Balance With Self · chocolate · How do things work in my body? · My Life · peanut butter · vegetarian

Homemade Protein Powder!

Hey my Absolutely AMAZING Chocolate Chip Bananners! 😀

Thanks for all of your comments on my Finger-Lickin’ Peanut Butter Hummus Dip! I have really been enjoying the dip – but I haven’t been really eating it as a dip. I like dipping carrots into it, but right now I am trying to do an orange-detox because my orangeness is not getting any better, especially with getting up to 5 carrots a day (and that’s just CARROTS, not including the other orange foods….), it’s getting a little out-of-hand. This orangeness is not balance, and since that is what I am striving for, I am going to focus on the other colors of the rainbow for a while (since my body apparently has enough vitamin A to last an eternity). Anyways, I’ve been just eating the dip with a spoon. Best way to eat it I think.

Ok, time for some Homemade Protein Powder!

One of my readers reminded me that I had promised to share how I had made my homemade protein powder, which I mentioned in June. Here is how I make it! I grind up a ¼ of a cup of dry roasted soy nuts with a tablespoon of cocoa powder (or carob powder for more sweetness), a dash of cinnamon, and a packet of stevia. I grind it all up in my blender until it is all powdery. It has a nutty kind of flavor that I find works best when combined with oatmeal. I haven’t made that in the longest time, since I buy my own protein powder now, but I make it if I run out. 🙂

What’s been going on in my life?

I had my first driving lesson this morning! We started out in the parking lot practicing my turning the wheel. Then he got me onto a divided highway and then out to some rural roads. We did lights, drove up to speeds of 65 mph (which is pretty high since yesterday when my mom took me out to practice driving, I never left the parking lot and NEVER drove higher than 15 mph; so going from 15 to 65 all at once was actually pretty exhilarating – very scary at first, but now I love it!), went through the neighborhood roads at 30 mph, and practiced turning smoothly. He did save me a few times, but for my first drive, it was fun! He told my mom that I know 80% of what I need to know to be a good driver, and since I never drove before (the week before, when my mom took me to the parking lot for my first practice, was the first time I had ever sat in the driver’s seat and turned the key to even START the ignition), I wouldn’t have any habits to have to break. The things I need to work on include the following: backing up in a straight line, changing lanes (with checking the proper checking mirrors in the right order), and parking straight. So now, I just need to PRACTICE PRACTICE PRACTICE!!!

I went to a dance this last weekend.


And you know that squirrel in the movie Over The Hedge when he gets that caffeine in his system?

Yeah, that was me —

Just I didn’t have the caffeine and I was STILL pinging around like him. I was jumping around and being crazy the entire night. 😀 I had such a great time.


I made dinner! This is the Vanilla Cranberry Quinoa I made! It tasted alright. I’ll have to keep using quinoa is other ways, but I love how easy it was to make in the slow cooker. My family gave it a rating of 2-3 stars.


We had some Split Pea and Lentil Soup (which I made). Now this – THIS was AMAZING!!!!! It was sooooo delicious! My family gave this a 5+ rating! Gosh, I am telling you – the flavor was incredible! I have never had a more delicious split pea and lentil soup in my LIFE! 😀


For my snacks for the past few days, I’ve been having my Finger-Lickin’ Peanut Butter Hummus Dip – eaten with a spoon. 😀 It is a little rich, but very yummy. For you guys who like sweeter desserts, I would definitely say to up the maple syrup and stevia a little bit in this. The sweetness is perfect for me, but if I were serving it to others, I would up it a little.


Another adventure with STEEL CUT OATS! This time, it’s in the form of oatmeal! Chocolate Valentine Oats that is. I really like it with the Peanut Butter on top – without the peanut butter on top, it’s a little bland, but the nut buttah adds a little kick and makes it delicious. So this one: about 4 stars.


On the side I had me some roasted cauliflower and a veggie burger. The savory from the burger and the simply incredibleness of the flavor of the roasted cauliflower– they complement each other SO well! 5 stars here!

Now I’m off to go have a date with the 8lbs of Strawberries I have in the fridge (I love my Daddy). And then I’m babysitting this afternoon, and this evening I have another driving lesson – this will be my first night-time lesson. I’ll have to tell you how it goes!

Ever tried making your own protein powder? I love how high in both protein AND fiber this one is!

Sweet or Savory? Peanut butter, roasted cauliflower, and that veggie burger (which I swear smells like a sausage patty) are making me say SAVORY!

Do you like to use a slow-cooker? I love how you just throw everything into the pot, set the timer, and dinner is served!

xoxox

36 thoughts on “Homemade Protein Powder!

