My Life

Someone Dear To My Heart

His name is Chip. But he only goes by Kitty.

He’s a seven-year old gray and white Russian Blue slash Siamese mix (plus a mixture of other felines, too). He has a white goatee, a “French manicure” of white on his front paws, “socks” of white on his back feet, and an hourglass of white on his stomach.

And, he’s the one self-proclaimed alpha of our home.

He doesn’t like it when I’m in a place where he can’t be: If I am outside and he sees me out there, he insists that he should be out there, too.Β  But he’s an indoor kitty, so I can’t let him out anyways.

He paces the house, wandering, searching for me if I’m not there. If I just spend the night over at someone else’s house, my parents tell me of how unhappy he was with me that I had left him.

He likes to steal my chair. Oh wait, he just wants to keep it warm for me! (Ha-ha, yeah right – I don’t think so! ;))

He is the most exceptional basketball AND baseball player I have ever seen. He likes to play fetch with mini bouncy balls and furry play-mice. He’s my little hunter.

He likes to lounge on my bed. And my pillow (especially in the middle of the night: I’ll wake up and discover I’m at the bottom edge of my pillow and feel a gray furry creature spread out on top of my pillow). And he sleeps like a cement truck. He doesn’t move.

If someone opens a can of tuna, he will quickly be spotted behind you, waiting for HIS share. Somehow he always knows where to find his favorite things. πŸ˜‰

He is very particular. He’ll stand by the kitchen island by his “bowl” (which isn’t even his regular water bowl – his real one is only 3 feet away from this!) and demand fresh ice with a little water drizzled on top.

You may ask who is in control in our relationship. Am I the owner? Or is he?

You can’t adopt a cat. They adopt you.

Dogs look up to you. Cats look down onto you.

If he wants it, he gets it.

Ha-ha, he has trained me well. πŸ™‚

He likes to be in the middle of everything. I always have to watch him when I have a glass of water around. He will drink from my cups if I don’t watch carefully.

If I have something frozen with me, he will follow me around the house (he follows me around the house as it is– he prefers being in the same room as I am, but he will bug me and jump up on me to try to reach what I’m holding if what I’m holding is frozen, like a frozen banana) and demand to have it. A baggie of frozen grapes, a bowl of frozen strawberries, and the bags of frozen vegetables I am trying to put away into the freezer after a grocery-trip: he will be frequently found “helping” me “clean” the bags/bowls of all of these frozen items.

His name is Chip.

He’s my boy.

He’s the best companion a girl could ever wish for.

Who’s that special someone dear to your heart? Chip is one of those special someones for me.

Do you have any pets? We have two kitties!

What are you plans for Christmas? We’re not going anywhere. But we’re enjoying all the time we get to spend together!

xoxox,

23 thoughts on “Someone Dear To My Heart

  1. LOVE this post πŸ™‚ my cat, adi, is totally dear to my heart. it kills me every time i have to go away or back to school. but then i come back and it’s like i never went away πŸ™‚

    i also have a yellow lab, lucky. him and adi get along like a charm! i love them both so much πŸ™‚

  2. That’s so true about cats looking down on you and dogs looking up! In my Orlando apartment, we have a dog (Popcorn) and a cat (my roommate’s cat) and they have SUCH different personalities. All Popcorn wants to do is play, while Bella will stalk you and look at you like you’re crazy when you try to call her.

    Your kitty looks like quite the handful!

  3. AWW! I love this and I love your kitty πŸ˜€
    I have 3 dogs–Belle (australian shepherd), Lexi (border collie mix), and Daisy (basset hound) and a dwarf hamster named Cheetah! πŸ™‚ I couldn’t imagine life without them, pets bring so much happiness!

  4. Chip is adorable!!! I have one dog, he’s a yellow lab named puck. Oh wait, no, he’s a person in a dog’s body. He seriously thinks he is a human! The funniest thing he does is “dance” when he’s hungry. It’s so funny, he jumps all over the place!!

  5. haha- this is too cute!! Cats do “own” us. They think they’re kings and queens and we have to do everything for them πŸ˜‰ I love them though. I would do anything for them.

  6. Aww this is such a CUTE post!!! πŸ˜€ Chip is adorable! He and you are lucky to have each other! All of my pets (two dogs, a kitty – though she’s not really a kitty anymore, but I still call her one -, and a horse) or my special some ones. And my family, of course! πŸ™‚

    I’m no going anywhere for Christmas either. But I’m sooo excited because my brother’s going to be here!!

    ❀ ❀

  7. Awww! Chip is so cute!
    At home we have 2 dogs and 2 kitties. I love them to death. Particularly my dog, Clifford. I’ve had him since I was 8 and he’s my baby. I miss him so much when I’m not home!
    I’m hoping to get a puppy for Christmas (but I don’t think it’s going to happen!)
    I’m definitely more of a dog person, but I love kitties too. It cracks me up that they’re always so particular about everything! My cats are such princesses.

  8. Oh my gawd I’m getting overblown with cuteness! NOW I REALLY WANT A CAT!
    I have a rabbit called apple, a small terrier called milo and a geriatric canary called Binky, alongside around 150 million black fish.
    My companion is my bunny. She’s my baby and I love her more than anything else in the world.

  9. awww chip looks so cute. i have a special someone named nala πŸ™‚ she’s a sweetie…unfortunately my parents won’t let her in the house…so we have to spend outdoor quality time but….when the parents aren’t around that changes haha

Comments

