baking · Goodies · vegetarian

Gluten-Free Protein Waffles!

Hey my Beautifuls!

Thanks for your comments on the Chia Chocolate Chip Cookie Balls. Don’t forget to check out her no-bake version of them – I missed it the first time, but when I saw it they sounded delish and super easy to make (nutritious too!).

I’ve been trying to use different kinds of flours as a little challenge for myself. And since one of my favorite things is waffles (as I love how you can dip them, decorate them, stack them, and cut each square into four squares and make mini sandwiches out of them), I decided to make some of those.

 And here they are:


My Gluten-Free Protein Waffles!


Combine the protein powder, coconut flour, baking powder, stevia, and cinnamon.


Stir together completely. Form a well in the center, and set aside.


In a separate bowl, add the egg whites, buttermilk (almond milk + vinegar), and vanilla.


Whisk them all together.


Pour the buttermilk mixture into the well.


Stir it all together until all the dry becomes wet.


The resulting batter should be thick (like pudding, but a little thicker) and smooth.


Spoon the batter onto a preheated and little sprayed waffle iron.


Spread it out until it is even.


Then close the lid and let it do it’s magic! The hardest part for me is waiting for the waffles to complete cooking, as I start to get a little impatient (since I’m making this in the morning and I’m starving!), but I just have to let the waffle iron do it’s stuff (which should take a couple minutes total, depending on the waffle iron)….


And once I hear the little click (the click of the green ready switch turning on), it’s done! 😀


Take it out of the pan with a fork, lifting it up from the bottom.

Place on a plate, decorate, and DEVOUR IT!


Gluten-Free Protein Waffles

Gluten-Free, High-Protein, No-Sugar-Added, Vegan-option

Ingredients

  • ¼ cup vanilla protein powder
  • ¼ cup coconut flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 packets stevia
  • lots of ground cinnamon
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • ¼ cup egg whites
  • ½ cup homemade “buttermilk” (1/2 cup almond milk + ½ Tb vinegar mixed together and set aside for a minute or two)

See notes for ingredient substitutes.

Directions

Combine the soy protein powder, coconut flour, baking powder, stevia, and cinnamon. Stir together completely. Form a well in the center, and set aside.

In a separate bowl, add the egg whites, buttermilk (almond milk + vinegar), and vanilla. Whisk them all together. Pour the buttermilk mixture into the center of the well. Stir them all together until all the dry becomes wet. The resulting batter should be thick (like pudding, but a little thicker) and smooth.

Spoon the batter onto a preheated and little sprayed waffle iron and spread it out until it is even. Then close the lid and let it do its magic! The hardest part for me is waiting for the waffles to complete cooking, as I start to get a little impatient (since I’m making this in the morning and I’m starving!), but I just have to let the waffle iron do it’s stuff (which should take a couple minutes total, depending on the waffle iron). Once I hear the little click (the click of the green ready switch turning on), it’s done!

Take it out of the pan with a fork, lifting it up from the bottom. Place on a plate, decorate, and DEVOUR! 😀

Print This!

Note: To make vegan, replace the egg whites with either ¼ cup silken-tofu (blended until smooth), 1 Tb. ground flax/chia seeds + 3 Tb. water, or 1/4 cup fruit purée. Protein powder:  I’ve only tried this with soy protein powder, but other kinds should work just as well, too. If you don’t have protein powder, you can just use more coconut flour (making these HIGH-FIBER waffles) or other flour in its place. Don’t have coconut flour? Oat, buckwheat, quinoa, rice, or even regular whole wheat flour will work, too. (The whole wheat flour would not be gluten-free – still delicious though!) You could even try almond flour or peanut flour (maybe as part of the flour – as I have not tried this option yet, I can’t vouch for the taste – but it might work if pair with another flour). If you don’t have stevia, you can also use agave or honey or regular sugar in its place.


These waffles are SUPER filling and keep you satisfied for HOURS and HOURS. They are protein and fiber power-houses!

………………………………………………………………………………..

Favorite Waffle Topper? The topping choices are endless: yogurt, applesauce, jam, syrup, nut butter, smashed banana, chocolate chips (added to the batter is fabulous, too), etc.!

Looking forward to Daylight Savings tonight?! I love how daylight savings time is kind of the door to springtime coming – the days start getting longer instead of shorter. Even though I “lose” an hour at night, I feel it is so worth it with how it starts getting lighter earlier in the morning and stays light later in the evening than in winter.

Do you like Yoga? I just did about an hour and a half of it and it really worked my shoulders and stretched my muscles out. I love doing yoga on Saturdays as it is relaxing and a great way to stretch after the workouts I did this week. (I may have a review/giveaway coming up soon involving yoga…. *hint-hint*)

xoxox,

29 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Protein Waffles!

  1. My favorite waffle/pancake toppers are: almond butter and fruit-sweetened strawberry jam, peanut butter, applesauce, fresh strawberries, date syrup, unsweetened carob chips (haven’t tried these yet, but I know I’d love them!). I’ve also mixed some chocolate protein powder with water/milk to make a high-protein chocolate syrup. YUM

    NO.. DAYLIGHT SAVINGS! Obviously I dislike it. I would much rather “gain” an hour than “lose” an hour. It makes me more tired with less sleep.

    I’m not really patient enough for yoga, but it does help to relax. I prefer Just Dance, which is fast paced and high calorie burning. I get bored easily :S

  2. I love waffles! I like to eat them with a chocolate chip in each indentation and then topped with a mixture of greek yogurt and spreadable cream cheese!

  3. Yummy! I’m always so nervous about experimenting with new flours but these sound simple and delicious. Plus, I love that they’re filled with so much protein. Can’t beat that!
    I’m SO excited about daylight savings tonight! I’ve missed long days, filled with sunshine. (:

  4. Haha, I do the exact same thing with my waffle maker. I get impatient/paranoid that it’s burning or ready and then I lift the lid to take a peek. Never a good idea!

  5. Hello.

    These would be perfect because my waffle iron always leaks the batter no matter how much I put in!
    Since these are thick I’m hoping I can finally stop wasting batter!:D
    Thanks for sharing!!

Comments

