baking · Goodies · vegan

My Favorite Vegan Zucchini Bread!

Hey my BEAUTIFUL Sweets! J

Thanks for all of your comments on my recap of this past year and my goals for this year. You guys are absolutely AMAZING! I didn’t get to bed last night until after 12am (closer to 1 am), as I was babysitting for a family who went and saw the Broadway play “Les Miserables.” And then this morning I got up for my early morning seminary class at 5am. I am exhausted. I tried to take a nap after I got back, but I just couldn’t fall to sleep. You know when you’re so tired that you’re NOT tired? That’s me at this moment. Right now I’m waiting for that I-want-to-take-a-nap feeling (it should come in a couple of hours), and then I’ll be able to take a nap. Ha-ha, I’m really going to enjoy taking a nap. 😉

Do you like to bake?

I love baking breads, muffins, cakes, and cookies. But I especially love baking with whole-foods that help keep you healthy and happy.

I love making sweet breads, too; and one of my most favorites is zucchini bread!

With zucchini, raisins, tofu, whole grains, and healthy fats, this is a treat that is sure to please.

Combine the tofu, applesauce, oil, sugar, and vanilla in a large bowl.

Use a whisk to break down the tofu and get it incorporated. (You can also just blend these ingredients in a blender/food processor until smooth and creamy. A hand mixer will work, too.)

Shred the zucchini. (Leave the peel on – it adds lots of nutrients, fiber, and gives a nice color.)

Add the raisins and zucchini to the tofu mixture and fold (ha-ha, or whisk) them in.

In another large bowl, add the flour, flax, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.

Stir to combine.

Make a “well” in the center of the flour mixture and pour the zucchini mixture inside the well.

Fold it all in until all the flour is incorporated (don’t overmix).

Pour the batter in a sprayed 9×5-inch baking pan (9×4-inch works, too) and bake at 325F (163C) for about 60 minutes, or until the center is firm and bounces back when lightly pressed or if a toothpick inserted comes out clean.


Let it cool in the pan, then transfer to a wire rack. Cut and serve! I like to cut this into 13-14 slices. J

If using honey, agave, maple syrup, or other natural liquid sweetener in place of the sugar (I like using maple syrup), use ¾ cup honey, cup the applesauce back by ¼ cup, add an additional ¼ tsp baking soda, and reduce the temperature when baking it by 25F (14C).


My Favorite Vegan Zucchini Bread

Ingredients

  • ¾ cup silken or soft tofu
  • ¾ cup applesauce
  • ¼ cup oil
  • 1 cup sugar (or ¾ cup natural sugar – see note above/below)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 ¾ cup whole-wheat flour
  • ¼ cup ground flax
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 ½ cup shredded or grated zucchini (about 2 medium)
  • 1 cup raisins

Directions

Combine the tofu, applesauce, oil, sugar, and vanilla in a large bowl. (I like to use a whisk to break down the tofu and get it incorporated. You can also just blend these ingredients in a blender/food processor until smooth and creamy. A hand mixer will work, too.) Shred the zucchini. (Leave the peel on – it adds lots of nutrients, fiber, and gives a nice color.) Add the raisins and zucchini to the tofu mixture and stir them together.

In another large bowl, combine the flour, flax, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Make a “well” in the center of the flour-mixture and pour the zucchini mixture into it. Fold it all in until all the flour is incorporated (don’t overmix it).

Pour the batter in a sprayed 9×5-inch baking pan (9×4-inch works, too) and bake at 325F (163C) for about 60 minutes, or until the center is firm and bounces back when lightly pressed or if a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Let it cool in the pan, then transfer to a wire rack. Cut and serve!

If using honey, agave, maple syrup, or other natural liquid sweetener in place of the sugar (I like using maple syrup), use ¾ cup worth, cut the applesauce back by ¼ cup, add an additional ¼ tsp baking soda, and reduce the temperature when baking it by 25F (14C).

printer-friendly version


This is my absolute FAVORITE sweet bread. Forget bananas: I love ZUCCHINIS! 😀

Have you seen any shows on Broadway? I’ve seen The Lion King and Cats when I was 7 years old, (from the sections I remember of them, I know I thought they were AMAZING!); I’ve heard that they have a Fiddler on the Roof play (I’ve only seen the movie), but I haven’t seen it on Broadway; and I’ve yet to see Les Miserables (we’re getting it from Netflix, so I’ll be seeing it soon).

