Balance With Self · My Life

My Declaration of Independence from My Obsession with Perfection

Obsession, it’s war.

I am sick about being consumed by this obsession with being perfect.

I want to be free from this burden I carry. I want to let it go. I want to have a balance. I want to be happy.

This is My Declaration.

  • I will choose to resist society’s pressures to judge myself by body weight, shape, or size — A number won’t determine my happiness.
  • I will treat my body with respect, giving it enough rest, fueling it with a variety of foods, exercising it moderately, and listening to what it needs.
  • I will accept my body in its natural shape and size.
  • I will celebrate all that my body can do for me each day.
  • I will refuse to deny my body of valuable nutrients by restricting or dieting.
  • I will not associate guilt or shame with eating certain foods. Instead, I will nourish my body with a balance of foods, listening and responding to what it needs.
  • I will avoid categorizing foods as either “good” or “bad.” I will recognize that enjoying a regular-sized bowl of ice cream or a regular-sized cookie once in a while will not kill me. There aren’t “bad foods” – there are just foods that are good for you and some that are not as good for you.
  • I will remember that I am a daughter of a loving Heavenly Father who knows me by name. I will remember that I am of noble-birthright, a daughter of a King, and have the potential to become just like Him. I will remember that my divine nature and individual worth come from within — my self-esteem and identity come from within!

balance

Along the path of finding balance with myself, I have had to realize that perfection isn’t everything. The healing truths that have helped me get to where I am now are:

  • I don’t need to have a perfect diet to have a good diet.
  • My body is hungry; that means it has burned off what I fed it, and it now needs more fuel. Hunger is simply a request for fuel.
  • I need to be more flexible. One meal is not going to change my life forever.
  • My body is stronger when I fuel it better, and by doing so, I become a better sister, a better friend, and a better leader.
  • Starving my body of the fuel it needs will not solve my problems.
  • Being happy and healthy is more important than any number on a scale.
  • I have a choice: Do I want to be a person with disordered eating or a person who lives her life with balance?
  • Everything will work out OK. I just need to keep focused on the big picture–I need to be healthy: not obsessed, but balanced.

balance

I want to be kind to this precious gift God has given me. I want to live a life doing good. Balance is what I want, not obsession.

What is your declaration?

xoxox,

P.S. My declaration is based on the one from http://www.nationaleatingdisorders.org and the healing truths first came from Nancy Clarks’s Sports Nutrition Guidebook; but both Kat-erized. πŸ˜‰

44 thoughts on “My Declaration of Independence from My Obsession with Perfection

  1. This post is pure awesomeness! I wish more people would have your mentality, I hate what society has done to us. You’re so right, the only perfection is with God and I’m proud to stand with you on this road to being like Him πŸ™‚
    Thanks for sharing–such a great way to start the week!

    1. I am so grateful for everything that my Heavenly Father has done for me. He has never let me down. I know that through Him, weak things can become strong unto me — He can make them a strength. I don’t know where I would be without Him and I am so grateful to Him for always being there for me. .

  2. wonderful, beautiful post! i think we all struggle – whether it be a little or a lot- with “perfections” and “obsessions” as you say. we can just take each day one by one and try our best to be as balanced and healthy as possible. thanks kat for the inspiration!

  3. Beautiful post Kat. My husband taught me, “Perfection is the enemy of the good.” It’s actually something his boss used to say in a manufacturing company, but it applies to all things in life, I find. Just consider yourself very lucky that you are realizing all of these truths now, when you are still young. Many women suffer terribly for much longer!

  4. AMEN to all of this!! Girl Im so so proud of you for this!! I seriously wish I was more like you at your age. I was a hot mess lol You are such a good example for girls your age (and even grown women!!). Keep it up lady πŸ™‚

  5. Great post! Sure some foods are less wholesome but that doesn’t mean they’re even bad for you in my eyes. If a cookie a week keeps you feeling happy and balanced then its not bad for you at all.

  6. You. Are. Awesome. Such a good role model right hurrr.
    I declare that I will be okay with resting in order to let my body heal. I will be okay with eating more because my body needs it, especially my bones. I declare that I will come back the best runner that I can be!

  7. I love the third last part of the declaration about not feeling guilty about certain foods. It took me a while to get over that and now I’m so much happier! Eating out used to mean scanning the menu for something that sounded low fat. Nowadays when I go to a restaurant I treat myself (I dont eat out very often anyways) and dont feel guilty because, it’s just. one. meal. Great post!! πŸ™‚

    1. I don’t eat out much either! Haha, we have so much alike. πŸ™‚ It’s taken me a long time to get over the restraunt situation too (I used to make it a complete nightmare). I just have to watch for the dairy and listen to what my body says — then I find it’s so much easier to handle restraunts than what I used to make it.

  8. This is an amazing post, girl. I struggle with constantly striving for “perfection” and it’s exhausting! I can relate to everything you’re feeling %100. Just take it one day at a time and stay positive. You are amazing, talented and unique- embrace that! I’m slowly learning that being perfect is boring, anyways. πŸ™‚

  9. Love this post. My favorite is “I will accept my body in its natural shape and size.” It’s hard to accept sometimes that I’m just never going to look like a Victorias Secret Angel. But I love my body anyway πŸ™‚ It can do some pretty amazing things πŸ™‚

  10. This is such an amazing post! Thank you for sharing yourself like this! I’ve definitely gotten to the point where I am accepting me for me. I will not be judged by others and I will be happy with me, knowing that I do the best that I can.

  11. Very well said Kathleen! I can’t even tell you how much I love this post πŸ™‚ I agree with everything 100%. I need to remind myself of these things more often. God has created us in His image and His love means more than any desire to reach perfection.

Comments

