Balance With Self · My Life

Me And My Orange Skin!

Good Morning My Doves!

How on earth am I going to be able to show you how much I appreciate all of you guys?! Thank you for all of your uplifting comments on my last post and my post on how I’ve turned orange. And it seems that a lot of you wanted a picture of me and my orange skin.

If you look at the palm of my hand, you can see it. It is so embarrassing.

What have I been doing recently?

I GOT A NEW PHONE!!!!!!

I am so excited!!! It’s a LG Rumor Touch from Sprint. And I got unlimited text! So if yah wanna talk, just shoot me an email and I’ll give yah my numbah. 🙂

Recently, I was in the mood for a Green Smoothie.

A whole quart of one. It was delicious. It had Celery, Cucumber, Parsley, Kale, Green Collards, Spinach, a small Banana, a small Apple, a centimeter piece of Fresh Ginger, Lemon Juice,  Almond Milk, Protein Powder, and Stevia.

While I had my Green Smoothie, my mom had a Mixed Fruit Soft Serve!

She used Vanilla Soymilk, Frozen Mixed Fruit, and a Banana. It looked SO good! But I was content with my smoothie. 🙂

Yesterday, I ran a 5k! This is me and my running buddy Amanda!

She is such a sweetheart and I love her to death! We ran/walked together the entire race — it was so much fun!! 🙂 Our time was 39 minutes. For someone who’s not much of a runner and who didn’t even train for it, I feel pretty good about it. I know I want to do better, so I know I want to do it more! It felt so good to do it! I’m going to go make a run for a 5k so I can do it and work on it.

After the 5k, there was a Bread Competition. There was three categories: yeast, quick, and artisan. I’ve never made an artisan bread before, so I just entered into the other two. I made my Zucchini Bread

And My Whole Wheat Bread (which I like even more than the Honey Whole Wheat Bread).

When I got there, I realized that I was the only one who had submitted anything with whole grains. I didn’t win a prize or ribbon or anything. Though, it didn’t help that people who were judging the bread preferred white bread over anything WHOLE. I just hope that one day they will come to like grains for their WHOLEselves, not just for part of them.

Do you know what an artisan bread is?

Do you run, walk, or run/walk when you do 5k’s?

Do you have a cell phone?

xoxox

50 thoughts on “Me And My Orange Skin!

  1. Oh Kath, your hands might be slightly orange, but you are still such a cutie!!! 🙂
    Congrats on your new phone, I wish I have something more representative than my Nokia “000” :)))
    I know what a bread is, but I am not sure what an artisan bread may be 🙂

  2. Haha! Our hands look exactly the same!!

    I usually do 4 minute running and 1 minute walking intervals when I do 5ks. Congrats on your finish 😀

    Hope you’re having a great weekend!

  3. I love green smoothies!
    1. No. I’ve heard the term artisan bread but don’t know what it is.
    2. I run 5ks but not very fast. 😉 I don’t like to walk in races.
    3. I have a samsung reclaim phone! It’s ecofriendly and made of recycled materials. 🙂 I will send you my number if ya ever want to text!

  4. That’s awesome you ran a 5K yesterday! I suck at running so I’d definitely be a walker haha 😉 Congrats on the new phone too!

  5. Hola cutie pie 😉 You look gorgeous!
    Congrats on your run- you should be proud 😀
    And your breads looks so good! Especially those whole wheat! They look like mushrooms 😀 I love that- they are totallty cute!!
    I have no idea what artisan bread is.. Please tell!
    When i run 5 k, I run the whole distanse!

  6. Haha your barely orange! You can’t even tell, don’t worry 🙂
    I love artisan breads, they are so flavorful and so trump regular bread. I have a cell phone but I’m getting a new one soon, love yours!

  7. You don’t look orange at all! Really, it was only noticeable when you pointed to that tiny bit of orangey-ness on your palm. Back when I was really restrictive with my diet, literally more than half of my diet was made up of orange vegetables. I came home from college, and everyone asked me where I had gone for vacation – that’s how bad my orange skin was :/ It was awful.
    Anyway, you’re so pretty! 🙂

  8. Congrats on your 5k!! I haven’t done a 5k in forever. When I did a couple a few years ago I would usually run the whole thing, but I was in cross-country at the time so I was used to running a lot….that is not the case anymore!!
    I think an artistian bread is like cibatta bread, French baguettes, that kind of thing.
    Your whole-wheat bread looks so good….off to look at the recipe!

  9. my dad’s skin actually turned orange when he was a kid because he ate so many carrots – so you’re not alone! I actually noticed my skin tinting orange when I was eating a lot of orange foods in the past year so I had to scale it back as well 😦

    congrats on your 5k! The bread looks amazing, it’s too bad that so many people in america only like white bread 😦

  10. You and your blog are too cute! And I how you bake your own bread! I’m too lazy to do that – I just buy it sliced, in a plastic bag, and ready to go. I usually prefer the Orowheat brand. 🙂

  11. Congratulations on your first 5K, Kat! Around this time last year I ran my first 5K race and loved it! I did it with my Cross Country team and it totally kicked my butt, but I loved the feeling anyways! 🙂

    1. Ditto! Exactly what I was going to say! 🙂

      I’ve only participated in one 5k and I definitely did a walk/run combo and my time was almost the exact same as yours! 🙂 I’m doing my second 5k later this year and I’m hoping to run the whole thing! 🙂

  12. Congrats on the 5K! People can be bread babies…my brothers and Dad still dislike whenever I use any flour other than APF for bread or other baked goods. But they eat it anyways! Your “mushroom” bread is adorable!! Is that from a bread machine?

  13. Congrats on the 5k! That’s an awesome accomplishment. I was craving a green monster the other day and when I went to the grocery store I was appauled they were only selling slimy old spinach. Does adding things like parsley or kale alter the flavour of the smoothie?

    1. It depends on the ratio of fruit to greens you use. 🙂 I find that a banana and apple combo in a smoothie really helps mask the flavor of the greens. Really, the more fruit and stevia (or whatever sweetener you like) you use, the less apparent the greens will be.

  14. Omigosh those breads look like giant MUSHROOMS! I LOVE THEM! ❤

    Also — totally jealous of your phone. I have an LG Rumor 2 — it's got a sliding keyboard, but no touch screen or social media interface… which might be a good thing, considering how much of an Internet addict I am. Ha!

  15. okay, you are too funny! I love the orange skin on your palm! hA! it makes sense with all the ORANGE things you consume! 😉 Too funny. I would have NEVER noticed had you not said something about it. That photo is just lovely.

    ALSO, I’ve only done ONE 5K and I walked it. I’m going to follow your lead and do half walk/half run in a few weeks. YIKES. I’ll cross my fingers I can get a good time like you did.

    Thanks for your sweet comment on our blog. Hope you guys are doing well! We’ve been in Utah and I’m excited to get back into the swing of things!

  16. That green smoothie looks DIVINE! I’ll have to bust out my blender in the morning. 🙂

    And I dig the cylindrical bread – it makes for perfectly round sandwiches and toast. Too cute.

  17. Having an orange tinge to one’s skin is no fun… I would know – I had carotenemia last year, just before my graduation ceremonies. Luckily it cleared up in time and I just looked tanned 🙂

    As for the running, I’ve never done a 5k, just a 10k. I always run every step of a run, be it race or training. Right now I don’t foresee any short races in my future – I’m actually thinking a marathon may be in the cards, as I just did a nice 20 mile run today!

Comments

