focused.

I think I need an orange detox.

Pumpkins. Sweet Potatoes. Mangos. Cantaloupes. Carrots. Oranges. Peaches. Spinach. Nectarines.

These are some of my favorite foods.

They all contain lots and LOTS of Beta Carotine.

I would eat these things ALL of the time and forget some of the other colors of fruits and vegetables.

Orange, orange, ORANGE!

Because of all of the excess amounts of orange I ate , I tinted orange (just like Arnold in The Magic School Bus when he ate all of those “spinach” bits). Carotenodermia, an orange tinting of the skin, can be caused by eating excessive amounts of beta-carotine-containing foods over a prolonged period. It’s harmless, but it can be really hard when your friends start comparing their hands to yours.

The pigments in foods are similar to the pigment that is in our skin, melanin. So when it’s in excess, the body just stores it where your other pigments are — right under the skin! I have to be really careful now of how much I eat of it.

Please, do not take me wrong. All of these foods are healthy for you, but too much of anything ISN’T.

This is one reason I am striving for a variety of fruits and vegetables. The balance I am striving for is to

EAT THE RAINBOW!

Not just one color.

Just like how you can’t have a rainbow with only one color, your body needs a variety of nutrients to function at its best. Not only does it need Vitamin A, but it also needs Vitamin C, D, E, K, the Bs, and all of the other vitamins and minerals.

My goal over the past while has been to cut back on the amount of orange I’ve been eating. I must say, it is REALLY hard (since those are some of my favorite foods), but I know it will turn out for the better. I can tell a difference now — my hands are slowly turning back to normal. It’s getting better.

One of the things I’ve done is stop eating an entire cantaloupe in one sitting, stopped buying the 10-pound bag of carrots, and focused on other fruits and vegetables —

Balance With The Rainbow.

Has this ever happened to you?

What did you do to reverse it?

What is your favorite orange food?

Hmmm, I would say – carrots. Definitely carrots. I’m a lil’ ole rabbit. 😉 I am so jealous of rabbits that they get to eat so many carrots and not turn orange!

Sweet Potato or Regular Potato?

I love sweet potatoes!

xoxox

51 thoughts on “Maybe I Ate Too Much Orange…

  1. Bahaha! That’s too funny! I would love to see a picture of your orange skin 😀

    Favorite orange food? Sweet taters!!!!

  2. I was afraid I was going to turn orange this week because I ate so many carrots. I don’t even like carrots that much, but I would just eat them mindlessly (there’s way worse food I could mindlessly eat, right?). I had no idea spinach had beta carotine in it too.
    My fav orange food? Mangoes, or maybe nectarines or peaches….I’m so indecesive, I love so many fruits!
    I actually don’t really like sweet potatoes….I wish I did, but I just don’t. I kind of adore anything made with white potatoes, I gotta keep myself from going crazy when I’m around mashed potatoes, french fries, kettle chips, etc.

    I’m with alex, I’d love to see a picture!

  3. Haha no, this has never happened to me. I didn’t even know this can happen until I read about it on some other blog. My favourite orange food are oranges 😉 and nectarines. I’ve actually never tried sweet potato, but I’d love to!

  4. People tell me that I have orange skin ALL of the time! I eat tons of carrots and pumpkin, so my pigment is naturally orange-ish.

    Consider it self-tanner 😉

  5. I loooove carrots – but I don’t think I’ve ever eaten too many of them. I think my favorite orange food would be a toss up between carrots and oranges – yum!

  6. Haha oh this started happening to me too a little while ago. It was especially noticeable in the palms of my hands and the soles of my feet. I cut down on the orange for a while, and it went away. It was hard though, because like you, some of my favorite foods are orange! I’m especially digging cantaloupe right now, but carrots, pumpkin, sweet potato, and mangoes are up there too. It sucks that it looks like fake tanner abuse, but at least you don’t have to worry about the stripes 😉

  7. I love oranges, sweet potatoes, carrots, pumpkins, and peaches, but I have never eaten enough to turn orange. My dad eats a TON of orange, but he is red anyway, so it doesn’t affect him. 🙂

  8. That happens to me, especially in the fall. I’ve been told I look like I’m glowing though, so I don’t mind 🙂 haha I really just took it down a notch and tried to limit myself to 1 – 2 servings of orange food per day. I could easily eat mulitiple servings of carrots, squash, pumpkin, and cantaloupe every day so it can be hard, but i just try to balance it all out.

