Homemade Sun Butter!

Hey My Nut Butter Lovers!

Thanks for all of your comments on my last post. I love spending time with my sister, especially since I will be going off to college this next year and won’t see her as often. Thank you for always being there for me, Elizabeth! ❤

Recently I got myself a bag of raw sunflowers seeds.


And you know what I decided to make with it?

Some of this:


My Homemade Sun Butter! 😀

I want to dive right into this goodness.


Lay out the sunflower seeds onto a dry baking sheet.


Toast them at 400 degrees F (200 degrees C) for about 8-10 minutes, or until fragrant.


Pour seeds into blender or food processor.


Turn it on high and blend until…


…The seeds become a powder.


Add the salt, agave, and canola oil.


Scrape the side and put on the lid.


BLEND HER UP! You may need to stop and scrape the sides throughout. You may also have to add a little extra oil if needed to help it process.


Keep processing until smooth and creamy.


Pour into a glass container, store in the fridge, and ENJOY!


Homemade Sun Butter!

Nut-free, Gluten-free, Sugar-free option*, Vegan, Soy-free,

Makes about 1 ½ cup

Ingredients

  • 2 ½ cup raw sunflower seeds (you can also use dry roasted; if you do, skip the first step)
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp agave nectar
  • 2 Tbsp canola or coconut oil

Directions

Lay out the sunflower seeds onto a dry baking sheet. Toast them at 400 degrees F (200 degrees C) for about 8-10 minutes, or until fragrant. Pour seeds into blender or food processor. Turn it on high and process until the seeds become a powder.

Add the salt, agave, and canola oil. Scrape the sides and put on the lid. BLEND HER UP! You may need to stop and scrape the sides throughout. You may also have to add a little extra oil if needed to help it process. Keep processing until smooth and creamy.

Pour into a glass container and store in the fridge. ENJOY!

*In place of the agave, you can use one packet of stevia. You may have to add a little more oil to compensate for the liquid in the nectar.

Print This


This bag of sunflower seeds only cost me a little over two dollars, and now it has been turned into a treat that can’t be beat! It’s much cheaper than and just as delicious as any of the sun butter you can buy! 😀 I had one of my friends try this (she was my official taste-tester, as she knows sun butter VERY well) and she said it tasted just like any of the sun butter you can buy! Now I can indulge in sun butter without depleting my wallet!

……………………………………………………..

Have you ever tried Sun Butter? I like how it is a delicious alternative for those with peanut allergies (and simply delicious period!).

What is your favorite addition to breakfast? Nut and/or seed butter for me – it’s a nice source of protein and healthy fats!

What do you consider a balanced diet? I feel that a balanced diet as where I eat lots of fruits and vegetables, whole grains, healthy fats, lean proteins (like beans and legumes, even meats and eggs if you desire), and dairy and/or dairy alternatives; I also feel that there should be room for flexibility, and having a treat (in moderation) helps keep everything balanced. But even beyond that, I feel that moving a lot, giving my body the rest it needs, listening to my body, and loving my body just the way it is are just as important.

xoxox,

59 thoughts on “Homemade Sun Butter!

  1. Yum!!! This sure would be a lot more friendly on my wallet than pre made/store bought stuff haha 😉 I’m obsessed with Mara Natha brand Sunbutter, but I think it’d be a blast to make your own!

  2. Oh my gosh we’re like twins! I always buy that brand of nuts/seeds, and I have the same blender! My mom actually bought me this attachment for it specially for making nut butters. I don’t know where she found it, but I think she probably ordered it online from the BlendTec website. Have a great weekend! 🙂

  3. Heya, I’ve always wondered if you mean to type flagrant? Do you mean fragrant? I’m pretty sure flagrant means shocking 🙂 Unless it’s something different in the States!

    • Am I using the right word? Do you know the work I’m trying to say? When I’m saying flagrant I’m meaning when you can smell it, as the sunflower seeds give off a delicious smell when they’re toasted…..OH MY GOSH. I meant FRAGRANT!!! This whole time I was pronouncing it flagrant, not fragrant, so that’s why I spelled it that way!!! Thank you SO much for pointing this out! I never would have noticed it! 😀

  4. I completely agree with your definition of a balanced diet. Exactly. I always try to incorporate lots of vegetable/fruit servings, healthy fats, whole grains, and plant-based protein. Amounts vary for everyone, it’s just a matter of finding the balance that works for you. (:
    And I cannot WAIT to try this recipe. Nut butter is my addiction!

    • Hey Emily,

      I wanted to let you know that I really appreciated your comment. Finding the balance that’s right for you: that is so true! Not one set “diet/lifestyle” works for everyone; we’re all different, but it’s just about listening to our bodies and eating in a way that fuels our body the best.

