Goodies · Health And Nutrition · My Life

I Am a Writing-In-The-Margins Kind of Gal

Hey my Lords and Ladies!

Thanks for all of you comments on my last post, which was on my Pumpkin-Spiced Almond Butter! I am so grateful for each and every one of you. You guys are so INCREDIBLE! Also, here’s a list of a few recipes coming up: Raw Cookies N’ Cream Milkshake, Baked Pumpkin Pie Pudding (can also be used as pumpkin pie if use a crust), Pumpkin Pie Smoothie, Sun Butter, Kale Chips, Sweet Potato Wedges, Homemade Vegetarian Burgers, etc! I’m also thinking of a homemade Italian Dressing….

Now for some Blog-Linketty-Love!

(Here are some of the foods I have tried recently.)

Alex’s Grain-Free Pumpkin Pancakes! I found that these weren’t sweet (which I really like). They are a little hard to make, but worthwhile! πŸ™‚ I topped mine with some walnut butter – yum!

Katie’s Double Chocolate Brownie Batter Pancakes. And let me say, these are perfect for ANY chocolate lover. They. Are. Deadly.

April’s Protein Cake – I love how you can bake these in a mug and they get all puffed up! One thing I do is spray the inside of the mug with a little non-stick cooking spray and then mix the batter up in a separate bowl, adding the batter to the mug afterwards – and they come out perfectly! πŸ™‚

Raw Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough. These are gluten-free too! Sugar free! Soy free! These are just so good all around. They don’t taste like regular cookie dough, but they won me over from first bite.

Tara’s Oatmeal Raisin Cashew Butter. I was all out of cashews, but I had some walnuts, so I used them in place of the cashews and it worked! It worked so well that I didn’t even have to add the oil to it! Awww, I love nut butter. πŸ™‚

Can you believe I have never had Chia Pudding before?! I finally got up the courage to try it and her recipe was the place I went to. I am sold. It is so easy to put together (and you can also consider it a “science experiment,” as you can watch the seeds suck in the liquid and have the batter become super thick! The power of the chia can really be seen here, as this batter was at first the consistency of water.

Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum! πŸ™‚

Jamie awarded me with the Versatile Blogger Award. Versatile – that goes along with trying new things! πŸ™‚

Here are 7 things you might not know about me:

  1. I have never broken a bone. I’ve pulled a muscle, maybe even sprained an ankle (MAYBE, I’m not quite sure), but I’ve never broken a bone.
  2. I love watching health documentaries. Some of the documentaries I have seen are Food Matters; Food Inc.; Super Size Me; Fat, Sick, & Nearly Dead; Ingredients; just to name a few.
  3. My mom has an iPad and I ADORE playing the Bakery Shop game on there. πŸ™‚
  4. I love bowling. Not that I’m the best at it – but I really have fun going to the bowling alley.
  5. I’ve always wanted to be a cake decorator. I jump at every opportunity I get! But I not only love decorating cakes, but cookies, gingerbread house, and cupcakes too! πŸ˜€
  6. Along with bones, I’ve never had braces. My sister has had to have braces twice now (she had them when she was younger, but then her teeth shifted, so she had to have them again).
  7. I write in my books and take notes on everything I read, watch, or listen to! I mark my scriptures (highlighting certain verses, writing notes in the margin, scripture chains, etc), in my books for school (my mom made me annotate The Scarlet Letter and now, I can’t read a novel WITHOUT annotating; I feel like I have no freedom if I CAN’T write in it; I connect more with the story, it becomes mine in a way, it means more to me), when I listen to talks, read articles, watch documentaries, etc! I am like a note-taking writing-in-the margin machine! πŸ™‚

And I’m passing this on to some of the new blogs I’ve found!