  9. omg yes! I thought I was the only one! I mean I can seriously eat 2 lbs of pumpkin in one day. I have the orangest skin among all my friends and they even ask me why 😦 how embarassing! but I can’t give up my pumpkin!!

  10. I am orange too but I’ve been working on eating less orange stuff! But like ya said some of my fave foods are orange so its definitely tough!

  11. Such a cute blog! 🙂 I love sweet potatoes and I kinda have to trick myself into eating carrots, but I do it. Haha.

  12. hahah that’s so funny that you actually turned orange! I’ve never heard of that happening before! I love orange things too but luckily that hasnt happened to me (or maybe I just didn’t notice!)
    This just means you’ll have to eat more berries and kale to balance it out! 😛

  13. Hi Kath! I am also the member of the Orange-food-lovers Club 🙂 I just can´t get enough of carrots, cantaloupes, mangoes, etc.. They are so tasty and healthy. But enough is enough, that´s right. Once it happend to me that my skin turned yellowish and it wasn´t that pretty. But I slowed down on my consumption of eating those and my skin soon returned back to normal!
    They don´t sell sweet potatoes here, so I have to say I don´t like potatoes – because I am not a fan of the regular ones and I can´ t get my hands on any other kind 🙂

  14. Sweet potatoes, all the way!

    By the way, have you ever heard of a Moonbow? Apparently moonbow tourism has been exploding across the globe — in the US, Africa, etc. — since moonbows can only happen under very specific circumstances. Haha, anyways… you said “Eat the rainbow!” and I thought of moonbows, so I thought I’d share. 🙂

  15. Did you happen to take any pics of your orangeness? Would be interesting to see the difference between the orange hue and after the carotenoids have been detoxed and excreted again!
    I LOVE orange food, or really just any bright coloured foods in general (purple foods are another favourite though). I remember being a kid and only wanting to eat bland, beige (and therefore mostly unhealthy foods) and hated anything with colours. I think I’m making up for it now 😀

  16. ORANGES foods are my favorite, too! canned pumpkin is like crack for me…and sweet potatoes…and baby carrots…and orange peppers. lol. My boyfriend jokes with me that he loves my orange glow and he wouldn’t have it any other way (: when I’m tan, it’s masked a little bit, but when I’m not, I feel like an oompa loompa. haha.

    xo.

  17. HA! Last year before my wedding someone I worked with said to me “Katie, your skin is ORANGE! Are you doing that self tanning lotion or something??” NOPE! I was eating too much carrots! I just cut down on the bugs bunny treats and eventually I was the right color…I think I was still somewhat orange on the wedding day but my dress was red so one couldn’t really tell!

    Eat a rainbow are words to live by!!

    1. I’ve loved Pears sinceI was a little girl!:D Though I have to be careful with grapes — they can give me a stomach ache if I eat too many. But yes, that is what I try to do — eat as many veggies as I can.

  18. My aunt turned orange once because she decided she could lose weight just eating baby carrots. And she did lose the weight but turned orange and gained all of it back plus some when she started eating food beyond carrots.

    I do love carrots though. I buy the huge five pound bags at the grocery store every week. I’m not a huge fan of baby carrots. They always seem slimy to me! I was orange in college once due to massive amounts of tanning…oh sorority life.

  19. LOL!!! Kat, this has totalllly happened to me. Orange was my body’s colour of choice too. Then I thought, gee, maybe its the sunless tanner. But nope. its definitely the two cans of pumpkin i downed in one week. Sigh.

  20. Mmmmmm oranges 🙂 and canteloupe. And sweet taters. I guess I like a lot of orange food too!! I don’t eat them too much though since I usually only buy what’s on sale 😉 but in the summer I tend to eat loads of canteloupe!!

  21. I’ve heard that carrots turn your skin orange because your liver or something is detoxing. Maybe your kidneys. I can’t remember which one, but you’re supposed to keep eating them until it doesn’t turn orange. I eat tons of carrots and my skin doesn’t ever turn orange. My liver/kidneys/internal organs must be pretty clean 🙂

  22. This happened to me a little while back, I was eating a ridiculous amount of carrots, and my hands and soles of my feet turned slightly orange. I just cut my intake back and they soon returned to normal though. Fave orange food would be sweet potato, and I don’t like regular potato so would choose sweet every time!

Comments

