chocolate · My Life · vegan

The RAW Cookies ‘N Cream Milkshake!

Hey my Delicious Sparklely Christmas Cookies! πŸ™‚

Thanks for all of your comments on my last post. I really want to show a more full picture of the way I eat and not give off the wrong impression, so I’m going to be doing more of those What Kat Ate’s.

I spent this last weekend making and preparing Christmas gifts. I also spent the weekend and all of Monday morning working on a guest post (look forward to that soon – I’ll let you know when!) for a lovely young woman.

Also, I’ve been bagging up and freezing a TON of bananas recently. I’m like a chipmunk preparing for winter. πŸ˜‰

And what am I going to do with all of these bananas?

Well, one thing I am going to be making is a lot of this:

My RAW Cookies ‘N Cream Milkshake! πŸ˜€

Chop up a frozen banana into thin slices.

Add the banana, almond milk, (protein power), and vanilla to the blender. – Note: I added the protein powder later, but I would suggest that if you use it to add it here, as it will combine better with the blender.

Blend on high for about 25-30 seconds, or until all smooth and creamy.

Add the cacao nibs and/or chocolate chips.

Then pulse a few times, about 3 times, just to combine (or you can also just stir them in).

Then pour into a glass, grab a spoon, and enjoy! πŸ˜€

The RAW Cookies N’ Cream Milkshake

Vegan, *RAW*, Gluten-Free, Soy-Free, Sugar-Free

Ingredients

  • 1 ripe banana, frozen
  • 1 cup almond milk (I used unsweetened vanilla), or other non-dairy milk
  • 1 Β½ tsp vanilla extract
  • optional: 1 scoop (30 grams) vanilla protein powder
  • handful(s) of *cacao nibs* and/or chocolate chips

Directions

Chop up the frozen banana. Add the banana, almond milk, vanilla extract (and protein powder) to the blender. Blend until smooth and creamy. Add cacao nibs and/or chocolate chips and pulse 3 times until combined (or just stir them in with a spoon). Pour into serving glass and serve immediately.

printer-friendly version

This time through, I just stirred in the protein powder at the end, but I’ve found it works better if you blend it up with the banana and almond milk right at the beginning – it’s less clumpy and more luscious that way.

This raw version has more of a banana flavor compared to the regular version (depending on how many cookies you use) as more of the original cookies-n-cream flavor to it. But I love how this one is one that you can splurge on more often – instead of it just being a treat; it can be one you have as part of your regular diet.

This next paragraph contains *GIRL TALK*, so all of you guys who are boys or who just don’t feel comfortable reading this kind of thing, just skip to the next paragraph.

My mom spent the morning calling to get me an appointment with my primary care doctor. I overheard my mom talking about me having to get blood taken for it, too. I just pray that I won’t hyperventilate while they take my blood (when I see the chair and the needles, my breathing just sky-rockets and I start to cry; the actual needle taking the blood doesn’t hurt at all, but I still just cry all the way through it). Anyways, the appointment is this Thursday afternoon and I just hope that this time they’ll figure out what’s going on with me, as I still haven’t had my time-of-month on my own (it’s been two years now). I miss having my time-of-month every month. I just really want to know what’s going on and why I’m not having it. I just pray that the doctors will be lead by the Spirit and I can feel of His Comfort as I go.

*GIRL TALK ENDED*

We have a Christmas party tonight where we’re collecting angel-tree gifts (and hopefully wrapping them up there too), so that and school should keep me busy ’til Thursday with my doctor’s appointment and the blood tests.

Ever tried cacao nibs? I love the dark flavor they have!

Do you use protein powder? Have a favorite? I just finished up the last one I had (and I just found out that it actually had milk in it, which I really bummed about; but since I haven’t had it my face is starting to clear up even more, so even though it was a little bit it was affecting my skin. The milk was apparently in the “natural flavors” category on the label, which I never expected…). Right now, I’ve been using my homemade protein powder, and I’ve been working on another version of it. πŸ™‚

How do you react when you have blood drawn? It really depends on if I just keep my breathing normal or not. I’m fine if I do, but I pretty much hyperventilate if I don’t.

xoxox,

 

30 thoughts on “The RAW Cookies ‘N Cream Milkshake!

  1. carob chips are really good too. I prefer chatfields. sunspire’s are too oily for me. And they are sweetened with barley. I’ve had blood drawn before & it’s not bad. Luckily I’ve had nurses who knew what they were doing. lol. I just sit there and look away. simple. I use protein powder. I have been for years. I tried sunwarrior because everyone was raving about it and I was not impressed. The vanilla tasted like salty cake batter. and had “natural flavors” and since it was so salty there wasn’t even posted on how much sodium was in there. Then I tried the chocolate and it tasted like dirt.

