Goodies · Health And Nutrition · vegan

Buttermilk Oatmeal Pancakes!

Hey My Swirly Twirly Flapjacks! πŸ™‚

Thanks for all of your comments on my last post about my home gym! I really like that we now have a pretty well-rounded gym here at home, especially since we don’t have a membership to a gym anymore. It also helps that we have five bedrooms in our house with only two kids total. We use one of the two extra rooms as a sewing/guest room and the other as a gym/library.

I asked, and you answered.

Here they are:

My Buttermilk Oatmeal Pancakes! πŸ˜€


Combine the almond milk and the distilled vinegar in a medium bowl (or measuring cup like I did). Set it aside to thicken.


In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.


Once the milk mixture has thickened, pour it into a blender/food processor, and add the oatmeal, agave, silken tofu, and applesauce.


Process until the oats are a finely milled.


Make a well in the center of the flour mixture and pour the oat mixture into the center.


Mix well, but don’t overmix.


Preheat a nonstick or lightly coated with cooking spray griddle.


Use a ΒΌ cup measurement cup to ladle out the batter for each pancake. Flip pancakes when bubbles rise and break open on the top, or when they’re golden brown on the bottom.


Cook until lightly browned on their reverse side. Repeat with the rest of the batter.

Transfer to a plate, decorate, and devour8!” πŸ˜‰


Buttermilk Oatmeal Pancakes!

Vegan, Whole Grain, Sugar-Free option*

Makes 4 servings, with about 3 pancakes per serving (depending on the size of the pancakes)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup old-fashioned (or quick) rolled oats
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 Tbsp. baking powder
  • 1 Tbsp. agave nectar or honey
  • 1 ΒΎ cup buttermilk: [1-2/3 cup unsweetened almond milk + 1 Β½ Tbsp distilled vinegar]
  • 1/3 cup silken or soft tofu
  • 2 Tbsp. applesauce or oil**

Directions

Combine the almond milk and the distilled vinegar in a medium bowl (or measuring cup like I did). Set it aside to thicken. In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt.

Once the milk mixture has thickened, pour it into a blender/food processor, and add the oatmeal, agave, silken tofu, and applesauce. Blend it all up until the oats are a finely milled. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture and pour the oat mixture into the center. Mix well, but don’t overmix.

Preheat a nonstick or lightly coated with cooking spray griddle. Use a ΒΌ cup measurement cup to ladle out the batter for each pancake. Flip pancakes when bubbles rise and break open on the top, or when they are golden brown on their bottoms. Cook until lightly browned on their reverse side.

Transfer to a plate, decorate, and devour8!” πŸ˜‰

Print This Recipe

*To make sugar-free, in place of the agave use 2 packets of stevia. (Or you can even just replace the agave with 1 Tbsp. more of applesauce.)

**I like using applesauce when I plan to top my pancakes with nut butter, and oil when I plan to top them with fruit, like jam, preserves, or applesauce.


I topped mine with my Homemade Sun Butter and some fresh blackberries (which were on sale — score!).


I really love how healthy, filling, and satisfying these are! We all (as in, each of my family members) topped our pancakes differently, with a variety of things, which included: sun butter, preserves, maple syrup, smart balance lite buttery spread, applesauce, berries, etc! We DEVOURED these in two seconds flat! πŸ˜€

………………………………………………………………

What is your favorite pancake topper? I really like to use nut/seed butters and applesauce (or preserves to make PB&J pancakes).

Do you like breakfast for dinner? I think breakfast for dinner is the BEST! My whole family enjoys it, so I made these for dinner tonight! πŸ™‚

How do you keep organized? I like to use lists and schedules/calendars to keep my day organized. I list down what I want to get done that day, and I love being able to cross things off as I do them: a fully crossed off list at the end of the day is something I really like seeing! I’ve also been recently scheduling my day. I had been falling behind in my schoolwork, and so for this past week I’ve really scheduled myself (practically minute by minute; not quite, but close) so I could focus and plan in the time to get some things I’ve-been-needing-to-get-done done. It worked! I’m all caught up. The schedule isn’t restrictive: things come up and it has to change a lot, but I still like to write it up because it helps me stay focused. It gives me a visualization for my day. For the rest of the stuff I have, I use bins, shelves, labels, folders, dividers, assigned places, etc. to keep things organized.

xoxox,


P.S. Sun Butter Recipe coming soon! I made it today and have it all ready for you! πŸ™‚

38 thoughts on “Buttermilk Oatmeal Pancakes!