Jillian @ Sprinkle Massacre

Kara @ Blondie Bakes and Bikes

Lyn @ Fueled By Salad

Kelli & Jenn @ Sprout New Roots

Pigs, Cows, Chickens – Oh My. — she’s striving to become vegan

As Dreams Become Reality

Butternut For Breakfast

Right now, I’ve been striving to reach out and try new things, do some things I’ve been meaning to do but haven’t done yet. For instance, I made Kale Chips yesterday. I’ve started reading Around The World In 80 Days again (I had started it before – like, years ago, but I’ve never finished it). I also just tried another one of Jillian’s Workout DVDs yesterday afternoon– the Yoga Meltdown one. I love Jillian’s circuit training workouts (like her No More Trouble Zones and Boost Metabolism workouts), and I like how she made yoga more dynamic-stretching movements into this yoga workout, but I must say, it wasn’t my favorite. She goes really quickly into poses, and I felt that she didn’t explain some of them enough – I had to watch and try to do what I saw. It also didn’t work me the way her other two DVD’s do. That is one thing I love about Netflix – I can try out a workout before I buy it to see if I like it, and if I do like it I’ll buy it!

What health documentaries have you seen? Do you have a favorite? One that struck you the most? The first four I mentioned are the ones that struck out to me the most. The Importance of Vitamins. The Importance of Knowing where your foods comes from. The Importance of eating a well-balanced diet (not just fast-food). The value of GREENS in the diet.

Any new foods you’ve tried recently? I made Kale Chips yesterday!!! πŸ™‚ I can show you how if you’d like.

Is it hard for you to try new things? I find that it’s just about getting over “that hill,” and then the rest is a little easier. I sometimes just don’t get around to it – I want to do it, but have to get myself over that and actually DO IT; and then I seem to like it. Like trying a new vegetable, a new schedule, reading a different kind of book, etc. My mom actually had to FORCE me to read Pride and Prejudice, and now – it’s my favorite book EVER! πŸ˜€ Darcy, awwww.

with lots of love,

45 thoughts on “I Am a Writing-In-The-Margins Kind of Gal

  1. I like Yoga meltdown, it is one of my favorite workout dvdΒ΄s.
    For me trying new things is always exciting and a welcome opportunity to step outside my comfort zone and learn something new, so I like it πŸ™‚
    I also write into books and write about books, so I donΒ΄t forget anything I have read πŸ™‚

    1. I guess the part that really threw me was not being able to do the crow. I had no idea what HOW to do it! I was SO confused. I’m really glad that you like it. πŸ™‚ Is there any pose that’s your favorite? I like the goddess one.

       

      ________________________________

      1. DonΒ΄t worry, it took me more than a year til I was able to do the crow pose πŸ˜€ I almost crashed my head a couple of times!
        The goddess pose is great! I also like the pigeon pose (I know it is a stretching move, but it feels so nice) and the dolphin (however I hated this one when I started with the dvd). I think I like the moves in level 2 more than those in level 1…

        1. Oh, good! (haha, not that it took so long, but I thought I was like an outcast because I couldn’t do the crow pose. :/ ) You’ve given me hope. πŸ™‚

           

          ________________________________

  2. Aw, thank you so much for awarding me with the Versatile Blogger Award! You’re so sweet. I can’t wait to share 7 things you guys may not know about me on my blog.
    I’ve been really focusing on trying new things recently as well. Stepping outside of my comfort zone can be scary but the results are so liberating. Keep it up, girl!
    I can’t wait for all of your upcoming recipes. I’ve loved every single recipe of yours that I’ve tried and I’m so excited because I’m getting a crock pot for Christmas so I’ll finally be able to try some of your slow cooker meals!
    Have you seen “Food Inc.” and “Forks Over Knives”? They’re both really interesting documentaries about food and the American diet. I definitely recommend them!

    1. Awww, you just made my day. πŸ™‚

      Oh, yes, I HAVE seen Forks Over Knives and Food Inc. I think I mentioned Food Inc, but I totally forgot about the other one!

       

      ________________________________

  3. Thanks for passing on the Versatile Blogger Award!! I’ll be doing the 7 facts in my next post. πŸ˜‰ Can’t wait for all the recipes – seems like you’ve been making a lot of delicious stuff.

