What Kat Ate #3

Hello My Lovelies!

Thanks for all of your comments on my last post! You guys are a blessing in my life. My life is going in all different ways right now, but going through this has helped me to prioritize my time, to tune into myself, to find what matters the most to me. Thank you for all of your love and support – it has really helped me through this!

I feel that some of my other posts of where I show what I eat don’t illustrate a very balanced diet. I tend to picture a lot of oatmeal, bananas, nut butter, etc – but that’s not the ONLY thing I eat.

I want show a more close-to-fact version. So here’s another What Kat Ate throughout an entire day!

Breakfast:

Chocolate oats with vanilla protein powder, red raspberries, juicy blackberries, and mixed nut butter! Aww, I love life. πŸ™‚

Lunch:

I had a bowl of Homemade Split Pea and Lentil Soup (this is the kind my Dad makes on Sundays, which makes lovely Sunday evening meals and leftovers), a sliced red delicious apple, and mini sandwich thins topped with my pumpkin spiced almond butter.

Snack:

Kale chips!

HERE’S HOW TO MAKE THEM! First, wash a bunch (as in how grapes come in bunches – that kind of bunch) of Kale, tear the curly leave-parts into pieces and lay them on a dry cookie sheet. You want to use enough Kale leaves to fill the cookie sheet. Then spray them with olive oil (I like spraying both sides) and roast in the oven at 400 degrees F (or degrees C) for 8-9 minutes, depending on the size of the leaves and how much is on the cookie sheet. You want the “chips” to be crispy. Sprinkle with a little salt, scoop them into a bowl – or eat straight from the cookie sheet, and dive in!

They taste just like potato chips, but are so much better for you!!! AND, you’re getting a serving of greens. πŸ˜€

I also had some of my Baked Pumpkin Pudding alongside my “chips.” The sweet pumpkin flavor really complimented the salty, savory kale chips!

Dinner:

A Boca Chik’n Burger with spinach (topped with smart balance light, which is unpictured) and mixed vegetables (x2).

And that’s a typical day. The next What Kat Ate will also include a Day-In-The-Life-Of-Kat. πŸ™‚

………………………………………………………………..

Talking about a day in the life of Kat, here’s what has been going on in my life in regards to how I’ve been exercising, when I’ve been going to bed, and what’s been going on with school!

Workouts:

This past week, my workouts have been at different times of the day – a couple at 4am before seminary, a couple right after I get home from seminary, some right before lunch/snack, a couple before dinner, and sometimes at 8pm at night! Mostly I’ve been doing either Jillian with circuit training, but I’ve also been riding our stationary bike – which I pump up the intensity for about 45-60 minutes (there are 8 levels of intensity on our stationary bike, which I use to my advantage and make and interval workout with each interval 3 minutes long. The intervals include 3 minutes warm-up, then three to four 15 minute “pyramids:” [8 – 7 – 6 – 5 – 4], [8 – 7 – 6 – 5 – 4], [8 – 7 – 6 – 5 – 4], and then end it with a three minute cool-down at level 3. I do this workout while I read my Old Testament. πŸ™‚ I love the multitasking part of doing both at the same time!

Sleep:

I’ve been going to bed by 10pm every night (with the exception with last night) for a couple weeks and I feel amazing! I was babysitting really late last night and didn’t get home until after 12:30am. (I did catch up on quite a bit of school work while I was there though, since the kids had gone to bed at around 8:30pm, giving me about 4 hours to work with) AND THEN, I proceeded to wake up at 5:20am for seminary. I just got up from a 3 hour nap and I feel so much better now (especially since I woke up with a sore throat this morning, but it’s pretty much gone except this little cough I’ve got). I’m babysitting again tonight, but I won’t be out that late – only til 9 or 10 pm. Anyways, I’ve been working on getting to bed earlier, and I love all of the energy I have when I do it!

School:

The classes I am doing this year are:

  • AP Physics (which I just see as a lot of math, but it’s starting to throw in some science here and there),
  • AP English Literature (I call it Advanced Composition, but either way it means analyzing literature/poetry and writing a lot of essays),
  • Driving School (I have only 3 out of 7 more drives left: so far I’ve gone onto the freeway during rush hour traffic and had to “force” the car in, and then get back off the freeway at the next exit – over and over and over again; my last lesson should have been parallel parking, but my teacher got confused and thought I was on my 5th drive when I was only really on my 4th; my next driving lesson is this coming Friday, so I’m excited!),
  • two years worth of Seminary (this is the scripture study class I wake up at 5am to go to every school day, and YES, I do consider this a class; the university I’m going to wants 4 years of seminary, but because I’m graduating early, I’m doing two years worth of it in one year: so I’m going to seminary in the morning, but then I’m also doing a home-study version at home in addition to it)
  • lots of AP Physics and AP Literature Prep work.

I don’t have that many classes this year, but the ones I do have each take a lot of time to complete. They’re not necessarily hard – a little time-consuming and demanding, but I’m always up for a challenge.

……………………………………………………………….

I love life.

It might be busy; it might be a lot of work and effort; it might demand that I prioritize my time wisely. But it is worth it.

I might stumble along the way, but it’s about just getting back up and continuing forward. It’s about learning from mistakes and growing from them – becoming a better person from it. I know that by learning from my orthrexia, I can take care of myself better than I could before.

Life is about becoming the best YOU that you can be. πŸ™‚

………………………………………………………………..

Favorite food pictured? I love breakfast. Period.

What are some of your favorite ways to eat greens? I like making Kale into “chips,” steaming spinach and topping it with Smart Balance Light, and using collards, kale, and/or spinach in smoothies. I’ve heard of using the collard greens as a wrap, but I’ve yet to make one.

