Balance With Self · chocolate · My Life · vegan

My Chocolate Chip Pecan Butter!

Hey My Chocolate Chips!

Thanks for all of your comments on my review of the One Bowl Cookbook. It is definitely a book I will be taking with me and using throughout college! I also loved hearing about some of your favorite cookbooks that focus on a plant-based diet.

These past few days have been quite hectic. I had the bone density scan on Friday (which really wasn’t a big deal, but I did feel like a piece of paper being scanned by a printer with that little light moving back and forth), we took my grandma to Golden Corral for her birthday (she has been staying with us for a few weeks and I’ve really enjoyed being able to spend time with her, especially since she’s 91 years old now!), went to Wal-Mart on Saturday and went JEAN SHOPPING (that was a little stressful…), got up early this morning to go to church, I just got home from a youth choir practice I had this evening (which was a LOT of fun with all the beautiful hymns we are practicing for a conference coming up within a few weeks), and within all of this I had to fit my school work in. Nevertheless I had some fun this afternoon and made some nut butter. (I was all out!) ❤

Speaking about the nut butter… this is the one I made!

Do you like chocolate? Do you like pecans?? How about chocolate AND pecans?!?!

Then this chocolate-covered nut butter is for you. 😀


My Chocolate Chip Pecan Butter!


Lay the pecans on a dry baking sheet, and toast in the oven at 350 degrees F for 5-7 minutes, or until fragrant. Let them cool on the baking sheet for about 1 hour (I’ve found this step helps the pecans turn to butter faster).


After the nuts have cooled, add them to a blender/food processor.


Turn on the machine on high…


…And process until it starts getting clumpy.


Add the vanilla and salt.


Continue processing…


…Until it becomes smooth and creamy.


Add the chocolate chips, and pulse 3-5 times until combined (you can also just fold them in with a spatula). If the pecan butter is hot, it may melt the chocolate chips and the butter will be chocolaty. But if the butter is cool, it will be chocolate chipy.


Pour into a glass container and store in the fridge.


My Chocolate Chip Pecan Butter!

Vegan*, Gluten-free, Sugar-free** — Makes a little over 1 cup

Ingredients

  • 2 cups (16 oz) pecans, chopped
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/3 cup mini chocolate chips (I used semi-sweet)

Directions

Lay the pecans on a dry baking sheet, and toast in the oven at 350 degrees F for 5-7 minutes, or until fragrant. Let them cool on the baking sheet for about 1 hour (I’ve found this step helps the pecans turn to butter faster).

After the nuts have cooled, add them to a blender/food processor. Turn on the machine on high and process until it starts getting clumpy. Add the vanilla and salt. Continue processing until smooth and creamy.

Add the chocolate chips, and pulse 3-5 times until combined (you can also just fold them in with a spatula). If the pecan butter is hot, it may melt the chocolate chips and the butter will be chocolaty. But if the butter is cool, it will be chocolate chipy. Pour into a glass container and store in the fridge.

*make sure you use dairy-free chocolate chips

**use a few squares of unsweetened chocolate chopped into small pieces in place of the chocolate chips (it’s soy-free if you do this option: if you want soy-free with sweetness, just add a small stream of agave nectar), or use unsweetened carob chips

print recipe


It tastes really good on bananas, but I like it straight from the spoon. 😉

What is your favorite nut? I usually have walnuts or almonds, but my favorites are pecans and cashews. (Btw, walnuts or cashews would definitely work in place of the pecans if you don’t have any.)

What is your favorite kind of chocolate? My favorite is dark. One thing I love about this nut butter is that you can use any kind of chocolate in it: milk chocolate, semi-sweet, or dark – they all work!

Do you enjoy jean shopping? I find it hard with all the different sizes that I sometimes do not always know what size I am in a particular brand/style, etc; I’ll be one size in one brand, and a totally different one in another brand. So that part can be a little stressful, but I just remind myself that the sizes are just there to be a guide: the thing that really matters is picking the pair that fits me best, looks good, and makes me feel confident.

xoxox,

27 thoughts on “My Chocolate Chip Pecan Butter!

  1. This nut butter looks AMAZING!! Can’t wait to try it 🙂

    Jeans shopping is so frustrating for me because it’s really hard to find a pair that is soft, comfy, and fits right. Oftentimes a pair will fit me in the butt and thighs but be wayyyyyy too big in the waist. I finally scored two pairs of joes jeans at a designer discount store after a month and a half of searching! But they were definitely worth the wait 🙂

  2. I love chocolate and pecan. Together they taste so good!! I love the idea of leaving whole chocolate chips too! It would taste great just straight out of the jar!

  3. Happy birthday to your grandma! 🙂 I hope that your bone density is very dense (dense is good, right? i actually don’t know). I kind of don’t like jeans shopping because at most stores (looking at YOU, the gap) the legs fit snugly but the waistband is too big, so i have to buy a belt too! hollister co. makes really good jeans though and sometimes they have a half off sale. Chocolate + pecans are the best combo! there are these cookies from central market called chocolate crispies that are made of egg whites, sugar, cocoa powder, and pecans. My mom and i really can’t figure out how to recreate them though. Thanks for the recipe, I love the drippiness of pecan butter!

  4. I’m so glad I found your food blog. You are an inspiration! Can’t wait to try some of your recipes….love the idea of the no oil banana bread. 🙂 Thank you for your hard work in helping us be more healthy!

  5. This nut butter sounds so delicious! I can’t wait to give it a try!
    I dread jean shopping! So hard to find jeans that fit just right, and the sizes are so different in every brand. So frustrating! But once you find those good jeans, they’re heaven! 🙂

  6. kat this looks amazing as usual! i never thought about paring pecans and chocolate 😛 so many nut butter brands have almond butter and chocolate or pb and chocolate but i have to hand it to you–this is such an original! 🙂 and i know what you mean about jean shopping being stressful. i always feel a ping of sadness when i go up a size or when something i like doesn’t fit right, but just remember that all thats important is how you feel in it, so if you feel beautiful nothing else matters!

  7. Oh my gosh!!!! This looks so good. Seriously, your homemade nut butters always come out so drippy and yummy-looking! This is getting bookmarked! 🙂

  8. That looks fantastic! Almonds are definitely my favourite nut, although I am a big fan of all the others too 😛 I only like dark chocolate with a really high cocoa percentage, has to be over 70% minimum otherwise I just don’t enjoy the flavour.

  9. I am a designer and want to let you know womens sizing is arbitrary. Every brand has a different fit and fit model they use. Also each pair will have different measurements, two pairs of the same brand same size, there can be up to a half size difference between them. Also the actual fabric used and how much spandex percent will greatly affect stretch and therefore what size you wear. My point is its always the jeans, and not the size of you so please know the sizes are really never consistent

Comments

