Balance With Self · Health And Nutrition · My Life

How My Goals Went This Year

Hey my 2012 Snowflakes! 😉

These were the goals I set this last year:

How did I do:

The first one goes hand in hand with my whole life. I feel this one is one I will always be working at.

SERVE OTHERS/THINK OF OTHERS BEFORE MYSELF: I have striven to do these, with babysitting for no charge (for church activities), helping out at the Food Bank, picking up litter in parks/camps, baking for good causes, etc.

BECOME IN-TUNE WITH MYSELF: I’ve found this aspect of my goals really had a big improvement after my two ED Q&A posts.

DUAL-CREDIT: I actually did NOT start taking dual-credit classes, but I am preparing now to take the AP Physics and English Literature tests (so those are in place of the community college). I’m not taking “college,” but they are dual-credit in essence.

COLLEGE ALGEBRA CLEP TEST: I took it earlier this year and DID pass!

SLEEP: I’ve been working on this and have been getting a little better (I hadn’t been going to bed at 10pm throughout the Christmas Break because I had no 5am-waking-up to do for two weeks. 🙂 I haven’t been staying up INSANELY late, but pretty late. I must get it from my dad: he’s a night owl. :D But in general, I did better on this goal in the later part of the year.

EATING THE RAINBOW: This one can be tough for me since it can be easy for me to get into food ruts (like eating too many bananas and not enough of the other fruits, or eating a lot of carrots but not greens). But I have been striving to make my vegetables and fruits a variety. I’ve been eating more greens (kale, spinach, and collards are my favorites), fruits other than bananas (like melons, strawberries, blackberries, kiwi, oranges, and pears), and vegetables other than carrots (like cabbage, broccoli, mushrooms, cauliflower, pumpkin, celery, green beans, and avocados).

Here are my 2012 goals:

  • Update a couple of recipes/pictures of recipes
  • Share some of promised recipes, like my homemade sun butter (in the process of taste-testing versions), zucchini bread (I have a few different variations of this, like vegan, low sugar, my mom’s favorite, etc.), and others!
  • Pass the AP Physics Test (May 14th – it’s on my birthday!)
  • Pass the AP English Literature Test (May 10th)
  • Finish reading Around the World in 80 Days by Charles Dickens (I started it years ago and I just want to finish it!), Jane Eyre (I love the movie but have yet to read the book), The Great Gatsby, Mythology, and Frankenstein by Mary Shelley.
  • Finish reading both the Old Testament and New Testament by the end of summer (at the latest – I would prefer by the end of May, but if that doesn’t happen then by the end of summer).
  • Complete my Church Youth Personal Progress Program again by the end of April
  • Memorize the 25 scripture masteries for the Old Testament and the 25 for the New Testament. (As part of the early morning scripture study class, we are given 25 scriptures to memorize – it’s not required, but it’s recommend to memorize them. Usually you only have to do 25 a year, but since I’m doing two-years-worth of the scripture study class this year I need to do 50. I have only 2 more of the OT to do, and then I’m going to start doing the NT ones.)
  • Write more diligently in my journal. (I used to write in my journal EVERY day with EVERY thing I did that day. I haven’t been putting the time aside to do it recently, but now I want to make the effort to write it. I have spiritual journals, where I take notes, and school journals, but I want to start my life journal again. You can only live once, and I want to remember these years in the future. The act of writing it down helps me remember it. Journaling also helps me if I’m stressed about a test coming up or if I just had a bad day. I also consider blogging as journaling, so that helps. 🙂)
  • Continue with my 2011 goals to get to bed earlier (as Benjamin Franklin said, “Early to bed, early to rise, makes a man healthy, wealthy, and wise.”) and to eat more of the rainbow (variety is the spice of life).

And these are some of my goals. I also want to continue using my little notepads that help me keep organized. I set goals for the day and feel so accomplished by the end of the day. If I DON’T use the notepad, I seem to not get as much done. So that is one thing that helps me achieve my goals: the joy of being able to scratch it off my list once I complete it.

Do you do resolutions? I’m not the biggest into resolutions, as I feel if you are going to make a change (like improving your health), you should start TODAY, not tomorrow, not next week, not on January 1st. TODAY! Nonetheless, resolutions do work for some individuals, but I think those resolutions should take charge now, not later (if at all possible).

Do you have any goals for 2012? Health goals? School goals? Life goals?

What kind of books do you like to read? I really love the classics, like Pride and Prejudice, The Scarlet Letter, Great Expectations, Macbeth, etc! I also love fantasy (especially knights, castles, and dragons), science fiction (like Star Wars), and dramatic short stories (like “The Lottery” and “The Most Dangerous Game”).

xoxox,


26 thoughts on “How My Goals Went This Year

  1. I love the “eat the rainbow” goal! That’s something I always try to keep up with. I’m so nervous about the AP Physics test!! Well, first I need to get through the midterm… but still, it’s not an easy subject! I think you’re gonna rock it 🙂

  2. I’m crazy for these goals! The eat the rainbow one, bible verse one, and reading one are my favorites 🙂 Jane Eyre is SUCH an amazing book, definitely one of my most beloved reads!
    I can’t wait to see you OWN this year! Happy 2012 girl!!

  3. “Eat The Rainbow”- I LOVE it! I’m focusing on doing the same thing. And broadening my horizons with my meals and snacks, in general. I’ve definitely gotten into a rut which needs to change.
    It sounds like you did an amazing job of accomplishing your goals last year. And I have no doubt that you’ll do it again in 2012! ❤

  4. Congrats on accomplishing so much this past year, Kat!!!! 😀 I definitely need to work on eating the rainbow this year…..I tend to eat the same stuff day in and day out!

  5. These are fantastic resolutions! Good luck with physics (which personally kinda scares me).

    Jane Eyre is one of my favorite books. And if you like musicals, the Jane Eyre musical is fantastic (I’m a broadway junkie).

    I also think journal writing is a fantastic goal. I love my many journals. It just helps you clarify your life and keep everything in perspective. Plus it’s better to write your emotions instead of acting out negatively.

  6. Good luck with your goals! I’ve read pride and prejudice, the first three quarters I hated it, and then the last quarter I fell in love. I also love lionel shriver (she’s and incredible author, I wish I could marry her and steal her brain) And I”m also a classic Harry Potter nut from childhood. I’d also love to eat more ‘rainbowy’ food…at the moment it’s kinda, erg, brown and green (carbs and avocado. haha. ohoh.) Oh well, it’s ‘earthy’ right? =P

  7. I, too, always have a few resolutions that are ongoing and are a featured resolution each year. But I also have more tangible ones. It feels too good knocking one off 😀

  8. Wowza good job girlie! It sounds like you completed those no problem and with a smile 🙂 good luck with this years goals! I know you can do it, especially those AP tests! I had to take them too ickk. You need to read The Hunger Games!!!!! Ohhh my gosh, I couldn’t put it down, it was so intriguing!

  9. These are a wonderful set of goals! I’m making it appoint to be a prayer warrior this year…I want to spend a lot of time with God (:

    Also, I’ve got a few books on my “must read” list, including two by Donald Miller, the author of Blue Like Jazz!

Comments