      Thanks for always being there for me!

  5. So if I make my own sunbutter…does that make it okay for me to eat the whole jar?? 😛 haha. But this looks delicious! I wish I made my own nut butters like I see so many bloggers do! I have to try it out one day.

  6. That butter looks so creamy and delicious! I love sun butter, it’s definitly one of my favorite seed/nut butters!

  7. I need to try this, I’ve never had sun butter! And I totally agree with you on what makes a balanced diet – I’d say I’m about 90% healthy eating (fruits, veggies, grains, fiber, etc), but there’s gotta be room for treats or I just wouldn’t enjoy life as much 🙂 Definitely enough rest if a huge one!

  8. I just saw on your sidebar that you want to be a chem major… YAY FOR SCIENCE!! 😀 😀 😀

    also, I think a balanced diet can be summed up in some guy’s quote (I’m too lazy to look up who said this!): eat what you like, not too much, mostly plants. simple as that! 🙂

  9. I looove sun butter! Made some recently too. I did mine in the food processor but I maybe I’ll use the vita mix next time – i used to make almond butter in it all the time.

  10. Your sunbutter looks SO smooth! I’ve had my Vitamix for over a year but still haven’t gotten around to making my own nut butters. Since I’m cooped up inside with pneumonia, I think I’m going to make some today!

    • Hey Ashlae,

      I hope you’re feeling better now. 🙂 Do you like your Vitamix? I really adore my BlendTec. I don’t know what I’m going to do when I have to leave it at home when I go off to college. Have you made your own nut/seed butter with it yet? I love making my own as it just tastes better that way! (Sun Butter is one of my favorites to make!)

  11. Pingback: What Kat Ate #5! « KatsHealthCorner

  12. Pingback: I Got A Call From My Endocrinologist! « KatsHealthCorner

  13. Wow, looks great! I’m wondering: how long did you have to leave it in the blender? I think my roommates would kill me if I left it going for ages 😉 Although by the looks of things, it might be worth it! 😉

    • It didn’t take me very long at all, but it really just depends on the power of your blender/food processor. If it seems to be going slowly, just add a tablespoon of oil at a time until it’s the consistency you want!

  14. Pingback: A Veggie-Filled WIAW + Easter Cupcake Creations! « KatsHealthCorner

  15. Oh my goodness! I need to try and make this! We recently found out my son has so many allergies and we ended up going to the Whole Foods Market this weekend and bought a few things for him including some SunButter. Oh man it was about 7 for this little jar. Both my fiancé and I have tried it just to make sure it tastes decent. Well we fell in love. But for 7 bucks a jar…… No way. But I knew there had to be a cheaper way to make it at home. Thanks so much!
    Also I was curious if you knew about storing it? I want to make a few jars of it and was wondering if there were any way to store it longer?

    • Hey Amanda! Thanks for commenting! 🙂
      I have made multiple jars of nut-butter at once and they have NEVER gone bad on me when kept in the fridge. The oil sometimes starts separating, but after a little stirring it’s as if I just made it. I’m sure you could make multiple jars of this and they would be absolutely fine. You could try storing them in the pantry like you would peanut butter or almond butter from the store, but I would probably keep them in the fridge just to be safe.

      I hope this helps! 🙂

  16. Pingback: What Kat Ate #11 + Cardio Challenge! « KatsHealthCorner

  17. Pingback: A Marvelous Monday Update! :) « Kat's Health Corner

  18. Pingback: Favorite Recipes from 2012 « Kat's Health Corner

  19. Pingback: Holiday Nut Butters, Dips, Spreads, and Sauces: Twelve Days of Allergy-Free Christmas Recipes | Kat's Health Corner

  20. Kat,
    I have a Blendtec and I have tried making Sunbutter several times and it DID NOT work well. It was actually the reason…..um, my excuse to get a blendtec. I did not get a powder like in your first pic. Can you give me any tips? Don’t get me wrong I LOVE my Blendtec for other things, but was disappointed about the outcome of Sunbutter, I had to scrape it out, it was just stuck in there at the bottom like clay not moving. My boys have a peanut allergy also, so I send up making them Sunbutter in my old NINJA – takes about 10 minutes. They eat tons of it. I buy it in 25Lb bags!!! If I could figure out what I am doing wrong in the blendtec I would be on cloud 9. This thread is old, but I hope you respond to me!!! Thanks in advance! 🙂

    • Hi Katia! Sorry it took me so long to respond — I just got home from my mission a couple weeks ago and just read your message. I’m so sorry that you have had problems with making the Sunbutter in the Blendtec. What speed did you set your BlendTec to blend up the sunflower seeds?

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

