Banana Chocolate Brownies!

Hey My Chocolate Chip Cookies!

Oh my gosh. You guys are the best! I was really scared posting a picture of me and my orange skin, but you are truly amazing. Thank you for your uplifting comments — you guys really made my day the other day. 🙂

Were you ever a Girl Scout? (or if you are a boy, a Boy Scout?)

I was in Girl Scouts for many years in my childhood. I had the time of my life learning the importance of serving others. I discovered the importance of reaching out to others, breaking open my shell, and making new friends. And, I absolutely delighted in selling delicious treats (those Girl Scout Cookies are deadly!).

The lessons I learned in Girl Scouts have stayed with me throughout the years.

Since I got to be a “Brownie” during my years as a Girl Scout, eating brownies bring back memories.

But not only do these brownies bring back memories, but THESE BROWNIES are packed with vitamins and minerals and made with a secret ingredient that NO ONE will know is in there!

They’re Healthy that Tastes Naughty. 🙂

Banana Chocolate Brownies

printer-friendly version

Based on this recipe

Ingredients

  • 2 small bananas, ripened
  • 1 Tbsp coconut butter, or oil
  • 3 Tbsp whole wheat flour
  • 1 Tbsp coconut flour, or more flour
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup prepared black beans, rinsed
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 Tbsp honey or agave (can be omitted if desired)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • handful of chocolate chips and shredded coconut

See below for substitution options.

Directions

Break down the black beans in a food processor.

Add bananas, coconut butter, liquid sweetener, and vanilla, and blend until smooth.

Mix the flours, cocoa powder, baking powder, and baking soda together.

Add the bean mixture to the flour mixture and combine (don’t overmix).

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Pour brownie batter into a 8×8 pan and spread to level. Sprinkle walnuts, handfuls of chocolate chips, and handfuls of shredded coconut on top.

Bake for about 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool, and cut into brownies.

DEVOUR!

In place of the honey/agave, I’m sure that liquid stevia would work. any kind of gluten-free flour would work in these. 🙂

Let me say — these didn’t even last a whole day. They were gone lickety split! I barely got any! I guess I will just have to make more. 😉 I must say — these could be a real contender to any of those Girl Scout Cookies! YES! They are that good!!!

Do you like Brownies? I love them! 😀

What is your favorite type of bean? I really like black beans (especially in brownies!), lentils, chickpeas (on salads and in hummus!), and kidney beans!

Do you want my recipe for Cinnamon Raisin Walnut Butter? After eating this walnut butter, I can NEVER go back to buying nut butter EVER again! Making it tastes SO much better! I have been going absolutely gone-oozles over this one! Ohmygosh it is amazing!

xoxox

P.S. Are you interested in getting some free Swanson Health Products goodies to review on your own blog? Then check out the Swanson Health Blog for all the details.

57 thoughts on “Banana Chocolate Brownies!

  1. Those brownies look delicious!! I was a Girl Scout for several years too. 🙂 I learned so much from it and had so many great experiences. Selling cookies was fun of course! My favorites are samoas. 🙂 Do you have a healthified recipe for anything like that!?

  2. I love baking sweets with beans – it is a clever idea and you get a huge amount of nutrients while eating something completely delicious 🙂
    Brownies are so delicious, a perfect treat! Chickpeas and kidney beans are my fave beans, but I like all of them.
    And yes!! Of course, I want that nut butter recipe 🙂

  3. Oh my gosh, there is not one unhealthy ingredient in this recipe!! I love it!!
    Do I like Brownies? Is that even a question? 😉 YES I love them. But only if they are dark, truly chocolaty, dense, and not too flour-y!
    I like all kinds of beans and lentils!

    • I believe that baking powder has baking soda in it with a couple of other ingredients, such as corn starch. But yah, getting those mixed up is no fun. 🙂 You should give brownies another try though!

  4. I love the addition of beans to these! Makes them so much higher in protein….which is always a good thing!!!!

  5. These sound delicious! I really need to jump on the bean dessert bandwagon and see what all the fuss is about… usually I have my beans in more savory dishes, and my favorite are kidney and chickpeas. As for brownies, I like them a lot, but they’re not really a dessert that I eat very often… I have no idea why? I guess I’m just more of a cookie/muffin person.

  6. So creative! Black beans? I’m intrigued… but I can’t tell my family that they’re an ingredient! haha

  7. I was never a full-on girl scout, just a brownie, but we did sell oodles of cookies haha
    This recipe had me so confused at first with the beans, I was like bean-y brownies?!?! haha But wow does that look amazing! 😛 I think my favorite beans are garbanzos mmm

  8. GIRL these look sooo good! I really need to get my hands on some coconut flour for REAL! I feel like its so versatile. love the sneaky beans in the brownies too! and love YOU, beautiful!

  9. Cinnamon Raisin Walnut Butter?!?!??!?
    OMG YES. I am jumping up and down I am so excited for this recipe, because I’m so obsessed with cinnamon raisin swirl PB!
    and by the way, the way you topped your brownies with chocolate, shredded coconut and walnuts is so creative! I always mix everything in but now I’m seriously gonna try that!

  10. That’s amazing! I got some swanson products to review so I’m excited about that!

    Those brownies are seriously incredible. I need to make them asap.

    Oh and of COURSE I want that nut butter recipe!!! I’m a nut butter addict 😉

  11. YUM. They look delicious and the fact that they have black beans in them makes me really eager to try them out! I don’t have coconut flour though, can I use a different flour?

    and YES I WANT THAT RECIPE FOR YOUR NUT BUTTER POR FAVOR 😀

    • Totally! The coconut flour does give it an extra coconuty flavor punch, but I’m sure another flour would work. Oat flour would work well. Or even just regular whole wheat woud work too. 🙂

  12. awww hehe girl scouts seems really cool! When those lil girls grow up, they seem so well rounded too 😀 I do like brownies, but I can’t have too much at once! Although I like chocolate, I can’t eat a load of it because I guess my tastebuds can’t handle it! 😛 These sound good! The bean ones are good because they’re heartier and induce less of a sugar crash.

  13. Pingback: Seven Little Things You Ought To Know. « katshealthcorner

  14. These were delicious! Thank you for the recipe. I’m always looking to incorporate beans in my family’s diet (esp. sweet recipes). I just came across your site a few days ago and look forward to following you. Thanks again.

  15. Pingback: Skinny « KatsHealthCorner

  16. Pingback: WIMW (m = made) « XC Foodie

  17. Pingback: Guest post : Kat’s healthy dessert recipes! « kerrycooks

  18. Pingback: My Life Is Full Of Butterflies! « KatsHealthCorner

  19. Why have I never seen this recipe before!?! It’s so funny because just yesterday I was like I am going to start baking more with coconut flour! 🙂 I really love to, but don’t often put the recipes on my blog considering I figure most people don’t have it…But it’s so awesome, it’s time to get the word out about it! 🙂

  20. Pingback: Kat’s Recap of 2011! « KatsHealthCorner

  21. Pingback: Easy Vegan Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Bars! « KatsHealthCorner

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

