chocolate · Goodies · My Life · peanut butter · vegan · vegetarian

What Kat Ate!

Hello My Peanut Butter Cups! 😀

I want to thank you all for all of your college tips and tricks and such. I’ve had some worries about going to college, but now, I know I won’t have any problems. YOU GUYS ARE AMAZING! 😀

I finished Great Expectations this morning! That was SUCH a great book. Long, but SO GOOD!!! And now that I have FINALLY finished it, I can get back to Physics and PreCal CLEP Prep. Haha, I have a lot to catch up on, but I am determined.

With all of this craziness, I have still managed to eat lots of yummy things — some of my eats as of late include are shown below.

Me digging into one of my Spiced Chocolate Chip Oat Bars – topped with Peanut Butter. 😀

A bowl of Chocolate Heaven – Oatmeal, TONS of cocoa powder (not the dark kind, but the regular – I find the dark chocolate cocoa powder tends to make things turn black), strawberries, egg whites — I think, and a big dollop of my Chocolate Almond Butter.

A big bowl of oatmeal (this one I had this one again this morning) with cinnamon and frozen strawberries (more on the side that were eaten before the photo was taken), and topped with soy vanilla protein powder and more of my Devilish Chocolate Dream Almond Butter. Kind of like my Cinnamon Roll Oatmeal, with a twist.

I used to use the whey vanilla protein powder (oh my gosh, that stuff tastes good), but I have stopped eating dairy all together. Aka, I eat a plant-based diet that does NOT include any kind of dairy. I can explain why if you would like.

I made dinner last night for my family (well, 3/4’s of my family), and I made spaghetti! Not hard in the least, but I wanted to try making my own spaghetti sauce in the way I’ll be making it in college – 1 can of tomato paste, 2 ¼ cups water, and 1 packet of spaghetti sauce mix. It was really good! Now I know a easy way to make spaghetti sauce and not have to buy the big glass bottles of it! Pictured above: whole wheat spaghetti topped with my spaghetti sauce that I made (I like to dip my breadstick into it too), meatless meatballs cut up – I always do that, and lots of green beans.

My dad didn’t come home ’til late last night (it’s the end of the fiscal year for the military, and since he works in the financial/accounting area for them, they have been working him like CRAZY to make sure everything is done by a certain date. And if he’s not busy enough, he’s also getting ready for tax-season for this next year). I do get to see him a little bit on the days I wake up at 4am. I know that he is busy with stuff, but I still miss him.

I received a sample-sized version of the Fiber One 80 calories Honey Squares cereal.

I have always wondered if the strawberries were in there or not. They don’t say if the strawberries are included that on the package at all! They just say the “strawberries add 25 calories.” Ok, so are they IN there and you have to add 25 calories to the nutrition label, or are they not included, but recommended to add? I was very confused. Anyways, I’d heard a lot about them and couldn’t wait to try them.

Yep. One serving. It looks so small. L

I ate it with some almond milk. I must say, it wasn’t very filling. Maybe if I had used soy milk…. But then again, I don’t really find cold cereal like this to fill me up, with the exception of the shredded wheat. The fiber in this Fiber One cereal (and is the typical form found in the Fiber One products) is from inulin – a fiber found in chicory root, It does have one benefit – it feeds the bacteria in your colon. Other than that, it isn’t as good as eating fiber from WHOLE foods, which is always the better way to get your fiber.

As this was my snack in the afternoon, I had a bowl of cheerios on the side to fill me up the rest of the way. But still, I DON’T find cold cereal to be very filling like oatmeal and cream of wheat is. (oh, and btw, they didn’t pay me to review this — I just signed up to receive a sample and they sent it to me free of charge. I didn’t even have to review it, but I wanted to share what I thought about it).

A frozen bananner with more of my Devilish Chocolate Dream Almond Butter on top.

Whole grain cream of wheat with cinnamon, vanilla, frozen strawberries, and peanut butter.

Another one of my Spiced Chocolate Chip Oat Bars with Peanut Buttah on top – that is by far my favorite way to eat them! My mom likes them without anything on top, and she says that they remind her of a no-bake cookie.

