baking · Goodies · nut butter

Blueberry Coconut Protein Pancake!

Hey my Frosted Blueberries! 🙂

Thanks for all of your comments on my Easter WIAW! I really enjoy frosting cupcakes and baking zucchini bread (my mom bought some more zucchini, so maybe I will finally get to show you the version I make for her). 

What have I been loving for breakfast recently?

Not oatmeal!

This:


My Blueberry Coconut Protein Pancake!


Start heating up a nonstick (or lightly sprayed) skillet.


I set my stove surface burner on a heat/power of 3 (from a Low of 1 to a High of 9).


Mix together the coconut flower, chia seeds, and cinnamon.


Add the egg whites, almond milk, and vanilla.


Whisk it together with a fork…


Until there are no more lumps in the batter.


Stir in banana.


And then fold in blueberries.


Once your skillet is heated up,


Spoon the batter into your nonstick skillet in the shape of a pancake.


And let it cook for about 15 minutes.


It does take a lot longer on the first side than the second, but waiting 15 minutes ensures a better flip later! 🙂


Now, time to FLIP! Take you biggest spatula and softly scoot it under the pancake. Tilt the pan to the side and bring the edge of the pancake to the inside corner of the pan, both at 45 degree angles forming a V-shape. Now flip the pancake from the spatula to the pan facing down.

(If you’re left-handed, follow the directions as state above, but flip the directions the pan and pancake face at the angle: pan to the right and pancake to the left).


Let it cook for another 5 minutes until the bottom is a lightly golden brown.

Transfer to a plate, frost it with peanut butter, decorate it with another handful of blueberries, grab a fork, and DEVOUR! 😀


Blueberry Coconut Protein Pancake!

Ingredients

  • ½ cup egg whites (up to 2/3 cup, depending on size of egg whites used – 4 large typically work)
  • 1 scoop (3 tbs) coconut flour
  • 1 tbs chia seeds
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbs vanilla almond milk
  • ½ banana, mashed
  • ½ cup frozen blueberries

Topped with 1 tbs peanut butter and another handful of berries!

Directions

Start heating up a nonstick (or lightly sprayed) skillet. I set my stove surface burner on a heat/power of 3 (from a Low of 1 to a High of 9).

Mix together the coconut flower, chia seeds, and cinnamon. Add the egg whites, almond milk, and vanilla. Whisk it together with a fork until there are no more lumps in the batter. Add the mashed banana, stir it in, and then fold in the blueberries.

Once your skillet is heated up, spoon the batter into your nonstick skillet. Let it cook for about 15 minutes. It does take a lot longer on the first side than the second, but waiting 15 minutes ensures a better flip later! 🙂

Now, time to FLIP! Take you biggest spatula and softly scoot it under the pancake. Tilt the pan to the side and bring the edge of the pancake to the inside corner of the pan, both at 45 degree angles forming a V-shape. (I drew in the way the spatula would face, as I couldn’t hold both my camera and the spatula in the same hand and take the picture.) Now flip the pancake from the spatula to the pan, facing down. Let it cook for another 5 minutes until the bottom is a lightly golden brown.

Transfer to a plate, frost it with peanut butter, decorate it with another handful of blueberries, grab a fork, and DEVOUR! 😀

Print This!

Note: If you don’t have coconut flour, you can another flour like almond flour or buckwheat flour (whole wheat and oat would work too) or you can even use vanilla protein powder in its place. If you want to make this EXTRA HUGE, add a tsp of baking powder, split into about 3 smaller pancakes (to help with flipping), and cook until golden brown on both sides.


Nutritional information

Without peanut butter: 290 calories, 21.5 grams protein, 35 grams carbs, 17.5 grams fiber, and 7.5 grams healthy fats.

With 1 tbs all natural peanut butter: 390 calories, 25.5 grams protein, 38 grams carbs, 19 grams fiber, and 15.5 grams healthy fats.


Absolutely the BEST pancake EVER,

And I get the WHOLE thing all to myself! 😀

YES, I do love you oatmeal. You hold a dear place in my heart.

