Carob Chip Cookies with Walnuts!

Hey my Chocolate/Carob Covered Valentines! ❀

Thanks for all of your comments on my last post about the call from my endocrinologist. The Game Night was wonderful! I got to hang out with some of my friends that I don’t get to see very often and just be silly. Then the next morning (Saturday morning) I did parallel parking on my drive. Whenever I have my driving lessons they’re always in a smaller car that I can see the front end of, but our only automatic is our minivan and I can’t see the front end of it, which will make taking the test for my license in our minivan a challenge. Nevertheless, I found it easier than I expected and had lots of fun learning to drive downtown.

Carob and I are like best buds. My mom introduced us a few years back and it was love at first taste. πŸ˜‰

I found that my Heb carries carob chips, so I HAD to get some.

Can you guess what I did with them?

I made cookies!


My Carob Chip Cookies with Walnuts to be exact!


In a large bowl, mix together the flour, baking soda, and nutmeg.


Make a well in the center of the flour mixture.


In the center, add the applesauce, agave, and vanilla.


Combine just until there are no dry areas.


Add the carob chips and chopped walnuts.


Mix well.


Drop cookie dough by teaspoonful (or with a small cookie scoop: that’s what I did) onto a lightly sprayed cookie sheet.


Flatten dough slightly with a fork.


Bake in a preheated 350 degree F (175 degrees C) oven for 8-9 minutes, or until the cookies are lightly browned.


Remove from the cookie sheets immediately.


Pour yourself a glass of milk and start dunkin’!


Carob Chip Walnut Cookies!

Makes about 48-55 cookies, depending on size

Ingredients

  • 2 2/3 cup whole wheat flour (or other whole-grain flour)
  • 1 Β½ tsp baking soda
  • ΒΌ tsp nutmeg (optional)
  • 1 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • Β½ cup agave nectar or honey
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • ΒΎ cup unsweetened carob chips
  • Β½ cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Directions

In a large bowl, mix together the flour, baking soda, and nutmeg. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture. In the center, add the applesauce, agave, and vanilla. Combine just until there are no dry areas.

Add the carob chips and chopped walnuts. Mix well. Drop cookie dough by teaspoonful (or with a small cookie scoop: that’s what I did) onto a lightly sprayed cookie sheet. Flatten dough slightly with a fork.

Bake in a preheated 350 degree F (175 degrees C) oven for 8-9 minutes, or until the cookies are lightly browned. Remove from the cookie sheets immediately.

Print This!


These cookies were (I say were because we’ve already EATEN THEM ALL) the perfect sweetness for my mom and I. If you prefer a sweeter cookie, simply replace about ΒΌ cup of the applesauce with agave/honey. Β If you’re not the biggest fan of carob, chocolate chips work beautifully in these, too!

………………………………………………………

What are you doing for Valentine’s Day? Some of the girls in my church and I are going to be babysitting some of the kids in my church for a few hours so their parents can go out and have a date. πŸ™‚

Do you like Carob? I like how it’s sweeter than chocolate naturally and doesn’t have caffeine (perfect for a late-night snack that won’t keep me up at night).

Do you like to dance? Go to dances? I just went to a Valentine’s Dance (I wore this black v-neck formish-fitting maxi dress with these silver glittery zebra stripes all over it, and I wore it with a pink cami, a little black jacket, and some silver heels; I would have taken a picture, but I was rushing out the door before I could grab one) and I had a lot of fun! I like to line dance and do ballroom.

xoxox,


32 thoughts on “Carob Chip Cookies with Walnuts!

  1. These cookies look fabulous! I’ve never tried carob before, but now I want to try it!

    PS – I absolutely love dances! I’m actually going to one this weekend. πŸ˜€

  2. Beautiful as always!!

    I’ve not used carob chips…Though I’ve been tempted to on numerous occasions!!

    My hubster and I don’t celebrate Valentine’s day…Never have…It’s just not something that’s important to either one of us.

    I love dancing but I don’t do it other than my weekly Zumba classes! Do you Zumba?

  3. i’ve tried to like carob, but it just doesn’t compare to chocolate for me. your cookies look deeelish, though.

    i don’t think i have big plans this v-day. my boyfriend and i live in different cities. 😦
    i LOVE dancing. i’m a former gymnast, and i did a lot of dancing in college and through musical theater. i really want to take a modern class sometime soon!

    • I wish I could do certain gymnast things like cartwheels and hand stands and things like that….

      Yeah, I do find that there are those time that nothing can beta chocolate, but it really depends on my mood — sometimes the only thing that sounds good IS carob.

  4. Yum! I lovelovelove carob. One of my friends can’t stand it- I’ll never understand why!
    These cookies look sooo good. And I like that you make them small- you get more that way. (:
    For Valentines Day, I’m just planning to go to dinner and a movie with some of my friends. Ohhh the joys of being single on this holiday. Oh well! Enjoy your day! ❀

  5. These cookies look so good! It amazes me how you can make such delicious things so healthy. Unfortunately, I don’t have any fun plans for valentines day, I’ll just be working.

    • Hey girl, I’ve been trying to see how to make my carob-walnut muffins more caroby and by upping the carob powder by 1/4 cup and cutting back the rest of the flour by 1/4 cup is what works beautifully. I thought I’d share it with you! πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: The Call For More Blood Tests. « KatsHealthCorner

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