A big bowl of chocolate oats – same as the one pictured above, but topped with peanut butter instead.

A PB and J frozen bananner. 😀 Oh, and I had another one of my faces for lunch today. They are just so much fun!

And that’s my round-up for the last couple of days.

Favorite food pictured? I’m loving all of the oatmeal and nut buttah I see. 😀

Do you eat dairy? Nope! If you want to hear why I don’t eat dairy anymore (as mentioned above), I can explain if you like, though it would probably take a whole post. Please, just ask and I will!

Does cold-cereal (like cheerios and fiber one) fill you up? Not really for me, unless it’s the Kashi w/ protein or the shredded wheat!

xoxox,


33 thoughts on “What Kat Ate!

  1. That pb&j frozen naner looks good to me! Yum!! 🙂 I don’t think I could ever give up dairy, I’m so addicted to cottage cheese haha And I’m with ya, cereal alone doesn’t fill me up at all, I always have to have it with something else during a meal.
    Have a great weekend! 🙂

  2. Nice meals! Those choco oatmeals look so delicious 🙂 And I am glad you liked the book, it is really a beautiful story!
    I also don´t eat dairy, I stopped eating it cold turkey and never went back and never missed it 🙂
    Cold cereals never fill me up, I always get hungry like 10 minutes later!

  3. Hahaha the strawberries adding 25 calories IS a really weird thing. I’m sure legally they have to put that on the box since it’s saying it’s 80 calories and showing the strawberries in the picture (I’m in marketing and stuff like that is SO annoying) but that’s confusing!

  4. Kashi go lean is the only cold cereal that fills me up. I still like to have other cereals on hand before workouts because I don’t like to feel full, but I need the extra boost. My favorite thing pictured is definitely banana with peanut butter. It’s my favorite!!

  5. cereal alone rarely fills me up. i love the strawberry yogurt cheerio’s though. when i was in the hospital they had these strawberry yogurt chexmix packs that were insanely good but i think you can only buy them in bulk- i’ve never found them since 😦 i eat a few dairy things… but mostly baked goods, cottage cheese, and greek yogurt. i’m going vegan for october though- and possibly longer! all your pics look delicious, but i have to say the bars sound the best 🙂

  6. yeah, why did you stop eating dairy? I thought that earlier you said you were starting to incorporate more animal foods into your diet, not the other way around.

    1. Well, I’ve eaten animal foods most of my life. And dairy and I have had our ups and downs, but now I’ve found doesn’t work for me. Now, I try to eat plant-based and cut back on the animal products. I am now reaching that balance where I can eat a regular cookie and a piece of cake WITH frosting, so maybe that is what I meant when I said incorporating — not the animal foods, but regular foods like pizza, white pasta, cake, ice cream, cookies, etc.

      I’m sorry that I’m confusing you!

  7. Frozen banana?! Do you just take chunks off?! I’m confused!

    And your oats look amazing, btw. Really thick and awesome!

    cereal doesn’t fill me up either unless I eat like half of a box… Which just makes me think I should have made something else entirely haha.

    1. Let’s see if I can explain. I take the bananas when they are perfectly ripe, peel them, place them in a zipbloc baggie, and stick them in the freezer. I keep them there for when I want a bananner with nut buttah. When I want one, I bring out one full banana (frozen) and top it with my nut butter. Yes, sometimes I have NO patience and just take chunks off with my fork. But if I HAVE the patience, I let it sit for a couple minutes until it softens slightly, then I dig in!!! Sometimes, you might even find me microwaving it for like 20 seconds to get it perfect. 😀

  8. Loving all the oatmeal and nut butter! Awesome eats! 🙂
    I eat dairy 🙂
    Cold cereal doesnt really fill me up.. I always end up eating a billion bowls! I like to add some oats, fruit, nuts or protein powder so its a little more filling 🙂
    I like the Fiber One Honey Squares! I like adding them to greek yogurt to make a yogurt mess, or mixing it with other cereal.

