Health And Nutrition · How do things work in my body? · My Life

My Endocrinologist Appointment!

Hey my Chocolate Chip Cookies!

Thanks for all of your comments on my Zucchini Bread – that is seriously my favorite bread YET! 😀

Over the past couple days, I’ve had a lot of crazy fun with attending a Forks Over Knives potluck Saturday night, making some goodies, and going to my Endocrinologist appointment today.

Saturday night I went to a Forks Over Knives Potluck with my cousin. She came and picked me up and we were off! (My cousin actually has a website: if you want to see it, click here.)

The food requirements were that it had to be both vegan and gluten-free (since many of the people there had celiac disease), so I brought some of my Raw Chocolate Chip Cookies to share! I actually made these without the coconut oil and they turned out beautifully! The people at the potluck literally DEVOURED THESE! They couldn’t believe they were raw and tasted so good! I love putting smiles on people’s faces. 🙂

There were TONS of beautiful dishes there. The colors were fabulous! But what were my two favorites?

I forgot the name of this one (something like Quinoa with Fruit), but it had both white and red quinoa with sliced almonds, chopped apple, and dried cherries. This picture above is actually what I brought home with me and ate the day after. (I had “intended” to bring it home for my mom to try, but I got to it before she did. ;))

And this is a Kale Salad with pumpkin seeds, sliced almonds, dried cherries, dried figs, and an olive oil/sesame oil/avocado oil vinaigrette. It was quite delicious! I should really try making some of these on my own and maybe make a whole section in my recipes for greens, vegetables, more savory things. J

After the food, we socialized and talked about nutritional-stuff. It was a lot of fun hanging out with a lot of health/nutrition lovers and sharing some of our favorite recipes. It was a little weird being the only one under 18 (everyone else was 30 years old or above) – but other than that it was great!

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Some things I’ve made recently (other than the cookies ;)) have been:

This is my Yubby-Dubby Hummus, and I used about 1 ½ tsp curry powder in place of the cayenne, salt, and pepper. The curry wasn’t bad, but it’s not something I would add to hummus again.

My Devilish Chocolate Dream Almond Butter! I LOVE this stuff — especially on bananas and oatmeal! Or just by the spoon.

I also made my Banana Bread into muffins – I just love how cute muffins are and I couldn’t resist!!! For this meal, I cut a couple of them and frosted them with both peanut butter and my chocolate almond butter; I then paired it with spinach topped with a little SBL and had some black beans on the side.

…………………………………………………………………………………..

My Endocrinologist appointment was this morning!!! My dad and I left at 8:30am this morning to head up to the doctor’s office to be at my appointment at 10:15am. After they did the prep-stuff, like blood pressure, weight, temp., height, and asking if I took any medications or if I was allergic to anything, I headed into the room and met my doctor. I found out that she majored in Biochemistry before specializing in endocrinology – it was like we made a connection then and there, especially since Biochemistry is the thing I want to major in! After my explanation of why I was there (and all the history that came with it), we got into discussing why I may not be having it. She asked me questions about my diet, exercise, family history with regards to health conditions, like diabetes, thyroid, etc., sleep, my body image, how I’m doing in school, my orthrexia, etc. It was really cool to talk about how the system works and the chemistry of it.

One thing she did say that stood out to me was that I may be putting too much stress on my body. Not getting enough sleep puts stress on my body (she said someone my age needs 9 hours of sleep a night; sadly, I only get 6-5 hours of sleep a night, with a nap some days for no longer than a couple of hours), stress with school, stress even as exercise, restriction through diet (since hormones need both fats and proteins, carbohydrates for energy, and enough calories to really work the best they can; not overboard, but not restricting them – the TOM for girls is one thing the body view as not as important as some of the other cycles in the body, so if you’re not getting enough of something, they’ll turn it off; your hair, skin, and nails do the same thing: if you don’t eat enough healthy fats, like omega’s, mono’s, poly’s, and some saturated, they will get dry and weak.) – these could all be reasons why I’m not having it. The thing I am going to focus on first is sleep – now that I have doctor’s orders to get more sleep, I REALLY need to get in control of that. Nine hours = going to bed at 8pm!!!!!!! YIKES!!!! Ha-ha, I don’t know if I can do that. But I CAN set some limits to things, like off the computer by 8:30pm, no television after 8:30, and no electronics after 8:30 – that would make a HUGE difference in my life. And yes, I would have to obey those rules over the weekend too – that’s when I REALLY ruin my body clock. It’s a little after 9pm right now, so I know those rules would really help. After I get sleep back out of the “stress-level,” I’ll take the next step, and so on.

I asked her if soy could be related with my irregularities, and she told me, as an endocrinologist and biochemist, that the estrogen-like properties in soy are insignificant to the amount your body makes.

She also told me that she would like some bone-density tests just to check how my bones are doing compared to other 16 year olds – that’s their main concern with me not having my TOM is bone density because estrogen works with building it and having your TOM reassures them that you have enough.

And lastly, she prescribed for me to have my blood-labs redone, as it had been a year since the last ones, and it’s better now to see what the levels and stuff are currently. Here I am, hearing that I have to have more blood taken – my eyes get wide, my breathing starts quickening, my thoughts start jumping and kicking and screaming. But I pressed forward. The woman who did it was really sweet. What really helped me was that she started ordering me around with my breathing “NO, breathe when I breathe – INNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN, OUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUT, INNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN, OUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUT.” I was laughing so hard with her and I am so grateful that she did it: this was the BEST experience I’ve had with them taking my blood. I did feel a little dizzy, and my dad said my face went pale for a moment, but other than that I was perfectly fine. I walked out of there without fainting, without crying, without breathing rapidly: this was a good day. 🙂

…………………..

