baking · chocolate · Goodies · Health And Nutrition · peanut butter · vegan · vegetarian

Spiced Chocolate Chip Oat Bars!

Hey my absolutely GORGEOUS readers! 😀

Thank you so much to Savannah for your guest post. Your post really hit the nail ON THE HEAD with what True Beauty is (if you have not yet read it, click here – you will never forgive yourself unless you do so)! Thank you so much for all of your comments. I loved reading what your guys views are on what beauty is — and you guys are so right!

Oatmeal.

You know the word.

It’s something I have every morning. Sometimes multiple times a day. No joke. And most of the time, I use the old-fashioned kind — rarely the steel-cut. I used to be almost afraid of steel-cut, but all of that has changed.

I have a WHOLE big baggie of the steel-cut kind, but I don’t think it’s going to last longer.

Not with THESE guys in town! 😀


My Spiced Chocolate Chip Oat Bars! 😀

These are PERFECT for a quick delicious breakfast that’s easy to take on the go. Or just eat it as a snack – as dessert – both filling and full of wholesome goodness.

And you know how nutritionists say we should incorporate more steel-cut and old-fashioned oats into our diet? Well, that’s easy with THESE! 😀


Combine the milk and vanilla in a large bowl.


In a separate bowl, combine the oats, flax, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Stir together.


Add the oat mixture to the milk mixture, and stir to combine.


It should have the consistency similar to this –thick like a pudding.


Add the chocolate chips, pecans, and shredded apple. Fold them in.


Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Pour into a sprayed 9×13 pan. Push down and move the batter around with a spoon to smooth it out. Bake for one hour, or until firm and golden brown.


Let cool (if you can bear having any patience, which I lack and therefore skip that step regularly), and cut into 20 bar squares.

I usually serve this with peanut buttah on the side.


Awwwh. Just thinking about it is making me hungry. 😀


Spiced Chocolate Chip Oat Bars!

Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Sugar Free, Vegan, FULL OF HEALTH!

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 +1/2 cup nondairy milk – see below for details
  • 1 1/2 cup steel-cut oats
  • 1/2 cup ground flax
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 cup pecans, chopped
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 1/2 cup shredded apple (about 1 large apple or 2 smaller apples)

Directions

Combine the milk and vanilla in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, combine the oats, flax, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt. Stir together. Add the oat mixture to the milk mixture, and stir to combine. Add the chocolate chips, pecans, and shredded apple. Fold them in.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Pour into a sprayed 9×13 pan and press down with a spoon to smooth. Bake for one hour, or until firm and golden brown. Let cool (if you can bear having any patience, which I lack and therefore skip that step regularly) and cut into 20 bar squares.

printer-friendly version

Notes:

You can use old-fashioned oats in place of the steel-cut oats — you just won’t have to bake it as long. Watch it and take it out when it’s firm and gold brown. You can also use pears, bananas, or peaches in place of the apples — just shred the pears and peaches, and mash the banana.

I don’t use any sweetener or oil in these and they are perfect for me and my mom, but if I were to serve them to others, I would probably use about ¼ cup maple syrup + ¼ cup coconut oil (if you want a buttery flavor which is to DIE for) for that other ½ cup of milk. But really, that’s your choice. Also, you can use chopped dates or carob chips in place of the chocolate chips. Try adding 1/2 cup of chopped dates too for a DIVINE treat. 😀


I absolutely love how portable these are! They are the perfect meal on the go! I just grab two and I’m off! And they are super filling – they keep me full and focused for hours, and that’s even WITHOUT the protein powder added to them. Imagine how filling they would be WITH it. 😀

Steel-cut oats and I may just now become the best of friends.

Have you ever used steel-cut oats? fave way to prepare them? I know I will be using them more often now that these have entered my life. And this is DEFINITELY my favorite way to use them! 😀

If you are in/went go to college, do/did you have to plan out your meals ahead of time? Stay to a certain budget? Adapt your eating habits to fit the college lifestyle? I’ve been working on menu-prepping for college this next year – seeing if I can live off $50 a week – in a healthy way. The college I’ve chosen even has a free gym to all students, which I cannot WAIT to use. 😀 Things I’ve been realizing is that I will be using a lot of oatmeal, peanut butter, bananas, veggies, lentils, rice, beans, my slow cooker, my steamer, etc!

What’s the longest book you’ve ever read? Great Expectations is definitely one of them for me!

xoxox,

42 thoughts on “Spiced Chocolate Chip Oat Bars!

  1. Holy cow these sound amazing!! Sadly I’m allergic to oats, but do you think quinoa would work as a substitute? 🙂
    I love planning my meals and baking on the go snacks for college, it is SO much fun to experiment! Girl with all of your insanely delicious recipes, I know you’ll be whippin out some yummy goodies 😉

  2. Scrumptious!!! In reply to Alexandra, quinoa flakes would be amazing too – they would make the slice really soft and moist too. I love the shredded apple in these, I think I’ll try these with cacao powder instead of choc chips one day 😀

