A Day In The Life Of Kat

Hey my Darlings!

Thanks so much for all of your comments on my candy bar nut butter. I swear, this is my FAVORITE nut I have EVER made! (No offense pecan and walnut butter; I still love you.)

Here’s a Day In The Life of Kat!
(The Insider’s Look on My Life)

5am – WAKEUP to my alarm screaming at me (jk! It doesn’t scream, but it does wake me up instantly.)

5:15am – eat a SNACK


Right now I have been loving my frozen bananas with my Almond Joy Almond Butter on top. It is the perfect way to start my morning. 🙂

Drive to my early morning scripture study class. It starts at 6am and goes for about 50 minutes.


After we get home I WORKOUT for about 40-60 minutes (depending on intensity and if I’m doing either cardio, weights, both, circuit training, yoga, or dance).

Clean up, get ready for the day, and head downstairs for…

BREAKFAST! Usually around 8:30-9am.


My staple: Oatmeal, and this time with soy nuts, cocoa powder, and cinnamon, topped with a big dollop of peanut butter and paired with a glass of almond milk on the side.

Insert emails for about 10 to 15 minutes.

Now: Schoolwork! From about 9:30am to 12:30pm.


AP Literature (my brain works better in the morning for this subject), AP Physics, or New Testament study (I’m taking two years of the scripture study class this year since I’m graduating early).

LUNCH: Usually around 12:30 to 1pm


An example: This day I had a box of spinach cooked and topped with some smart balance light buttery spread; a toasted whole wheat bun frosted with nut butter and raspberry preserves; and a lovely apple on the side (the apple was really bigger than it looks in the picture – it would probably be considered a one of those 2-per-pound apples).

Continue with my schoolwork if I’m not done yet.

But if I’m done, then I get to have some time getting messy in the kitchen!


Get ordered around by this cutie. Oh, yes, I know what you want, Chip.

I may have a snack in the afternoon, depending on how busy I am and how hungry I am; some afternoons I don’t really want a snack (because I’m simply not hungry), but I do have one if my body says it’s hungry. If I have one, it’s usually something like almonds with a piece of fruit or a green smoothie or a bar of some type (or even some dark chocolate!).

Practice Piano

Chores (like dishes, laundry, grocery-coupon clipping)

DINNER: Usually around 5:30pm


An example: This night I made Wendy’s at home, with homemade potato wedges (cut them into slices, sprayed with olive oil and sprinkled with salt and pepper, and then baked in the oven for 20-25 minutes), Boca Chick’n Patty, and mixed vegetables on the side.


Catch Chip sticking his nose into everything.

Dessert/Snack: UNPICTURED. I’ll have it if I’m hungry that evening;
if I do it’s something like a couple cookies or a few squares of dark chocolate (before 7pm or it will keep me up) or banana ice cream or a big spoonful of nut butter (yes, you know me).

6-8:30pm – emails / blog / prepare lesson for my sunbeams on Sunday

8:30-9:30pm – read my scriptures / read a book / do my checklist for the next day / just unwind

9:30pm (latest 10pm) – BEDTIME
I have been getting better at getting to bed earlier; I want to get it to the point where I get to bed before 9pm every night. One step at a time.

And that’s it!

………………………………………………………………..

Do you plan your meals in advance? My mom got this emeals deal from Groupon today and we’re going to start planning our dinners for the week and shop accordingly. Have any tips/thoughts?

I want to start incorporating more college-friendly recipes that I will be using up in college (some of my ideas: lentil burgers, homemade pasta sauce, homemade Italian dressing, vegetarian lentil taco-meat filling substitute, healthier sloppy joes, etc.). What do you think?

Have I ever mentioned I’m homeschooled? Yep, I am – been homeschooled since the end of third grade, and I love every second of it! 😀

xoxox,


P.S. This “schedule” really varies by day, depending on what I have going on that day (like babysitting or family activity or something), so it’s just an average. For instance, I sometimes don’t do my workout in the morning and instead do it before lunch or in the afternoon, so my day gets thrown around a bit.

