Protein Cinnamon Raisin Pizzert Babies!

Hey My Cinnamon Raisin Swirls!

Thanks for all of your comments on my post on why I don’t drink milk. I absolutely ADORED reading each and every one of your comments. And how fitting to have a post on milk right after a post on cookies! 🙂

What do you look for in a balanced breakfast?

I find that having a combination of protein, fat, and carbohydrates satisfies me the most.

Though, I prefer having dessert for breakfast. 😉

But how about if I could have both — you could have both: a balanced breakfast, while having dessert?

What do those equal together?

My Protein Cinnamon Raisin Pizzert Babies! 😀

In a small bowl, combine the flour, protein powder, baking powder, stevia, and cinnamon.

Add the milk, applesauce, and vanilla extract.

Stir all together.

Spoon tablespoonful-amounts of the batter into each cup of a lightly sprayed muffin tin, resulting in 6 “babies.”

Add some raisins.

Bake the babies at 350 degrees F for about 6-7 minutes, or until firm in the center and bounces back when tapped. Let them cool in the pan for a minute or two.

Top each Pizzert Baby with nut butter (I used my Cinnamon Raisin Walnut Butter) and raisins.

I love how absolutely delicious these are — and so healthy for you! AND, they are vegan, dairy free, and sugar free, and easily adapted to be gluten free*! 🙂

Protein Cinnamon Raisin Pizzert Babies!

  • 2 tbsp whole wheat flour (see below)
  • 15 grams/2 tbsp vanilla protein powder (½ a scoop of my soy vanilla protein powder)
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • 1 packet stevia, or 2 tsp worth of sugar
  • ¼ tsp cinnamon
  • ¼ cup milk (I used unsweetened almond milk)
  • 1 tbsp unsweetened applesauce
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • handful(s) of raisins
  • spoonful(s) of nut/seed butter for topping (I used my Cinnamon Raisin Walnut Butter)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly spray a 6-tin muffin-tin cup pan with a nonstick cooking spray. In a small bowl, combine the flour, protein powder, baking powder, stevia, and cinnamon. Stir in the milk, applesauce, and vanilla extract.

Spoon tablespoonful-amounts of the batter into each cup, resulting in 6 “babies.” Add some raisins. Bake the babies for about 6-7 minutes, or until firm in the center and bounces back when tapped. Let them cool in the pan for a minute or two. Transfer to a plate.

Top each pizzert baby with nut butter (I used my Cinnamon Raisin Walnut Butter) and raisins.

And savour each bite!

printer-friendly version

There.

Now grab the fork and EAT THEM UP!!!!! 😀

To make these gluten free*, just use Bob’s Red Mill’s GF mix. If you are out of raisins, or just not care for them, you can use chocolate chips (for chocolate chip cookie pizzert babies), chopped dates, dried cranberries, etc. in their place.

What do you look for in a balanced breakfast? I look for a protein, fat, and carbohydrate, plus some fruit and/or vegetable. I find that works best for me.

Raisins or Chocolate? Ooohhh, in this instance, I would say raisins. 😀

Do you like having dessert for breakfast? breakfast for dessert? I love doing both!

xoxox,

44 thoughts on “Protein Cinnamon Raisin Pizzert Babies!

  1. I look for the same thing in almost all my meals! It’s an easy way to keep it balanced and stay full.I love how you make these in a muffin tin. Perfect sized pizzert babies! They’re adorable!

  2. Yummy, Kat!!!!! I love anything that tastes decadent and is healthy, too!!!! 😀
    I actually love both raisins and chocolate…..so I can’t choose between the two! hahaha

  3. Amazing recipe girl!!You really come up with a whole lot of goodies!
    I always need fat with my meals, for breakfast too! I find it keeps me full for longer+I love the taste 🙂
    Chocolate wins over everything in my book, but raisins are good too- especially together with cinnamon!

  4. These look so cute and delicious! Chocolate or raisins.. that’s a hard one. Can I cheat and say chocolate covered raisins? And I absolutely love eating dessert for breakfast!

  5. This looks delicious! I’m really going to have to make these- not joking.
    In a breakfast I look for a combination. I found that if I have PURE protein for breakfast, I’m starving all day long!

    Have a great Monday! Love the recipe 🙂

    • That’s what I find too — if I just have protein, or fat, or carbohydrates, they don’t keep me full for very long. But when all together, they do! It’s like your mouth, a spoon, and peanut butter — they all go together! 😉

  6. I’m making these this week! Thanks soooo much, can’t wait to dig into the babies with some yogurt for dipping. I am always making breakfast for dessert/dinner. I’m obsessed with chocolate raisins!

  7. Would love to see you experiment with Quinoa for a GF version of some of your yummies. Quinoa, I’m sure you already know, is an ancient grain that is 79% protein (stand alone) and contains all 9 amino acids. I am in LOVE with the Quinoa GF pasta they sell at HEB in the green box by the other pastas. It’s a great texture and doesn’t require rinsing. They sell the grains too. If you don’t find a Quinoa flour, I’d be curious to see how it works when you mill it at home. Did I tell you our bistro is going to be certified locally and nationally as a GF eatery? Have you ever tried cooking with Teff, the world’s smallest ancient grain? You’re welcome to come help Justin. Tomorrow’s his big cook day for our weekly clients if you want to come help out. 11am to 3pm. It’d be fun! Sooooo exciting.

    • I think you did tell me your bistro was going to be certified GF. And no, I don’t think I’ve ever tried T — is it similar to quin? I wish I could come help, but I am just so busy — literally. With starting my driver’s ed, my life has gone from crazy busy to INSANE! Maybe another time perhaps? I’ve been thinking to using some qunioa in some recipes — maybe for breakfast. If I can convince myself to have something other than my usual oatmeal (I just love oatmeal too much!). 🙂

  8. Just yesterday I was going on and on about how important it is to eat a nutritious breakfast and people rolled their eyes at me but seriously, it is so important! And just as you’ve proved here – breakfast can be so fun and delicious. Now I have to make some babies for myself and somehow resist the urge to eat all six at once.

  9. I love these! Dessert for breakfast is the best way of starting the day 🙂 I usually try to incorporate a protein, fat, carbohydrate and fruit into my breakfast, and I need my breakfast to be sweet.
    Raisins for me, chocolate is great, but a nice plump raisins just make sweet and/or savory meals much much better and more interesting 🙂

  10. I love breakfast food, but not before 10:30 or 11 or so! I’ve found I have to have a little protein in the morning, but too much makes me sick. I used to drink only coffee on school days, but then I started eating again and now I can’t stop or I’ll be SO HUNGRY!

  11. Pingback: I Almost Drove Myself Into A Wall « KatsHealthCorner

  12. Pingback: My Favorite Protein-Rich Breakfast Recipes! « KatsHealthCorner

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

