peanut butter · vegan · vegetarian

Homemade Banana Chips!

Hey My ABSOLUTELY AMAZING READERS!

Kathy Hester had not only sent me a copy to review, but also a copy to giveaway. Monday’s post was all about this. The giveaway is open to those in the United States, the United Kingdom, and any other place in the world, like Spain, Mexico, etc! 😀 The giveaway closes at 11:59pm CST tonight, so make sure you enter! Also, thanks for all of your comments on the first two questions – those really mean a lot to me.

Guess what I made?

Homemade Banana Chips!

I love them so much, I thought I would save a trip to the store and make some myself. 😀

Here’s how you make them!


Take a very freckled banana or two,


Peel them, and then cut them into 1/8 inch slices.


Lay the slices (I used 2 bananas worth) on a sprayed cookie sheet and bake in the oven at 200 degrees F (93 degrees C) for 2-3 hours, or until golden brown.


Transfer to a cooling rack to cool.

They don’t look like the Banana Chips you can buy in the store, but I love how you can visually see the natural third’s of the banana. 😀 These are unsweetened and are SUPER SWEET TREATS! They don’t get very hard like the ones you can buy, but I don’t mind.

While we’re talking about bananas….


Here are some of my eats as of recently!


Are you surprised? Haha, probably not. A frozen bananner with peanut butter!


Roasted Broccoli, Carrots, and Cauliflower. I just spray olive oil and toss with some salt and pepper, then roast them in the oven at 450 degrees F (232 degrees C) for 20-25 minutes.


Another frozen bananner with peanut buttah!


Whole wheat pasta with a ton of broccoli and veggie pasta sauce.


A sandwich thin with lots of cinnamon raisin walnut buttah and pomegranate cherry jam, a morningstar chick’n breast patty, and a deliciously juicy orange on the side. I also had another sandwich thin with jam (which is unpictured).


Yet another frozen bananner with nut buttah. (Can you see my bag of frozen bananners? I have another one in the freezer too! :D)


Vegetarian Chili – I love this stuff.


For breakfast this morning I had oatmeal with cinnamon, a chopped apple, vanilla protein powder, and a big ole’ scoop of cinnamon raisin walnut buttah (minus the raisins). And yes, that is the Bakery Shop App on the ipad in the corner of that picture. I am hooked to that game.

Have you ever made your own Banana Chips? I love how easy they are to make!

Favorite food pictured? I’m loving the last one – the lighting is very nice for so early in the morning.

Have you entered the Vegan Slow Cooker Giveaway I’m hosting? YOU WANT TO!

xoxox

46 thoughts on “Homemade Banana Chips!

  1. Haha, so many bananas in one post 😀 I like all your meals,roasted veggies, pasta or vegetarian chilli – those all look so good to me 🙂
    I like banana chips. Have you ever tried making your own kiwi chips? It may sound weird, but they are really delicious!

      1. It is veryy simple, but needs some time. You just slice kiwis thinly (ot you can leave them a bit thicker, but then they can stay a little soft and juicy in the middle), put them on a cookie sheet (I use a baking paper to avoid using excessive oil, but oil will work too) and put it into the oven. You have to bake it on a very low, like 100 degrees Celsius, until they are nice and crispy. They make a great snack or oatmeal topping and you can also try to cover them in chocolate!

  2. Wow Kat! I love banana chips from the store but never really thought of possibly making them myself. I bet this would work with plantains too 🙂

      1. hm I didn’t know that! Yeah, I actually prefer plantain chips to banana chips. You’ll have to give em a shot!

  3. Ive never made banana chips before, and Im surprided it is this simple!
    Wee, Im loving your eats 🙂 All those nutbutter covered bananas makes me happy 🙂 And pomegranate cherry jam sounds absolutely delicious!!

  4. I never knew you could make banana chips without a dehydrator – but it’s good news cuz I love’m.

    And that oatmeal has stolen my heart – at least I now know what I’m eating for breakfast tomorrow 😉

  5. When I first saw this post, I thought you meant like chocolate chips but banana flavored.. kinda like how there are cinnamon chips and peanut butter chips, but you made banana chips. How cool would that be?! I’m still excited to see this, because I’ve never made this kind either! They are sooo good in granola or with cereal.

    1. Haha, now Banana-Flavored Chocolate Chips would be INCREDIBLE!!!:D Maybe use white chocolate and some banana-flavored extract (stuff kind of like vanilla extract, just banana) — that might work. 🙂

  6. I LOVE banana chips! I used to pick them out of my trail mix, then I started buying them alone, and now you can bet I’ll be making my own!
    I’m addicted to roasted veggies right now. I just season mine with salt & pepper as well- that’s all they need! All of your food looks delicious, as always. (:

  7. yum! My mom used to make banana chips all the time when I was little! I was in love with them. (and still am!) All of your eats look fantabulous!

  8. hi…OMG. I love banana chips!! I remember we have lots of this on my country(philippines), haven’t try this on my blog…I will definitely try this and will let you know….thank you for posting!!!

  9. I love banana chips, thanks for the recipe!! And frozen banana with peanut butter???! Omg, amazing! Do you like frozen chocolate covered banana? Those are great too! 🙂

Comments