31 thoughts on “A Day In The Life Of Kat

  1. Wow sounds like you’re go go go all day! I love that you manage to find time for fun in the midst of the busy-ness, that’s always so important 🙂 Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend Kat!!

  2. i totally love your home gym. there looks like so many options!

    i was able to college friendly meals really quickly. and i’m sure you’ll be able to do the same. i make a lot of oatmeal, protein microwave cakes, and sandwiches. they are all super easy in such a small room.

  3. Thanks for sharing, I always love reading about how other people live their lives. I plan my meals, it makes things much easier.

  4. I did not know that you’re homeschooled! Sometimes I wish I were homeschooled because I hate hate HATE riding the bus every day, and if I could be home all day I’d have a lot more time to blog! At least going to school I get to see my friends because, honestly, at my school and probably most high schools, we spend most time doing NOTHING. It’s annoying but also good cause we don’t really want to do much but hang out! 🙂 Your chocolate oatmeal looks really yummy.

    • I remember the last time I rode a bus … I agree with you, it wasn’t my favorite thing to do either. Though, I find that being homeschooled doesn’t always mean I have a lot of extra time on my hands, since I’m probably as busy as anyone who goes to a public school. But if I sit down, focus, and get it done, then I can get my classes done in a timely manner. One thing I love about being homeschooled is that I can go at my own pace: move like a cheetah on those subjects I pick up easily (for me, that’s Math), instead of having to sit and wait for the rest of the class period for everyone else to pick it up, and then I can move a little slower on those subjects that just takes more time to finish (like my AP classes, since it’s just a lot of work I have to do everyday to prepare for them). I think you’d have a lot of fun being homeschooled. I know I enjoy it. 🙂

    • No WAY?! 😀 I first had to get used to using it, but now I can’t imagine ever living without it!

      My Physics (which is more of a engineering type Physics than a regular one and I have to do TONS of problems in every lesson) right now consists of two programs: my regular course and then my study for AP. I’ve done all of the basics and am building up on each, so I can’t really say exactly. (I’m about to do Thermodynamics and Mirror-Thin Lens and Pendulums and Capacitor Energy, if that helps.) In Literature we’re now doing three essays at a time instead of just one, with an extra credit essay each week.

  5. Dude some college friendly meals would be mucho appreciated – all I have is a microwave, so coming up with good food to eat is tricky, so I’m always looking for new ideas!!!!!
    Oh man AP physics, when I was in high school i purposely chose NOT to take that class – I SUCK at physics, so seriously good for you for taking that!! 🙂

    • I love math and science, so that’s probably why I like physics so much, as I just see it as a lot of formulas. When I was a child, I would give myself math problems to keep myself occupied. I love numbers. 🙂

  6. Wow what an early start to the day!! I wish I could workout in the morning like you do. I usually have to workout in the late afternoon or early evening!

    • Hey Tara! I sometimes don’t exercise in the morning, but I like getting it done early and getting all cleaned up for the rest of the day. I’m glad that you’ve found a time that works for you!

  7. I love day in the life posts, because I feel like they help you get to know bloggers better!

    P.S. I’m updating my blogroll, FINALLY and you will definitely be on it, since I’ve been reading your blog for months and months!!! 🙂

  8. sounds like a busy schedule! i would think being homeschooled would take a lot of discipline; it would be hard for me not to get distracted! 🙂

    it’s so great that you can exercise right in your house, too. there’s something really nice about that vs driving to a gym.

    • Yeah, I really like that we have a home gym, especially with all of the gas prices that keep getting higher. I do find that it takes a lot of discipline to home-school, but once I get in the mode I can get a lot done! 🙂

  9. Pingback: Chia Chocolate Chip Cookie Balls Guest Post « KatsHealthCorner

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