  1. I was hoping that you would share this recipe first! These sound sooo delicious. And I already have all of the ingredients on hand. I can’t wait to try them! (For breakfast tomorrow possibly?)
    By the way, your pancakes are perfect. So jealous. Mine always turn out completely deformed. But, it’s okay because I cover them in nut butter anyways. (:

  2. I think you read my mind! I just made buttermilk oatmeal pancakes this morning, albeit a pretty standard improv recipe. Your pancakes look amazing though – I broke one of mine while flipping! My favourite pancake topper’s probably fruit and yogurt. So good.

  3. Yum! You’re a pancake flipping whiz!
    That drizzle of Sunbutter paired with blackberries must’ve been such a tasty combo πŸ™‚

  4. girl these look and sound amazing!! I love making pancakes, but Ive never tried a buttermilk version! I definitely have to give these a try!

  5. Those pancakes look amazing! I would have to say I’m boring with pancake toppers… most of the time I just like fresh fruit or syrup. Or apple butter, that’s one of my favorites as well!

  6. Deeeeeeelicious! I wish I had read this BEFORE having breakfast, now I want to go make these instead of the bowl of oats I had. Loving the suggestions by everyone for apple butter, nut butters etc. I’m drooling as I read this post!
    Even better than ricemilk in this recipe would be soy or almond milks, it will actually curdle then and get sour like buttermilk. Rice milk doesn’t have the right properties to do it properly unfortunately, not a high enough fat content like almond or soy.

      1. I’m so rude, you did too πŸ˜› For some reason I read ‘rice milk’, goodness knows where I pulled that out from!
        So I DID go and have a second breakfast and this recipe was FANTASTIC! Now I’m super full and think I will be sated for hours and hours πŸ˜€

  7. Breakfast for dinner is the best!! I like to do french toast and omelettes in addition to pancakes. My favorite pancake mix in is definitely chccolate chips and bananas. Actually I just got the idea to try it with banana, honey, and peanut butter. How delicious would that be!!

    1. I bet banana, honey, and peanut butter WOULD be delicious in pancakes!!! I would either layer the pancakes with each of the different mix-ins, alternating by layer, or just make a mickey-mouse shape and “decorate” the pancakes with the combo. You could eve just have fun and make designs with the mix-ins IN the pancakes, like chocolate chip hearts, banana flowers, or whatever. You can really have fun with pancakes. πŸ™‚

  8. These buttermilk oatmeal pancakes look delicious!

    I’m a junior in high school and I’m thinking majoring in Food Science or Food Nutrition. Know of any good programs? (:

    1. Hey Kyleen! πŸ™‚
      Sorry it took me a while to respond. I really don’t know any specific programs; what I’m going to do is get my bachelors in Biotechnology with an minor in Nutrition (and I’m taking different nutritional courses within both, like Nutritional Biochemistry, Food Science, Nutrient Metabolism, etc., so I can get what each is all about and find what I want to Master in). I at first wanted to be a dietitian, but now I’ve found that I want to know what a dietitian knows but not be one. Then I found Biochemistry and it was closer, but it’s the Nutritional Biochemistry that really interests me. So now I’m thinking of Nutritional Science or Food Science or Biochemistry or something. I’m not too concerned with knowing right now what I want to do. Who knows, I may like Biotechnology and want to go into it further. I just want options. I would suggest looking up the different jobs/professions and find the one that fits most closely to what you want to do; just read up on all of the different ones and pick out the ones that REALLY interest you, then go for it. πŸ™‚

  9. Wowza! These pancakes look fabulous. If I didn’t already eat dinner, I would definitely be chowing down on these right now. I practically live for breakfast for dinner! πŸ˜‰

    Bookmarking for sure!

Comments