    I like routine, ’cause it gives me security, but I get bored easily – so yep, I guess it’s quite easy for me to try new things, but I’ve got to have old stuff in my life that I’m ‘comfortable’ with as well. A new food I’ve tried is dried mushrooms. Well, not exactly new, but I tried cooking them for the first time! And they taste just as good as fresh, but are so much cheaper and keep for a lot longer.

    1. I’m just like you — I like to try new things, but I’m also very satisfied with the old stuff in my life. I still love my oatmeal in the morning and I have it practically EVERY morning, but I still like to throw in something different for breakfast ever now and then. Sometimes I’ll have pancakes for a couple of mornings straight, but I always seem to gravitate right back to my oatmeal afterwards…

       

      ________________________________

  4. Wow Tara’s nut butter sounds amazing, gotta try that!! And holy cow, you’ve never had braces?? Your teeth are so straight and gorgeous!
    Hope your weekend is amazing πŸ™‚

  5. I’m so glad you liked the oatmeal raisin cashew/walnut butter!! I love that you were able to make it without the added oil. It makes sense because walnuts have a litle more natural fat than cashews. I’ll have to try it! I’ve tried the CCK chocolate pancakes – they are sooo good!!

    My Dad and brother have iPads. It’s really nice to have when we’re on vacation or long car rides so that I can read blogs πŸ™‚

    1. For some reason, we only get Internet at home (with the wireless), so I can’t read blogs in the car. Even if I could, I’d get carsick and that wouldn’t be fun. So instead of using the iPad, we boom Disney songs all the way up throughout the car ride, which keeps me bouncing and singing and being silly all the way up. πŸ™‚

       

      ________________________________

  6. Glad you liked the pancakes πŸ˜€

    And I love to try new things….sometimes it is challenging to start, and a little overwhelming, but I think the challenge makes it fun!

  7. I just tried Alex’s pumpkin pancakes today for breakfast after I saw your post! However I did not want to open up a whole can of pumpkin so instead I used applesauce and doubled the flour to make up for the extra moisture. DELICIOUS!

    1. You should try the chia pudding. Some other things you could try include using them in overnight oats, as an egg replacer, etc! There are so many different ways to use chia seeds! Just look up chia seed recipes and you’ll find some amazing eats!:D

      ________________________________

  8. Haha I love that bakery shop game!!

    Your gluten free eats are always the best I swear!! I can’t wait until I’m done with this stupid detox and I can start eating like you again…

  9. Oh it’s a bummer you don’t love the yoga meltdown because that is actually my favorite DVD from her! Level two is my favorite! You get the hang of it after a few tries and it is a blast!

  10. Well you really love your pancakes!!! Haha I’m with you on that one, I need to make some soon. πŸ™‚ Congratulations on the blogger award. I haven’t ever broken a bone either! It’s weird though because one of my fingers and also one of my collarbones are a little bit lumpy so I think they were broken before I was born and healed! I honestly wish I could watch health food documentaries but they are just so disgusting! I saw super size me and nearly puked.

    1. Haha, Super Size Me is probably the most gross one I’ve seen. Food Inc. shows how companies treat animals — that one is one I’ll NEVER forget. Have you ever seen Food Matters? That one is really good and VERY informative — I would totally recommend it (it’s not disturbing like the other two can be). πŸ™‚

      ________________________________

  11. Oh gosh it all looks amazing!! I can’t wait for your upcoming recipes, they always look so delicious!
    Oh and pride and prejudice is amazing πŸ™‚

  12. lol… chia pudding is definitely a science experiment. I just love the stuff… there’s so much you can do with it. Try mixing in a little coconut flour… I love the flavor and the texture!
    Thanks for linking up my recipes love ❀
    I can't wait to try the other recipes you posted!!

  13. Ugh I love link sharing. These recipes look good so I bookmarked them. Hopefully when I finally finish with finals that I will be able to cook some crazy masterpieces in the kitchen.

  14. Loved this post! I love people who write in margins but still can’t quite make myself do it most of the time πŸ™‚ Kale chips were probably my biggest fail in the kitchen, probably because I had them so hyped up in my head! Hope you enjoyed yours though πŸ™‚

Comments