  9. hi sweetie! No I don;t eat dairy. I took some food intolerance tests a few weeks ago and they revealed that I am severely intolerant to dairy products. I was advised to remove dairy and whole eggs from my diet….and boy do I feel better!!! I’m loving the llok of the cream of wheat with strawberries and almond butter. Mmmmmm! Big hugs x x x

  10. Hey Kat, just wanted to ask how you make that cream of wheat…as in what’s the wheat-milk ratio and for how long do you cook it? Thanks a lot! 🙂

    1. For the Cream of Wheat: I use this kind (http://creamofwheat.com/products/ ) — the Whole Grain one in the stove-top collection. The ratio is 3 Tbsp wheat farina to 3/4 water (microwave) – 1 1/4 cup water (stove-top). I also have a container of this homemade cream-of-wheat that one of my friends made for me that contains wheat, barley, and flax. For that, I use 1/2 cup of the farina (that mix) to 1 cup water/milk, whatever. I usually make my cream-of-wheat in the microwave (since I’m lazy like that). You just microwave for about 2 minutes, watching it carefully and stirring at intervals to prevent clumps. I like to use a whisk to help with that. And then I stir in my mix-ins and top it with my toppings. And there’s your bowl of cream of wheat! 🙂

      I hope that explained everything. If you have any questions, please ask! I know that that was a long explanation and can be pretty confusing.

  11. I love the chocolate almond butter, it sounds so good. I only ever eat bananas with nut butters find them too bland on their own. yeah cold cereals never fill me up either, maybe if I used protein powder with my milk but meh I much prefer some warming oats and save the cereal for a light evening option before bed.

  12. My concern about eating anything processed that has added fiber is the manufacturers may also be adding soy products, and you can be sure that they are not using non-GMO & organic soy. I haven’t read that particular cereal label, but something to watch out for in general with cereals, granola bars & breads.

  13. Yes Yes YES, please write a post about your plant based diet! I LOVE those kind of posts.
    I dont eat dairy. I went vegan when I was 18 (Im 23 now. Gah, Im so old :o). I did try to add back dairy a few weeks back, because I have totally messed up my body, and I felt like I had to make some radical changes!
    But it didnt last me too long. I really dont think dairy is good to me, so now I put my energy into learning to trust and feed my body more!

    Love the theme of your foods: oats, chocolate and nutbutters. Cant fail with those 😉
    Have a great Saturday 🙂

  14. all of your food looks so good. I’m loving all the nut butters I see 😉
    The only reason why cereal fills me up is because I top it with frozen banana and a HUGE spoonful of nut butter. Also, I mix my vanilla soymilk with vanilla protein powder and holey moley- I’m full for about 2 hours…then I’m a hungry beast!
    I actually stopped drinking milk this summer because I found out I was lactose intolerant! I do eat cottage cheese and yogurt though…come to think of it…I eat a ton of dairy!
    I would love to hear why you don’t eat dairy anymore! 😀
    Have a great Saturday!

  15. Your eats look so good. I usually stick to hot cereal (oats) to fill me up, but sometimes I will eat cold cereal but instead of using milk I will mix the dry cereal in with greek yogurt and fruit to make a more filling meal.

  16. I now am craving chocolate after seeing all of your crazy yummy eats! Yum, yum, and more yum! Cereal almost never fills me up-I need multiple types and HUGE servings to eve come close. Not always good but sometimes I just need cereal. Is that normal? 😉

  17. This diet doesn’t look healthy to me.. Maybe it’s because I’m from Belgium, we have totally different eating habits. I don’t understand this proteine stuff, why do you eat that? And what about all the sugars in your food?
    (But then I looked some days further in your column, and you eat much healthier there! so I take my words back…) But I still think Americans have strange food habits 🙂 no offence…

    1. Hey Margot! 🙂 Haha, wow — it’s so nice to go back to some of my posts from this last year. 😉 Throughout this past year and a half I’ve been striving for balance, including my life, fitness, and diet. This is still a part of my transitional phase where I was striving to find what works best in my life, including trying different recipes and listening to my body. What’s shown in this post doesn’t show everything I eat — only a select portion of it. Haha. I do agree, some Americans do have strange eating habits. But then again, lots of individuals have strange eating habits — everyone is different, and what works for one person doesn’t always work for another.

Comments