    1. I’m sorry the sun warrior protein powder didn’t work out for you. I’ve never tried it myself, but I’ve heard other people really liking it. I myself have used a couple of different kinds, but my favorite has been the vanilla soy protein power. It didn’t post the sodium on it?! That’s kind of weird. Sodium is one of those minerals that most labels have… I don’t think I’ve ever tried Chatfield’s carob chips. I really like the unsweetened variety by Sunspire, but I don’t get them very often.

  2. I hate getting my blood taken too. You definitely are not alone in that fear. Just think about how relieved you’ll be once you get it over with. You can do it!!! Then go home and have yourself one of those awesome milkshakes of yours, mmmmm!

  3. I’m with ya, I’m not a fan of getting blood drawn at all. Even when they say it won’t hurt, it does!! Hope it’ll be quick and easy for ya! πŸ™‚
    This recipe sounds beyond delicious, as always πŸ˜‰

  4. This sounds delicious!! I need to pick up some cacao nibs so I can make it. Though I do have dark chocolate covered ones… I bet they would be delicious!!

    Good luck at your appointment! I hope everything works out. I’m totally fine with needles. I used to be terrified, but then I wanted to get my ears pierced and my Mom said I couldn’t if I couldn’t handle a needle. I manned up and I’ve been all good ever since!

  5. Hmmm i LUVV me some protein powder – I love my Gold Standard Whey protein powder in Vanilla Cream (I got it from GNC) – I really want to try cookies n’ cream though – that would be delish!
    I have tried cacao nibs – I like them a lot!
    OMG I am fascinated by blood (I know it is so weird haha) – whenever I donate I love watching all the blood bags fill up! I have no problems with needles or anything either!
    You sound like my sister, she is terrified of blood and veins! If people expose the veins on their forearms in front of her she will literally faint. Every. Single. Time

    1. I suppose one way to not get nervous is to not think about it so much – it really is just blood and it won’t hurt more than a pinch! No worries at all, you got this girl πŸ™‚

    2. Ha-ha, she does sound a lot like me. But it’s really up to me and my breathing that effects how I turn out during/after they take my blood. If I keep my breathing normal, then I’m absolutely fine. But it’s when I start breathing too fast that I start having problems. Maybe it’s something I do as a stress reliever. idk.

  6. Yum! This looks delicious.
    I absolutely hate needles. Like, I literally almost (or actually) pass out every time I have to get a shot or get blood drawn. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve wound up on the hospital/doctor’s office floor, or sitting with my head between my knees. But, I’ve discovered that the more relaxed I stay, the better. And after having to have my blood drawn every week for 2 months straight (when I had mono) I’ve started getting used to it.
    I hope your appointment goes well and that they’re able to figure out the cause of the problem! Keep us updated. πŸ™‚

  7. This looks amazing! I loooove cacao nibs… When I was in Pastry Lab at school I would always sneak handfuls of them for a snack. I hope everything goes amazing for you at your doctors appointment and they figure out whats wrong!

  8. Mmmm cookies n cream πŸ™‚
    I’m actually totally fine with needles and blood work. It helps me to watch them do it, that way I’m not suprised when it goes in!!

  9. Girl talk: I haven’t had my TOM for about 7 months. It goes away whenever I start eating healthy and cut down on junk food… Curious to see what they tell you.

    Good luck with the needles. I was terrified when I was younger until I had to get allergy shots every week. That desensitized me I guess πŸ™‚

    I’ll definitely have to make that milkshake when it gets a little warmer in a couple of months. Right now I have been enjoying “wintery” foods like apple bread, banana bread and sugar free apple pie (my newest recipe!)

    I also have been making variations on banana ice cream with chocolate protein powder, and I have been looking for “the one” blueberry muffin recipe. Healthy of course.

  10. Girl, thanks so much for this recipe! I’ve been looking for something just like this to make for my dad because of how strict his diet is and how picky he is, and this looks perfect! Good luck with the girly issues, we’re in the same boat. bwaha. tmi ftw.

  11. Mmm, looks like a good way to start the day!
    Hope the dr. goes well…my sister had the same thing and it turned out to be a symptom of gluten intolerance, which she found out later, after she was off gluten, and not from her doctor πŸ˜›

  12. Holy Christmas I am SO making this shake!!

    I love love love love love (did you catch my enthusiasm???) cocao nibs!! In fact, I’ve only been able to find them in one store in my city so the last time I was there, I cleaned them out. My love is that intense πŸ˜‰

    I love the beautiful deep chocolately flavor and crunch they add to everything! It’s fabulous!

Comments

