chocolate · vegan

SINLESS Homemade Hot Chocolate!

Hey my Christmas Cookies!

Thanks for all of your comments on my last post. I loved hearing all about those that are special to you and about the things your pets like to do. I also loved hearing about what you are doing for Christmas! Saturday we’re having the missionaries over and then on Sunday my sister and I are singing an arrangement of “What Child Is This” with the other young women in our church. I’m really looking forward to it! ๐Ÿ™‚

One of my favorite winter treats is hot chocolate.

But sadly, many of the ready to make hot-chocolate packets contain long lists of ingredients that are made up of many different kinds of sugars, hydrogenated and partially hydrogenated oils, and lots of ingredients you can’t recognize or even pronounce.

You want a treat you won’t feel guilt about?

Here it is.

My SINLESS HOMEMADE HOT CHOCOLATE! ๐Ÿ˜€

Measure out one cup of non-dairy milk, and then transfer 2 tbsp of it to a mug.

Heat the rest of the milk on the stove top or in the microwave (it took me about one and a half minutes in the microwave) until steaming but not boiling.

While the milk is heating up, add the cocoa, stevia, cinnamon, and vanilla to the 2 tbsp milk in the mug.

Stir it together until it forms a chocolaty paste.

It should be thick like this.

Once the milk is heated up, add it to the chocolaty paste and stir till combined.

Just whirl a whisk between your hands back and forth to froth it up if desired.

What I love about this is that you can use a variety of things to make it! If you want a protein hot chocolate, just use chocolate protein powder in place of part of the cocoa. If you don’t have cocoa, just use carob or cacao powder (each has a sweeter flavor to them, so you may not even need to use the stevia/sweetener with them). Also, if you don’t have stevia, just use a little sugar or honey or maple syrup or even splenda if you so desire. Any of them will work. ๐Ÿ™‚

SINLESS Homemade Hot Chocolate

Vegan, Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free, Soy-Free, Single Lady

Based on this recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 cup non-dairy milk (I used unsweetened almond milk)
  • 4 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 packets stevia
  • Optional: pinch of cinnamon and a dash of vanilla

Directions

First measure out one cup of milk, and then transfer 2 tbsp of it to a mug. Heat the rest of the milk on the stove top or in the microwave (it took me about one and a half minutes in the microwave) until steaming but not boiling.

While the milk is heating up, add the cocoa, stevia, vanilla and cinnamon to the 2 tbsp milk in the mug. Stir it together until it forms a chocolaty paste.

Once the milk is heated up, add it to the chocolaty paste and stir till combined. Just whirl a whisk between your hands back and forth to froth it up if desired.

printer-friendly version

I had this alongside my mom’s favorite cookies: my Almond Raisin Chocolate Chip Cookies.

I know I will be sipping some of this Christmas morning! ๐Ÿ˜€

Do you like Hot Chocolate? YES! ๐Ÿ˜€

What are some of your favorite Christmas treats? Hot Chocolate is definitely my favorite! I love dipping cookies into it โ€“ it is so good that way!

Do you have any traditions on/for Christmas? Every year I make cupcakes and we stick a candle in one and sing Happy Birthday to Jesus. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s something we’ve done since I was young.

xoxox,

P.S. My doctor’s appointment went well. She set me up with an appointment in a couple weeks with an endocrinologist, which I guess is the next step. I didn’t have to have any blood taken, but I did get updated on my shots: aka, I had the meningitis shot (for college) and the flu shot. At least I got red and yellow crayola crayon band-aids! ๐Ÿ˜€

 

28 thoughts on “SINLESS Homemade Hot Chocolate!

    1. No, regular hot chocolate isn’t “bad.” There aren’t really “good” foods and “bad” foods — just foods that are good for you and some that are not as good. Regular hot chocolate is totally fine: have it in moderation (like any other treat) and you’ll have nothing to worry about! What I was trying to show is a version of hot chocolate that a variety of people with different dietary restrictions can enjoy and that is healthier/has fewer ingredients than many of the mixes.

      I wasn’t trying to make anyone feel guilty — that’s not what I was going for when I said “sinless.” I was just meaning a healthier version of hot chocolate. I’m sorry if I gave that impression.

  1. Ahhh…YUM! This sounds soooo good.
    I’ve been trying to find a way to make a tasty, guiltless hot chocolate. The store-bought kind can be SO full of sugar/chemicals. Yuck.
    My favorite christmas-time treat is definitely homemade pies (pumpkin or apple) and carrot-cake. Mmm….

  2. I love hot chocolate, but to be honest when I drink it I go for the really decadent stuff. Made with shaved chocolate, it can’t be beat! Plus a little peppermint… oh it’s amazing! This would be great to stave off a craving though when I don’t feel like being sugar-ed out. I would love to try adding peppermint to this too!

  3. So simple and so yummy! I used to have the big christmas family lunch, now we have it on christmas eve (my partner is Polish) and have a BBQ on christmas day.
    As for favourite treats, it’s all about my Peppermint Candy Cane Fudge ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. YES! This is so good. I usually make hot cocoa by microwaving horizon organics chocolate milk, but i’d like to try this too, for a more homemade cocoa. The thing I’m most excited about Christmas for is seeing my brother, who lives across the country from me in Minnesota. ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy holidays!

  5. That looks so creamy and delicious, it hasn’t been super cold here so I haven’t been drinking much cocoa. I imagine when we dip into freezing temps over the weekend, that will change!

Comments