But right now,

I’m having fun with this babe.

…………………………………………………………………………

What what are some of your favorite pancake toppers? I love nut butter and fruit. Period. 😀

Who is one of your favorite fitness gurus? One of my favorites is Jillian Michaels — I especially love her workouts on her DVDs, as they keep me strong!

Have you ever taken an AP test? Have one coming up this next month? I went in today to the high school I’m taking it at and we went through a lot of the paper work (bubbling-in info, etc.), and now it’s really hitting me. 30 Days, and I’ll be taking both the Literature and Physics AP Tests. I already have my diploma (came a couple weeks ago), but I won’t really feel graduated until after my 17th Birthday, which happens to bet the day I take my Physics AP Test. But now, I REALLY know I need to keep up my studying and work at it as much as I can.

xoxox,


39 thoughts on “Blueberry Coconut Protein Pancake!

  1. I just love coconut flour, this looks so delicious! And I totally agree with you– fruit and nut butter are DEFINITELY the best pancake toppers!! 😀

  2. I really love your blog! Great recipe. I think I’ll try it this weekend. I adore Jillian! She helped whip my butt into shape.

  3. My favorite fitness expert is probably Cindy Whitmarsh. I don’t agree with her nutritional advice, but her workouts are great!
    I also like Brooke Siler; I do her Pilates program.

      1. Brooke Siler’s Pilates program is in book form (she has two books). She takes a traditional approach to Pilates (she was trained by a women who was trained by Joseph Pilates to carry on his work). The book I use focuses on matwork, which works well for me since I don’t have any machines! Have a great day, Kat!

  4. I love this type of pancake! Coconut flour + egg whites make the best pancake in my opinion. I love making on giant one too. I need to try this flavor combo!

  5. I’ve been trying to find a good coconut flour pancake recipe and this one looks perfect! I can’t wait to try this out! 🙂 My favourite toppers are soy nut butter, banana, blueberries and maple syrup.

  6. Hey! Sorry it’s been a while since I’ve commented – I promise I’ve been reading! 🙂 Hope you’re doing well!

    Wait, what am I saying?? If you have that pancake of course you’re doing well! 😀 I’m definitely going to try it once I get a banana. It looks SO GOOD!!

    Good luck on the AP literature and physics tests!!! You’re going to do awesome! I have the AP literature and physics tests too as well as AP chemistry. Not exactly looking forward to May… except to get them over with 😉 Hehe I’m actually excited for the chemistry one because I love chemistry!

    1. Hey Alexandra! Wow girl, you’re taking both the Physics AP and the Literature AP, AND the Chemistry AP?!?! You are such a smartie. I really admire you for that. 🙂 I’m so glad that you enjoy Chemistry — math comes easily to me (has since I was a little girl, entertaining myself by making up math problems and solving them), and I see physics as a lot of formulas with a little science application thrown in.

      Best of luck to you, Gorgeous!!! I know you’ll do great!:D

    1. Hey Beautiful! I hear ya — pancakes packed with protein are the BEST! 🙂 Have you ever made a kind of “sauce” with the blueberries (like with frozen ones), or do you prefer them fresh on top?

    1. Hey Allison!
      You can definitely make this without chia seeds. Just use 1 tbsp of ground flax in their place and you’re good to go! If you don’t have either chia or flax, try using a little more coconut flour or protein powder to help thicken the batter. 🙂

      I hope this helps! If you make it with the flax or with a little more coconut flour/protein powder, I’d love to hear how it turns out! 🙂

  7. whaat? coconut And blueberry? my two favorites! these look amazing. way to go. i’ll be partaking just as soon as i get my hands on those ingredients. yum!
    -murika

  8. Kat! These look fabulous! They remind me of the Tone It Up protein pancakes, which I love but can never flip because they’re soo huge haha. I need to get a big spatula like yours! I can’t wait to try these 🙂 coconut flour is my fave!

Comments