  1. I am so glad to hear you are having a great time with all your activities! Dance sounds like fun and all your meals look very very tasty. I would like to taste that lentil soup, I am still on the search for the pest lentil soup ever 🙂
    I have to say that parking is the only thing I know ho to do. I am the most horrible driver, but I am great at parking and at driving backwards 😀
    I don´t have a slow cooker, so I can´t say if I like it, but I have seen quite a lot of recipes for it and it makes me think I would love it 🙂

  2. Love your eats, and I gotta say you’re freaking amazing to make your own protein powder! Pure genius my friend!! 😀 Good luck at your driving class tonight, with 8 lbs of strawberries in your tummy, I know you’ll do well heehee 🙂

  3. Ahh SO glad you are having fun and living it up!!! You look beautiful!! I wana danceeee! and LOVE sweet AND savory!! mixed! Thats my jam these days. love you sista!

  4. Yay on the driving lesson! I didn’t do very well the first time around (oops), but practice definitely makes perfect. And I’ve never made my own protein powder, but I’m suddenly intrigued.

  5. I’ve never made my own protein powder, but I can’t wait to try it! It sounds so simple and delicious. Not to mention, WAY cheaper than buying sunwarrior.
    Lately, I’ve been craving savory foods more than sweet but it changes all the time! And dessert hummus has been a staple in my diet this week too!

  6. homemade protein powder is such a great idea!!! the storebought stuff is so incredibly expensive, like $30 for a jug! the peanut butter chocolate chip hummus dip and chocolate oatmeal looks delicious, but right now i’m craving something savory, like the risotto that i can SMELL cooking in the next room. have a great weekend!! 🙂

        1. That sounds SO good! i will have to get me a recipe so I ccan try it! Do you think it can be made in a rice cooker? That’s what we use to make rice (my mom got it in her travels all over Asia).

  7. It’s so great that you make your own protein powder! Cool! Aw man….I used to hate having my driving lessons! I just made a passionfruit raw dip…..gonna post it tomorrow. I’m loving the sweet dip theme of recent! 🙂

    1. Not really. And I only use that combo if I’ve run out of the protein powder I buy (like, while I wait for more to come). Yeah, I’ve heard things that are really positive about soy, and others that aren’t — aboutthe estrogenin it and how a lot is GMO. I feel: everything in moderation. Though you’d think I should eat a lot of it, since my body seems not to be making it like it should, or whatever (if you get what I mean).

      1. The truth about soy: 90% of the soy grown in the US is genetically modified. Genetically modified foods have had bacterium that can’t be killed by pesticides spliced into the cells of the soy plant. This makes the new GM soy plant survive despite being sprayed directly with Round-up (yes, the same chemical people use to kill weeds in their garden is being sprayed directly on your soy, at concentration levels several times higher than what is used directly to kill weeds, because the GM soy plants have been modified to survive the pesticide.) After being educated about this, I now ONLY eat organic, non-GM soy and avoid breads & cereal items being touted as high fiber, as often it is GM soy added to many of these items that increases the fiber.

        Soy has a natural estrogen. Certain people who need to eliminate estrogen from their diet (ie cancer patients whose tumors may grow when exposed to estrogen) are the most likely persons who need to avoid estrogen in soy. Some claim soy estrogen is bad for anyone, but I think the above paragraph is what we all need to be concerned about.

  8. i LOVE using the slow cooker! it doesn’t take too much effort and it’s so easy so it’s perfect for days when i dont feel like making dinner all afternoon!
    girl it is amazing that you make your own protein powder! saves a lotta $, and plus its so creative and awesome!

  9. The soup sounds great! I just love soups at this time of the year! So comfy and warming!
    Ive never heard about home made protein powder before! That is so cool! And a great idea to use soynuts too!

    1. Hey Anastasia!
      A slow cooker is a cooking method which requires maintaining a relatively low temperature compared to other cooking methods (such as baking, boiling, and frying) for many hours ,allowing unattended cooking. So you can throw it all together in the morning before work or school, and come home and dinner is already all done! 😀

  10. That homemade protein powder is such a good idea! I love munching on roasted soynuts straight up as well. I’m glad you enjoyed driving!! I was so bad at it when I first did my lessons, but once I got my license and started driving on my own I figured things out.

  11. I am intrigued by your homemade protein powder!!!

    Congrats on the driving lesson! That is such an exciting time in a young person’s life! Enjoy every minute!

    I LOVE using my crockpot! I have an entire page on my blog dedicated to it!! It sure helps me out when we are working and then working out afterwards!

  12. Wow…driving lessons. I just got a message saying with my 25th birthday coming up that my car insurance will be lowered. This all makes me feel old.

    Work on parellel parking-it’s a skill not many have!

  13. You look so cute! That hummus looks so good. I am going to make it soon. Your food always looks good I’m like I need her to come cook for me.

  14. That’s crazy inventive – making your own protein powder! I “make” my own protein “powder” by… Uh, getting out the eggs? Yeah, okay, those aren’t powder but… they are protein and I love mixing them with a whole mess of stuff because they really adopt any flavor you give them! I am especially obsessed with roasted butternut squash and eggs! Oh yum in my tum!

Comments

