Goodies · My Life · nut butter · vegan

Turkish Inspired Hummus!

Hey my Gorgeous Smiles! 🙂

Before we get to the GOODS, let’s see who won the YogaPulse System giveaway:

I went to Random.org and used their Random Number Generator for the selection. The html code isn’t showing the picture of the generator, but here’s the number they selected-

The result: #3 — RebeccaEmail me with your address so I can get you your YogaPulse system set!

Thanks to everyone who participated!

Eating hummus always brings back memories from my childhood in Turkey.

I ADORED hummus as a child and still love it to this day!

And THIS one my absolute favorite.


My Turkish Inspired Hummus!


Rinse chickpeas (garbanzo beans) well in a strainer.


Add chickpeas to your blender/food processor.


Add the lemon juice, tahini, water, garlic, and chili powder.


Pop/twist on the lid.


And blend ‘er up! It shouldn’t take very long to combine – only a minute or two.


It should be nice and creamy when it’s done, with all the ingredients smoothly incorporated.


Once the dip is smooth, spoon it out into a Rubbermaid container and store in the fridge when not using (to keep fresh).


Turkish Hummus!

Ingredients

  • 15oz can (1 ¾ cup cooked) chickpeas, rinsed
  • 1 Tbsp tahini (sesame seed paste)
  • 2 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 3 Tbsp water
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • ½ tsp chili powder (or up to 1 tsp if you want a kick)

Directions

Rinse chickpeas (garbanzo beans) well in a strainer and add them to your blender/food processor.

Add the lemon juice, tahini, water, garlic, and chili powder, pop/twist on the lid, and blend ‘er up! It shouldn’t take very long to combine – only a minute or two. The dip should be nice and creamy when it’s done, with all the ingredients incorporated.

Once the dip is smooth, spoon it out into a Rubbermaid container and store in the fridge when not using (to keep fresh).

Note: If using dry chickpeas, soak 2/3 cup dry beans overnight and prepare them as directed on the bag (boiled for about an hour or two), rinse, and use in place of the canned beans. You may need to add a little bit of salt, but only add it if it tastes like it needs it. Tahini, also called sesame seed paste, can sometimes be a little hard to find in a regular grocery store. My grocery store carries it in the nut butter section. I’ve also found it near the oils like olive oil, pumpkin oil, sesame oil, etc. If your store has a health food section that would be a great place to start looking too. Amazon also sells it if you don’t mind ordering food over the internet. But if you can’t find it, don’t worry — you can use another nut butter like peanut butter in its place I you’d like.

Print This!


When my parents tasted it, the first thing they said was “TURKEY!” Turkey is also where my sister was born and where I met one of my best friends (we both lived in Turkey at the same time and were the best of friends; our families both moved (dads were both in the military) and we didn’t see each other for over 10 years; but now we live in the same city and our friendship couldn’t be stronger. :)). So Turkey holds a dear place in my heart.

………………………………………………….

Have you ever had hummus? My favorite way to eat it is the way I ate it as a child — I use my bread as a spoon! 😉

Do you have a favorite food that brings back memories when you eat it? Hummus reminds me of Turkey, the smell of air conditioners reminds me of England, and those Texas-shaped tortilla chips remind me of my Lone-star state. 

How many glasses/bottles of water do you drink a day? My bottle is about 20oz, so I like to do the worth of 6 of them (it also has this handy-dandy tracker on the cap, so I can keep track). I thought I hadn’t drunk enough water Saturday night, since I woke up with a huge headache this past Sunday, but that must not have been the problem. I had to be careful with what I ate as my stomach was super sensitive and was easily made nauseous. I actually got really sick Sunday evening– I barely ate dinner, but all I wanted to do was to get whatever was in my stomach OUT OF IT. I didn’t throw-up, but my face turned pale, I lost my strength, and got really cold. I think it may have been me not getting enough sleep the past nights before (usually I’m really good now, but those few nights I stayed up pretty late and still had to get up at 5am) and a bug going around. Anyways, I’m feeling a TON better now and am back to life (and making sure I get enough sleep and drink lots of water)!

Happy Good Friday! 🙂

xoxox,


30 thoughts on “Turkish Inspired Hummus!

    1. Hey Lauren! I totally agree — homemade hummus is SO much better than storebought (and cheaper, too)! It just tastes better (it must be all of the love put in when made from scratch).

    1. Hey Tayla! You really should give hummus a try. I think you would really like this kind; it’s my favorite, and you don’t need a powerful blender to make it, as it blends up really easily! 🙂

  1. i’ve missed reading your blog so much! i hope all is well. and hummus is always yummy! my favorite is this hard to find pizza hummus that honestly tastes like pizza and obviously makes the best pita pizzas ever.

    1. Hey Rachel! I know that Katie from Chocolate Covered Katie has a Pizza Hummus — maybe you could try her’s out if you ever want some and can’t find it. I’ve heard great reviews of it! 🙂

  2. I’ve never successfully made homemade hummus. Actually – I only tried once but it was so bad I’m afraid to try again!! This recipe looks and sounds delicious, and I know your recipes are reliable. I’ll definitely have to give it another shot!

  3. YUM hummus is one of my favorite things everrrrr! I’ve only made my own once, but it didn’t turn out very well for some reason.

    1. Give it another try — I prefer homemade hummus to the store-bought as it saves my wallet from being squeezed dry and tastes so much better! You can’t fail with this recipe. 🙂

  4. Ahhh…hummus is my addiction. I swear I keep some of the hummus companies in business! I’m definitely going to try your recipe though. It sounds delicious and it would save me a ton of money!
    How neat that you’ve been able to stay so close with your friend from Turkey! Lifelong friends like that are irreplaceable. (:

  5. WHOA! This hummus looks crazy creamy. I’ve made homemade bean dip before, but it was never *this* creamy – bookmarking!

    1. Hey Maria! I think you parents would LOVE this! I would be really interested in hearing if it reminds them of the hummus they most likely had in Turkey (you can’t go to Turkey without having their hummus). Both of my parents said that it tasted just like the kind in Turkey, so I’m sure your parents will say the same. 🙂 My sister was actually born in Turkey, so this is extra special to me.

Comments

