Balance With Self · chocolate · Goodies

“Chocolate” Chia Pudding!

Hey my Scrumptious Chocolate Chips!

Have you all watched Hungry For Change? I watched it Thursday and I LOVED it. It is now officially my favorite film EVER. I want to watch it a few more times while it’s still up online for free (it’s there for free until March 31st, so if you haven’t had the chance to watch it yet, go do it NOW!). Also, I can type up my notes from it and share them with you if you’d like. Just leave me a note in the comments about it if you want me too and I will! 🙂

I have a little something for you.

As Hungry For Change talked about simplifying, I thought I’d give you a recipe for a delicious chocolate treat that is high in nutrients and omegas and just super delicious!

Here it is.


My “Chocolate” Chia Pudding!


In a large bowl, add the almond milk (make sure to add this first), chia seeds, carob powder, and agave nectar.


And whisk them all together….


….Until all the clumps are gone.


Then top with plastic wrap….


… And place it in the fridge for 1-2 hours, or overnight, until thickened.

Take it out, stir it up and eat it up! 😀


“Chocolate” Chia Pudding!

Serves one

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup – 3/4 cup unsweetened almond milk (or other milk of choice)
  • 2 Tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1 ½ Tbsp carob powder
  • 1 tsp agave nectar or honey (or 1 packet stevia)

Top with a small handful of chia seeds and chocolate chips if desired

Directions

In a large bowl, add the almond milk (make sure to add this first), chia seeds, carob powder, and agave nectar. Whisk them all together until all of the clumps are gone.

Top with plastic wrap and place it in the fridge for 1-2 hours, or overnight, until thickened.

Take it out, stir it up and eat it up! 😀

Print This!

Note: If you don’t have carob powder, you can use cacao powder in its place, or cocoa powder with a bit more sweetener, as the carob and cacao powders have a light sweetness to them.


Health benefits:

Chia is an excellent vegetarian source of omega fatty acids, an easily digestible form of protein, and is full of minerals, vitamins, and soluble fiber.  It also contains more natural antioxidants than flaxseed and is an excellent source of dietary fiber.

Carob is rich in B-vitamins and minerals such as calcium, potassium, iron, copper, and manganese; it is also a good source of fiber and protein. In additional to being naturally caffeine-free, carob also contains pectin, which lowers cholesterol levels and decreases your risk for heart disease.


This pudding has 12 grams of healthful fats, over 12 grams of fiber, over 7 grams of protein, over 40% of the DRV for calcium, and is rich in both iron and vitamin E.

Nom.

Nom.

Nom.

SO good. 🙂

……………………………………
Have you watched Hungry For Change? What are your thoughts on it?

Do you like Carob? I love using carob for late-night treats so it won’t keep me up. I also love using it to sweeten dishes naturally and add a chocolaty flavor.

Do you like Chia? I love using chia to make pudding (like this), as “eggs,” and in baked goods to add a fabulous texture and omegas.

xoxox,


33 thoughts on ““Chocolate” Chia Pudding!

  1. I just watched Hungry For A Change last night and it was phenomenal! Like you, I took tons of notes (I always do that with those kind of films!) and I’m planning to do a review on a my blog in the next week or so. Hopefully I’ll have time!
    I really need to invest in some chia seeds…

  2. Totally loved Hungry for Change, except I disagreed with some of the food choices that they were pushing. All in all, a wonderful movie. Especially like the integration of how your mental attitude affects your health and the stuff about loving yourself.

  3. OOoh, this pudding looks amazing! SO chocolately! I’ve tried vanilla chia pudding before, but never chocolate – I’ll definitely have to give this a try! 🙂

  4. Where do you buy carob powder? I’ve heard of it, but have never been able to find it myself 😦

    Regardless, this looks AMAZING! Your recipes are so freaking creative, it blows my mind!

    1. I know that you can buy it online at Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/Bobs-Red-Mill-Toasted-18-Ounce/dp/B004VLV46S/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1332850691&sr=8-3) — they have a really good deal on Bob’s Red Mill’s Carob Powder right now. You can also look for it in the gluten-free flours section (where Bob’s Red Mill’s products are). Whole Foods probably has it; Trader Joe’s may have it too.Yeah, it can be hard to find, but it is SO worth it! ❤  

  5. I did watch Hungry for a Change! I actually really like a lot of the things they said. Christopher and I watched it together over the weekend. I also just finished reading The Maker’s Diet book and it is similar in that it suggests eating actual FOOD. Getting away from processed stuff. I really enjoyed the documentary! Glad you shared it!

  6. Yummy yummy in my tummy! this looks divine! and so easy!!!! i love me some good chia puddings. especially in the summer.. mhmmm

  7. I love this recipe! I watched Hungry For Change about a month ago and have been trying to incorporate some of the foods they mentioned. This is a wonderful way! I had never heard of carob powder, but I love how chocolatey it tastes without any caffeine! I got super nerdy on Friday night and made 3 batches of the recipe- the first with agave nectar, second with stevia, third with honey. I don’t know if you eat honey, but I loved it even more with honey! So delicious. Also, I’m so excited that I was able to make a “healthy/quirky” recipe from online and have it actually turn out. That never happens for me! lol Anyway, I’m really excited to try some of your other recipes. Thanks for the wonderful chocolate chia pudding!

    1. Oops, I see you did include honey in your recipe. Well, I confirm that it tastes great! I also added some cinnamon. Heavenly.

    2. Hey Elizabeth! (You have the same name my sister does! :D) I’m so glad you liked “Hungry For Change” — it is such a great documentary and really brings to light the truth of certain foods. Also, I’m so glad that you like my Chocolaty Chia Pudding — it’s definitely one of my favorites. 🙂 Awwwhhhhh, thanks. That really means a lot to me for you to say that — let me know of any other recipes you try out. I truly appreciate any feedback people give me on them. 🙂

Comments