Do you like sweet breads? I love zucchini, banana, pumpkin, sweet potato, carrot, and apple breads. Yes, some of these do contain sugar, but I feel that sugar can be part of a balanced diet if eaten in moderation.

Do you have any allergies? I think I am having an allergy attack in a way. Yesterday morning I started sneezing (and I felt like I was going to sneeze between sneezes), my nose became running (not stuffy like a cold, but runny and irritating), and my eyes started watering up. I took a Claritin that afternoon, but it didn’t seem to work: maybe it takes time for it to start working? I don’t feel too bad right now, but I don’t know if this reaction is because of the cedar (it was up to 5000 yesterday, and it only takes 500 to bother people) or if it is food related. Do you guys have any thoughts?

xoxox,

35 thoughts on “My Favorite Vegan Zucchini Bread!

  1. I loved watching Cats when I was younger. We had it on a cassette tape too, so we could listen to it in the car! The only Broadway show I’ve seen performed live however is Shrek 🙂

    I love sweet breads, and I’m so glad you posted this zucchini bread recipe! It’s almost exactly like the one I make…

    I have tons of seasonal, dust and plant allergies. They didn’t test me for food allergies, but I probably have some because they are genetic and run in my family!

  2. This looks so good Kat!! I really need to try Zuchini bread- I’ve NEVER had it and everyone always tells me it’s so good.
    The only allergies I have are seasonal. So in the spring time I’m always stuffed up and can’t breath! 😛
    Have a good nap!

  3. Mmm I love zucchini bread! It reminds me of my aunt, who used to make it with cocoa powder for a chocolatey flavor. Unfortunately I have never seen a Broadway show, but I’ve always wanted to. I have both food (wheat) and pollen allergies, and from the looks of it, you have pollen allergies (aka cedar fever). The reason Claritin isn’t helping is probably because Claritin is a very weak antihistamine. I can’t remember the name of the one I take, but my doctor recommended it and it’s awesome. I also use nasonex which helps with the stuffy nose. Hope this info helps! 🙂

    1. Nasonex — I think my dad uses that year round, too. 🙂 I’ve never had allergies before I moved here to San Antonio. And it seems to happen to a lot of people who never had allergies before (and even those who had some get that one, too). I am not sneezing right now, but I think it’s when the pollen is REALLY HIGH (like those past few days) that I really get effected.

      I love how your aunt would make it with cocoa powder — that must of tasted amazing! Did you ever eat it with peanut butter?

  4. Yum! I love sweet breads. And zucchini bread is one of my favorites. I’ve never tried a recipe that had tofu though- how brilliant!
    Since I come from a family with a huge theatre and performing background, I’ve seen tons of Broadway shows. We take a vacation to New York almost every year which has been amazing! Les Miserables is one of my all-time favorites. It’s such a classic. (:

  5. I LOVE ZUCCHINI BREAD!!! It’s seriously my favorite!! You totally just inspired me to make it again. I just need to pick up a zucchini!
    My favorite broadway show is Mamma Mia! I have every song on my ipod and run to them all the time. My favorite band when I was little was Abba and ATeens, so it only makes sense that I love a musical based on their music!

  6. I love baking healthy things too! This looks so good I’ll try to remember it so i can try it out sometime.
    I saw Cats twice.
    I’m allergic to cats, horses, and dogs but I have a cat because I love cats and usually my allergies don’t bother me

  7. I love making breads like this. Obviously zucchini is one of my favorites. I love that I can hide a veggie in there, and when I use whole wheat and honey, it seriously is a beneficial snack!

  8. So I know you didn’t go see it, but I absolutely love Les Mis and I can’t comment on a post that mentions it without at least sharing that, haha! It’s definitely my favorite musical. Love it! But I digress… 😉

    The bread looks yummy!

  9. Wow, this zucchini bread looks fabulous! Zucchini bread, to this day, is one of my absolute favorite sweetbreads and that’s saying a lot considering all the different kinds I’ve made over the years! 😛
    Have a great week, Kat! 😀

      1. Well, I made this lovely number today, with some changes. I always have a tendency to ‘tweak’ recipes, and I think I overdid it a bit. Took away some raisins and applesauce, subtracted the sugar, added 3 kiwis… (I should have added more flour)

        When it came time to flip the pan (Hot, of course, because I’m impatient), it all came out in a gooey mess.

        Ah well, I had crusty-zucchini-mush-bread for dinner tonight, and it was AWESOME!

        I think I’m going to make zucchini bread every year just because it was so fun to make. 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing!

Comments