What are some of your favorite things to bring to potlucks? I like bringing dessert. 😀

Do you feel you have a lot of stress in your life? I had never really thought about it before that appointment, but I guess I do have some stress in my life, like with school, and other not-really-intentional-but still stress ones like not getting enough sleep, exercise (which is a good stress, don’t get me wrong – it’s just going overboard and not allowing the body to recover that gets into problems), and restricting/taking away the nutrients from your body that they need to function that can have a not-so-good impact.

Do you ever feel that nut butter is like frosting? It is to me! My chocolate almond butter actually really tastes like frosting; my grandma agrees!

xoxox,


27 thoughts on “My Endocrinologist Appointment!

  1. Kudos to you for doing so well with them taking blood. I had blood drawn last week and I nearly passed out. I had 4 nurses standing over me fanning me and laying icepacks on my chest. I felt like such a baby, haha! Also, I don’t know how you survive on so little sleep. Well, I mean I guess I did that in college, but these days I am absolutely an 8-9 hours of sleep kinda girl, haha!

  2. Wow, hope you manage to start getting more sleep! I agree with Rach, I need 7-8 hours! and you’re a youngun so you need more!
    Hope things improve soon – she can’t think you’re not eating healthily enough! x

  3. Wow. I didn’t know you had that situation going on. I hope that you find a way to resolve it. Because you blog about dessert, I know that I have asked you in the past, “What else do you eat?” I’d be curious about that again. What did the endocrinologist say about your diet?

    1. She said it sounded fine. But then again since I had gone to a dietitian before she didn’t really get too deep into it. She did ask if I calorie counted, if I was scared of fats, restricted certain foods, etc. I told her I used to do those kind of things, but now I don’t. What’s weird is that those things didn’t occur until after my TOM had already started, and I’ve already stopped doing that. The one thing I do restrict is dairy (I try to avoid it as much as possible), but other than that I just try to make good choices (they don’t have to be perfect, but I at least try to keep it balanced). I know that fats, proteins and carbohydrates are essential for the endocrine system to work properly (have the “fuel” to run), and then phytochemicals, vitamins, and minerals to keep the system healthy. I had to explain to her what orthrexia was (and I mentioned that I had gone through that). Nonetheless, while I went through that, I never fell below a healthy weight but I had caught myself on that path towards it and stopped it in its tracks). When she asked about fats, I told her that my main source was nut butters (followed by other fats like avocados, olive oil, and canola oil) and that I try to reach about 80 grams a day of it (my aunt, who is a holistic nutritionist/dietitian told me I needed that much). Lately I’ve been focusing on adding more greens to my life (spinach, kale, and collards usually). I also eat whole grains, legumes, fruits, vegetables, meat (sometimes), and then baked goods in moderation (when I have them around, since I don’t make them quite as often as I used to). Smoothies are also something I enjoy, but I don’t make them everyday.

      What do you think?

  4. Sounds like a really informational and helpful visit! It’s always awesome when you get a really relateable doctor 🙂
    Good pick with getting more sleep too! I think I need to work on that haha

  5. That’s great you are trying to help eliminate the stress in your life! I know I am one who stresses too much and find it hard to not. But it is so important for our physical and mental health. I love nut butter for frosting, I think it’s better in fact! ha
    I too always like to bring desserts to potlucks. I think there is so much you can do with it, plus it’s usually everyone’s favorite part so I like being the one to supply them the happiness! 🙂

  6. That would be great if it just took sleeping more to fix you up! 🙂

    I like bringing veggie and fruit trays to potlucks because that usually the only thing healthy there!

    Stress-wise, I’d say I over analyze things sometimes, but I don’t think I have an enormous amount of stress.

    I “frost” everything with peanut butter!

    BTW, congrats on reaching 100,000 views!

  7. I saw an endocrinologist for the same reason – but it was pretty inconclusive! I think it was mostly stress from running, so I just had to start taking birth control, because I wasn’t giving up that stressor! I hope you figure out what works for you!!

    1. Me too!!! My doctor was like “well you are very active…” and I was like “yeah?…and?” Whenever I read this post I kept thinking “yep…had to do that…had to do that too…”

      By the way bone density scans are no big deal. You just lay there for a few minutes. Most of the time you’re there is just answering the routine questions they have to ask.

  8. Quonia, kale and hummus! that is some seriously good eating! very impressed.
    My favorite thing to bring to pot lucks is definitely desserts, but I also try to bring something healthy so I don’t go over board on the sweats. I like to bring a fruit plate or veggies and dip.

  9. A Forks Over Knives potluck?! Oh my word, that is amazing.
    I want to host one of those! It sounds like so much fun. And what an amazing way for everyone to share their favorite vegan/gluten free dishes. (:
    I’m glad you hear that your appointment went well and that you’re on the road to figuring out why you’re having these issues. I actually have a similar appointment coming up next week so we’ll see how that goes! I know I’m going to have to have my blood work done as well- not looking forward to that at all. I hate needles!
    I definitely need to work on cutting down on the stress in my life, as well. Hopefully you’ll be able to start getting a little more sleep! I’m sure that’ll make a huge difference.

  10. Your doc sounds very intelligent, I’m glad she had some good advice for you. I know that I need to get more sleep into my life, too. I can definitely feel it when I don’t! I know it stinks to have to go to bed that early but you’ll be glad you did it, im sure!

  11. So the first time I read this, I skimmed, and literally spent WAY too long trying to figure out what your tom was and why you were capitalizing it… haha. Blonde moment on my part. :o)

    I’m def guilty of the no sleep as well :/ Hope you get all your problems sorted out, pretty girl! ❤

Comments

