chocolate · Goodies · vegan · vegetarian

Chocolate Covered Cherry Milkshake!

Hey My Chocolate Covered Cherries!

Thanks for all of your comments on The Vegan Slow Cooker. I am really enjoying it and it sounds like you guys want to make some of that pizza. Maybe you’ll get toโ€ฆ ๐Ÿ˜€

Do you know what I have been loving recently?

Milkshakes.

Not just any kind of milkshakes—

CHOCOLATE-COVERED CHERRY milkshakes!!!

They are just to die for! ๐Ÿ˜€

Measure out your chocolate non-dairy milk.

Add the frozen cherries and frozen banana chunks. This is how full my 1-cup measure was โ€“ hehe, I like cherries! Especially when they are frozen and already pitted!

Then add the vanilla extract, cocoa powder, and stevia.

Make sure your blender is all set up, then press GO!

At this point, there are three possibilities: whether having a milkshake, a smoothie, or a bowl of ice cream. If you want the consistency of a milkshake, keep blending until smooth and liquidyย โ€“ if needed, you can pour a little more chocolate non-dairy milk in at a time until you reach the right consistency (you may have to add a little more stevia depending on the amount of milk you add extra). If you want a smoothie, blend until thick and almost a liquid. Or if you want ice cream, just blend until all combined โ€“ it starts out looking like ice cream โ€“ and thick and creamy like it โ€“ and the more you blend, the more like a milkshake it becomes.

Once you reach the right consistency, pour into a glass, top with handful(s) cacao nibs and shredded coconut, and serve!

Chocolate Covered Cherry Milkshake!

RAW*, Gluten-Free, Soy-Free, Sugar-Free, Single Serving!

  • 1 cup chocolate non-dairy milk (I used unsweetened chocolate almond)
  • 1 cup frozen cherries (I used black sweet cherries)
  • 1 frozen banana, cut into chunks
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 Tbsp cocoa powder (also could use carob powder or chocolate protein powder)
  • Optional: 2 pkts stevia
  • Top with handful(s) of raw cacao nibs and finely shredded coconut

Directions

Measure out your chocolate non-dairy milk. Add the frozen cherries, frozen banana chunks, vanilla extract, cocoa powder, and stevia. Make sure your blender is all set up, then press GO!

At this point, there are three possibilities: whether having a milkshake, a smoothie, or a bowl of ice cream. If you want the consistency of a milkshake, keep blending until smooth and liquidyย โ€“ if needed, you can pour a little more chocolate non-dairy milk in at a time until you reach the right consistency (you may have to add a little more stevia depending on the amount of milk you add extra). If you want a smoothie, blend until thick and almost a liquid. Or if you want ice cream, just blend until all combined โ€“ it starts out looking like ice cream โ€“ and thick and creamy like it โ€“ and the more you blend, the more like a milkshake it becomes.

Once you reach the right consistency, pour into a glass, top with handful(s) cocoa nibs and shredded coconut, and serve!

You can also just use regular milk/non-dairy milkย (like plain or vanilla)ย —ย just add about a tsp or so of cocoa powder/carob powder, or just add some chocolate syrup! To make completely raw: in place of the chocolate almond milk, make your own homemade raw almond milk and add some cacao powder to it; use cacao powder in place of the cocoa powder; and use raw agave syrup in place of the stevia if desired.

Makes 2 cups worth.

printer-friendly version

Note: Try adding a couple bunches of Kale to make this a Sneaky-chef recipe! ๐Ÿ˜€

Now, grab your spoon.

And EAT IT UP!!!! Chocolate and Cherries are the perfect combination — especially in a shake.

Do you like cherries? I love cherries, just not the cherry jam โ€“ it tastes like medicine!

Do you like chocolate?ย Uhhh YES! Though carob is good too.

How do you view white table sugar? I just try to focus on more natural forms of sugar and limit that white stuff. It’s not that it’s bad (I try not to label foods “bad”), but it’s not very good for you either. AND, you can have delicious chocolate cherry milkshakes without it anyways!

xoxox

42 thoughts on “Chocolate Covered Cherry Milkshake!

  1. I LOVE cherries but, for some reason, I never think to add them to my smoothies or shakes. This sounds so delicious. I can’t wait to try it!
    I feel the same way about white table sugar. I don’t like labeling any foods as “good” or “bad”, but I do try to limit my intake on certain things- white sugar being one of them. Stevia is definitely my sweetener of choice. (:

  2. I need to fint frozen cherries- this looks so so good! Cherries and chocolate really are the perfect combo, although anything goes with chocolate ๐Ÿ˜€
    I havent eaten white sugar in years really! Since I make all my food, it is easy to just use any other kind of sweetner, and there is so many good out there! My favorits are yacon, honey and maple!
    However, I love you attitude towards it! We shouldnt lable food as good or bad!

  3. Sounds marvellous! Cherries are one of my fave types of fruit, and chocolate is amazing, without any questions ๐Ÿ˜€ So together it makes the best combination ๐Ÿ™‚
    I never use white table sugar, but if someone likes it, I see no problem in it. I just donยดt like the taste and I donยดt need my meals to be that sweet ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Hey Cuz! Thought I would have seen you today at the Green Smoothie Girl lecture today. It was awesome! Got some neat products I think you might want to try in your shakes. She had: SunWarrior brand Raw Vegan Protein made from sprouted brown rice (gluten free); Ormus supergreens (best tasting green powder I’ve ever found); and Liquid Light, Natural Fulvic Acid Mineral Complex. All very enjoyable additions. Number one comment I’ve gotten since we started making real fruit and veggie smoothies at the bistro is how full people feel after they drink one. I was making them with almond milk, kale, spinach, strawberries, blueberries or mango frozen chunks, 1/2 an apple and a smidge of stevia if they prefer a sweeter taste. We’ve been making our own applesauce out of apples and cinnamon also! Found three new restaurants (new to me anyway) that are raw food friendly you may want to check out. Very affordable and tasty! Call me if you want locations and such!

    1. I heard that the Green Smoothie Girl was coming down here! I REALLY wanted to go — you’ll have to tell me all about it. ๐Ÿ˜€ I totally forgot about it — life has been a madhouse for me recently….. Ooooohhhh, I’d LOVE to try that Sun Warrior protein powder — I have been DYING to try that. ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. I just bookmarked this!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I love milkshakes with all of my heart. I don’t see white sugar as “bad”, actually it’s the only way to make meringues! I do try though to use honey, agave, or stevia for non-dessert meals. When I’m making something sweetened without fruit, I don’t like the aftertaste that using all stevia gives me. For example, I either sweeten chocolate oatmeal with cooked banana and stevia or with agave and stevia. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I love bananas in oatmeal! The sweetness is perfect! ๐Ÿ˜€ I agree with you — you can’t use stevia to sweeten everything: their are certain sweeteners that work best in different things, but when stevia works I use it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. sounds good! i am a hugeeee cherry fan ๐Ÿ™‚ i love adding them to smoothies so i will have to try this recipe out. and do i like chocolate? heck yes! i am actually eating some right now ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I hate cherry-flavored things (think cherry cola, swedish fish, etc), but I love “real” cherries. Can’t wait to try this!

  8. Oh my goodness! This just screams ‘Cadbury Cherry Ripe’ bar to me ๐Ÿ˜€ I might have to use fresh cherries, I’ve never seen frozen here in Australia ๐Ÿ˜€ Guess what I’m buying at the fruit and veg shop today?!?

Comments