Do you sleep with a fan on at night? Does it have to be a certain temperature for you to get a good night’s rest? I CAN sleep without a fan on at night, but I find that I sleep better and more soundly when I have the fan on. Even though it’s winter, I still have to turn it on to at least medium – I toss and turn without the white-noise it creates.

xoxox,

28 thoughts on “What Kat Ate #3

  1. Kat, am I insane, or is it snowing on your blog? If it is I like it! πŸ˜‰
    I’ve never had kale. I HATE collards and mustard greens but I love turnips. And I occasionally like them cooked with bacon, even though i know that defeats the prpose of greens. πŸ™‚

  2. Great post!! Your eats are rockin, that soup your dad makes looks delicious! πŸ˜€
    I feel ya on getting a good night sleep–I’m usually in bed before 10 too haha And I think it’s SO amazing you’re in seminary! I can totally see you becoming a minister, you exude the love of Christ! πŸ™‚

    • I don’t do it all of the time… But some mornings I will get up at 4am to workout. But if I’m not feeling it, I won’t. I want to listen to my body, so if it wants the sleep right then and there, then I’ll just work out later in the day.

  3. Oh my gosh you must be CRAZY busy!!!! I’m so amazed that you can fit it all in!!!!

    I like the sound of a fan but I actually downloaded a free app on my iphone that makes the SOUND of a fan and I leave it on all night πŸ™‚

  4. I just made kale chips for the first time the other day. I love them! I can’t believe I didn’t make them sooner. All your food looks delicious, especially that soup, I love soup when it gets cold out!

  5. You work so hard, yet seem to be so balanced. I admire that! I’m also in AP Physics (idk if you do B or C, but if you do I’m in B!) and I have realized it’s not exactly my forte… I do love my AP Spanish class though πŸ™‚ I think the best food pictured is the baked pumpkin pudding!

    • I’m in B too!!!

      Haha, it’s official now — we ARE twins! πŸ˜€

      I’m really enjoying Physics: I didn’t think I would — I was scared of it to be honest because I would hear about all of the stories from my friends, but then I actually got into it and I really like it! I guess it’s because of my love of math. (You know how little children do things to keep themselves occupied if they’re bored? Well, when I was a little girl, I would give myself math problems, like 99999999999999 x 999999999999, and try to solve them.)So that love probably really helps. I also love how Physics has changed the way I see the world, like why when you exert a force on a boulder it moves or not, why etc! Driving even makes me think of Physics!

  6. I love this post! Your meals all sound amazing.
    It actually looks like your regular diet is very similar to mine. Yum, yum. πŸ™‚
    And girl, you are SO busy. The fact that you manage to stay balanced is so inspirational. I can relate though. Getting to bed at a reasonable hour (most of the time) is what keeps me sane. I’ve been changing up when I do my workouts lately as well. I used to always work on in the mornings but this week I worked out in the afternoon/evening a couple times and it actually felt really good!
    It looks like you’ve got a full schedule of classes ahead of you. AP Lit was my favorite class in high school. Reading+Writing=Happy Emily.

  7. Um. Yum? YUM? Can you send that breakfast to me every morning? Your eats look so delicious! I don’t have kale where I live, and that fact is really impacting me now I’ve just seen that amazing recipe of yours. Do you know if any other spinachy-organisms might substitute kale for chips?
    Fan=I would love to have it on every night but I think I would start crying about global warming if I actually turned it on. Seriously. I have on in my room and cant bring myself to switch it on because I get all uppity about polar bears and drought. It’s making me wake up in pools of sweat. It’s really not that convenient.
    Favorite food= ….. every meal. I can’t get over food, full stop. Though morning porridge is probably an experience and a half.
    Greens=I don’t eat enough of them. I’ve never known how to make a nice green smoothie, so I simply don’t eat them! Oopsidaisy. I should probably attend to that. Or maybe not.

  8. LOVELVOELOVEEEE your eats!
    especially brekkie–yumm!
    anndd i am SO GLAD your are lovin’ life! i start drivers ed soon too to get my permit! ahh im so excited i think im going to take it with a friend πŸ™‚

  9. You are SO lucky you only have two classes! Gosh! I wish my senior year could be like that! I took AP english in ninth grade…I liked it a lot actually! Hope you enjoy it too! I think it all really depends on the teacher…mine was my favorite I’ve ever had so that really made the difference! All your eats look yummy too!

    • Well, I’m actually NOT going to college right now (I’m in my senior year of high school), but I’m taking an early morning scripture study class every morning. The university I am going to this next school year would like me to have 4 years of the early morning scripture study class, and since I’m graduating early, I’m doing two years worth of the scripture study class in one: I attend it in the morning 5 days a week, and then I complete an at-home version for my other year’s credit.

       

      ________________________________

  10. You are such an amazing young woman!! I really wish I would have been that mature at your age! I also read my bible while riding the stationary bike, haha. its a great way to get my scripture reading in πŸ™‚

    • It takes some planning and prepping ahead of time. I always start my morning with oatmeal. It’s something that I really like and it doesn’t take long to prepare. The rest of my meals don’t take a lot of preparation either: throwing together a salad, grabbing some beans, making a pb&j sandwich, topping a frozen banana with nut butter, etc! Even roasting vegetables doesn’t take more than 20 minutes to prepare.

      I also like using my slow cooker and my blender. I can throw a meal into the slow cooker in the morning and it’s ready by lunch/dinner (depending on what it is and how long it takes to cook), like the split pea lentil soup for instance. That was actually leftovers from the night before, so I just heated it up and it’s all done! I also love making smoothies in my blender: I just throw in all of the ingredients, blend it up, and I’m out the door! It doesn’t have to take long to prepare a delicious healthy meal!

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