  3. i’m a freshman in college now and i have found it to be fairly easy to adapt to healthy eating here. i am on a meal plan and the cafeteria has really healthy food choices. there’s the salad bar with 3 kinds of lettuce, beans, extra veggies, and oil oil and vinegar as an option for dressing. then there is always a vegan option but i can always rely on the salad bar. for breakfast, there’s an omelet bar, scrambled eggs, and tofu scrambles. there is also a bunchh of fresh fruit. mine has strawberries and blueberries sometimes!
    i also recommend taking full advantage of the comment box. i used it once to recommend gluten free bread. i do not have any intolerances to gluten but that way, they were able to get ‘food for life’ bread, a brand that i know and love.
    as for being on a budget, i get $100 a month to use for any extra food options. i have found it to be a perfect amount for the kinds of food i like. i buy things such as frozen fruit, almond milk, nut butter, oatmeal, and hummus.
    it has been great living in college and i have loved my food situation.
    if you have any other questions totally feel free to email me! 🙂

    1. So you plan out your meals on Sundays? I’ve been trying to think of when I’ll plan it out, go get my food, and prep it for the week. Do you have much time int he day? bring snacks? just stick to 3 meals a day? 5 mini meals? 3 meals + 2 snacks?

      1. Well, I plan my dinners on sunday morning for monday-friday (weekends I just play by ear usually, or I’ll make a big crock pot meal). I have a weird schedule so I’ll eat breakfast around 7, have a snack at 10:30, have another postworkout snack at 12:30, eat lunch at 2 or 2:30, then eat dinner at 7:30 or 8. So 3 meals + 2 snacks 🙂

  4. This looks really good, I am saving the recipe. I love having steel cut oatmeal for dinner!
    I go to university but I live at home so planning meals isn’t a big issue for me. I just make sure to pack myself something simple and nourishing for breakfast/lunch/dinner. I usually pack myself leftovers for lunch/dinner. For breakfast I cut up some fruit with yogurt in a container when I have an early class. There can also be some healthy and affordable options around your university once you have explored it. I also get access to a free gym and lots of other recreation facilities. It is awesome!

  5. These look amazing – I will be making these! I can’t believe you’re already thinking about going to college! When I was at uni I made a lot of tuna salad, pasta, veggie chillis and homemade soups that were pretty cheap!

    1. I haven’t. I’ve been thinking of using the slow cooker overnight, but I’ve never gotten myself to do it. I really should though. Haha, but I don’t know if I’ll EVER get the chance, since I now have these bars. 😉

  6. These look so good! I’ve never actually tried steel cut oats before. My first two years of college I had a meal plan, but the second two I bought all my own food. I didn’t really try to eat healthy until the very end, but It’s definitly possible!

  7. Im SO going to make these! But not until I visit my parents! It would not be save to be alone with a pan full of these… 😉
    Your post-openings are always so sweet Kathleen! Wish you a wonderful day 🙂

  8. These look great! I wonder if you could sub PB for the pecans….

    My favorite way to make steel cut oats is overnight – makes making breakfast a cinch the next morning! I load it up with lots of cinnamon, unsweetened applesauce, flaxseed and sometimes some pumpkin ( now that it’s fall!), but I am SO going to try these bars. I think I even have everything on hand right now! Won’t my boys be happy little guys when they wake up from naps to these treats?

    1. Hey Sarah! I’m sure that your boys will love them! My mom and sister say that they remind them of no-bake cookies. 🙂 I’m sure the peanut butter would work — I’d love to hear how they turn out for you!

      1. I loved the taste! I added a cup of raisins instead of chocolate chips and we loved the them, but they were really chewy border-line crunchy – did i not cook them all the way or is that typical? I took them out after 50 minutes when they were golden brown and they set up really nice.

  9. These bars sound delish! I had a positive food experience in college (Virginia Tech has been rated in the top ten for food for years) plus we had all the nutritional information online. Are you going to have a meal plan? Just don’t do what I did in college which typically involved me eating cereal for almost every meal when I didn’t have a meal plan. I ate way too much special k!

  10. I loved the taste! I added a cup of raisins instead of chocolate chips and we loved the them, but they were really chewy border-line crunchy – did i not cook them all the way or is that typical? I took them out after 50 minutes when they were golden brown and they set up really nice.

    1. I find that they are really chewy too — but that’s one thing I liked about them. They have that nutty flavor that rolled oats lose. My family says that they remind them of no-bake cookies — did you find that? I’m so glad that you liked them. Sarah,you justMADE my day. 😀

  11. I’ve never baked with steel cut oats! I love the idea. So many chocolate chips too – that’s the way to do it! I like making steel cut oats in the slow cooker and waking up to a creamy bowl of oaty goodness – though i usually reserve this for winter. something to look forward to when I can’t stand the cooler temps!

    1. Oh gosh, those food manufacturers are such liars. Blueberries are blueberries — all of their “blueberries” are just fake stuff — partially hydrogenated oils, food colorings (which really, you can never know what are in those), and tons and tons of sugar! That is so sad that they advertise their products to contain REAL blueberries – when in fact, they have NONE in them!!!!!

      Thank you for sharing that link. 🙂

  12. This looks sooo good! Plus its gluten free so I can eat it yay! As a junior in college and a nutrition major, I always plan out what I’m going to eat in the week because that way I know I will eat healthy and delicious foods and not deprive myself of required nutrients. Funny thing is in my food systems class today we talked about meal planning! My college advice: go to the gym, walk to class, and try to incorporate healthy foods in your meals.

  13. $50 is doable for a week. Also remember your roommate(s) will have food they’ll be sharing with you-healthy or not. Don’t get too caught up in staying super healthy during college. It’s the best time of your life. Live it up!

Comments

