Pumpkin Spiced Almond Butter!

Hey my Pumpkin Pies!

Thanks for all of your comments on my last post. You guys are the best. I’m glad that so many of you saw the face in my pumpkin pie – I love seeing what shapes my pie comes out with every time I make it. Also, thanks for all of your comments on my views of dating and for all of your thoughts on it too!

This is right in time for the holidays.

I thought I had met true love when I tasted this.

And then I made this

Pumpkin Spiced Almond Butter!

…And all of that changed. 🙂

Lay almonds on a dry baking sheet and toast in the oven at 400 degrees F for 8-10 minutes or until fragrant. (*SKIP THIS PART IF YOU WANT A RAW NUT BUTTER.) Let the nuts cool on the baking sheet for about 30 minutes or until cool to the touch.

Add almonds to the blender/food processor.

Turn machine on high and process

until all the almonds are a fine mill.


Add the salt and spices, and start the blender again. Stream in the coconut oil a tablespoon at a time as it processes.


You may need to scrape the sides a few times to help the process.

Have patience with it, as it may take some time.


Once smooth and creamy, pour into a glass container and store in the fridge. This never lasts me more than a week, as I eat it too fast to ever know – so I can’t say for how long it will actually last in the fridge. I’m sure you’ll find the same thing. 🙂


Pumpkin Spiced Almond Butter!

Vegan, Gluten-Free, *Raw, Sugar-Free, Soy-Free

Ingredients

  • 3 cups almonds
  • up to 3 tbsp coconut oil
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 ½  tsp ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/8 tsp ground nutmeg

Directions

Lay almonds on a dry baking sheet and toast in the oven at 400 degrees F for 8-10 minutes or until fragrant. (*SKIP THIS PART IF YOU WANT A RAW NUT BUTTER.) Let the nuts cool on the baking sheet for about 30 minutes or until cool to the touch.

Pour the nuts into blender and process on high until the nuts are a fine mill. Add the salt and spices, and start the blender again. Stream the coconut oil in as it processes. You may need to scrape the sides a few times to help the process. Once smooth and creamy, pour into a glass container and store in the fridge. This never lasts me more than a week – I eat it too fast – so I can’t say for how long it will actually last in the fridge, and I’m sure you’ll find the same thing. 🙂

printer-friendly version

In my opinion, the best way to eat it is STRAIGHT FROM THE SPOON!!! Seriously! It tastes AND smells like pumpkin pie but without all of the sugar. Pumpkin Pie — as nut butter. Who could ask for more?! 😀

Favorite nut/seed to make into nut butter? I really like using walnuts because they don’t take long to make into nut butter. Almonds are another one of my favorites.

When do you put up the Christmas tree? We haven’t put up ours yet. Although, I don’t know if we’ll put one up this year, especially since my cat likes to eat our Christmas trees… Maybe we can at least put up our two little trees and keep them out of his reach! 🙂

Would you like me to share with you my Baked Pumpkin Pie Pudding and my Pumpkin Pie Smoothie? I absolutely adore them, but I know it’s past Thanksgiving….What do you think?

xoxox,

30 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spiced Almond Butter!

  1. this looks and sounds AMAZING!! I wish i had a good blender/food processor to make nut butter but mine just can’t handle it – last time I tried to make one of your recipes but my blender didn’t like me and i ended up with a nut half butterish log! it was still really yummy though, haha.

    maybe for christmas i will get a new blender or food processor and then i am going to go crazy and make all your nut butter recipes! 😉

    • I find that my nut butter gets thick like a log if I make a batch that is too large for it (like using 4 cups of nuts at one time in my blender). Like, it becomes more fudge-like than nut-butter-like; nevertheless, it still tastes amazing! 🙂 Sometimes, it works better if I halve the recipe — lets my blender blend them all up without overwhelming it, and then I get my nut buttah all creamy like! 🙂 Maybe that would work better for your blender.

      ________________________________

  2. Once again, you are a GENIUS.
    I’m making this asap- like tomorrow! 🙂
    We haven’t put up our tree yet either. My dad’s birthday is next week and my family usually decorates on or around his birthday. I’ll be decorating my apartment in the next few days though! I can’t wait.
    And, of course, I would love for you to share any pumpkin recipes you have! They’re always amazing.

  3. Sharing your pumpkin recipes is perfectly fine with me. I don’t know why people think pumpkin can only be during thanksgiving – it’s a year round thing for me! This almond butter sounds really good. I’d love to try it with pecans too!

    • Agreed!:D YAY FOR PUMPKIN LOVERS! I love pumpkin all year round, too. Though, I must say — even though I REALLY love Thanksgiving, it doesn’t really help me with my orangeness…..

      ________________________________

    • I’m sure that would work! I’d probably use about 1/8 tsp of pumpkin pie spice, depending of the serving of nut butter you use. Or you can just stir in about 2 tsps (or to taste) of the pumpkin spice into your almond butter. If you try it out, I’d love to hear about it! 🙂

      ________________________________

  4. This looks so good! I still have never made my own nut butter, and I don’t know why! We normally put up our tree the day after thanksgiving, but this year we were out of town, and still haven’t gotten around to it. : / And my favorite nut butter would have to be almond!

    • I’m crossing my fingers for you, too! I don’t know what I would do without my BlendTec… From what I hear from my mom, I won’t be taking it to college with me. 😦 It’s going to be hard without my blendy-baby. We got a smaller blender for me to take up to college, but it’s still not the same.

      ________________________________

  5. Pingback: I Am a Writing-In-The-Margins Kind of Gal « KatsHealthCorner

  6. Pingback: What Kat Ate #3 « KatsHealthCorner

  7. Pingback: A Shootin’ Good ’n natural Day. « KatsHealthCorner

  8. Pingback: AP Results! + What Kat Ate #13: The Cake & Ice Cream Edition! « KatsHealthCorner

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

