Goodies · Health And Nutrition · vegan

My Green Protein Smoothie!

Hey my Dazzling Sparkle-Stars!

Thanks for all of your comments on my post about how I was asked to Prom. I am really excited that he asked me and I’m looking forward to going with him. 🙂

One of my favorite meals (excluding bananas with nut butter) to make is a smoothie. For breakfast, lunch, or even dinner when it’s a fend-for-yourself day (like when my parents go out on a date or the rest of the family is gone somewhere or we just don’t want to cook).

I especially love to make smoothies on those days where I’m going to be out on the run all day and have to grab a meal quick before I leave.

When I’m in that situation, this is the smoothie I make.


My Green Protein Smoothie!


Add the almond milk, apple, and orange to the blender first.


Then add in the protein powder, flax, and cinnamon. (Also a sweetener if desired.)


And top it all off with the frozen spinach.


Pop on the lid…


And give it a whirl


Depending on the strength of your machine, you may or may not need to add some more almond milk.


Blend on high..


Until it is smooth…


And turns a beautiful green color.


Pour the smoothie into a quart-sized jar or measuring cup, or you can pour it into a couple of smaller cups or jars (great if splitting into multiple servings). Grab a spoon and enjoy!


My Favorite Green Protein Smoothie!

Ingredients

  • 8-oz frozen spinach (I use half of a 16-oz bag)
  • 2 cups (16-fl. oz .) unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 medium orange, peeled and quartered
  • 1 small apple, sliced
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 scoop (30 g) vanilla protein powder (or coconut flour)
  • 2 tbsp ground flax

Directions

Add the almond milk, apple, and orange to the blender first. Then add in the protein powder, flax, and cinnamon. (Also a sweetener if desired.) And top it all off with the frozen spinach.

Pop on the lid and give it a whirl at high speed. (Depending on the strength of your machine, you may or may not need to add some more almond milk.) Stop and scrape the sides if necessary, and then blend on high until it is smooth and turns a beautiful green color.

Pour the smoothie into a quart-sized jar or measuring cup, or you can pour it into a couple of smaller cups or jars (great if splitting into multiple servings). Grab a spoon and enjoy! Makes 2 servings.

Print This!

Note: Since everyone’s taste buds are different, you may or may not need to add some stevia or agave or honey to this – if I was serving this to my mom or my sister, I would definitely have to add a sweetener, but the sweetness is perfect for me. Just adjust the flavor to your liking. Since I use an unflavored protein powder and unsweetened almond milk, I sometimes end up adding a little sweetener depending on the size of my apple and orange. One easy way to increase the sweetness is to pick larger pieces of fruit to add to the smoothie (like a large orange and a medium/large apple;) or just add some more kinds of fruit like a handful of grapes for more sweetness. You can easily split this into multiple servings – sometimes I can’t finish, so I’ll save it in the fridge for later (like for lunch or as a snack). Substitutions – you can use coconut flour in place of the protein powder for a high-fiber smoothie; you can use chia seeds in place of the flax; you can also use frozen fruit in place of the apple for a more ice-cream-like thickness.

Makes 1 ravenous-Kat serving, or 2 regular servings.


It’s perfect for the summer months as it energizes you for those outdoor adventures and keeps you cool while playing in the sun!


A delicious way to get your greens in and become strong like Popeye! 😉

…………………………………………………

Do you like to make smoothies? I REALLY enjoy them in the summer months (which are approaching soon! :D) as they tend to make me cold in the winter but cool off in the summer.

What is one of your favorite greens? I really like kale and collard greens, but the only kind of green I have tried in this smoothie is spinach.

Did you enjoy watching cartoons (like Popeye or Scooby-Doo) as a child? I remember watching the Smurfs, the Jetsons, the Pink Panther, Tom and Jerry, Popeye, the Flintstones, Scooby-Doo, and the Snorks. My life was pretty easy back then. But then High School hit. Ha-ha.

xoxox,


20 thoughts on “My Green Protein Smoothie!

  1. I lovveee the chocolate banana protein smoothies that starbucks has! Even though the stats aren’t Terrible, I still haven’t had one in a while. My favorite greens are unsalted green beans, lettuce, and sugar peas.

    I mostly watched Scooby Doo when I was younger. That was actually the theme of my 18th birthday party!

  2. Wow that’s the greenest smoothie I’ve ever seen! 😀 I love me some smoothies too, they never get old and there’s always so many combos you can make!

    1. Hey Alexandra! I love how you mentioned all of the combos. That’s one thing I ADORE about smoothies is that you don’t have to have the same one all of the time — you can mix it up with what’s in season at the time and other things to really make it delicious every single day! 🙂

  3. sounds delicious! I am going to have to try this one out, I love that you have a printable version, such a great idea!

    Speaking of, were you ever able to put up a printable link for that letter?!

  4. I love making smoothies! My favorite is raspberry pineapple coconut.
    I used to watch Popeye as a kid all the time! We also used to have this Popeye musical with real actors which was kind of fun too, although it had this one song that used a swear word repeatedly, and the musical mysteriously disappeared after my little brother began singing that song ;).

    1. Hey Karina! 🙂 I don’t think I’ve ever had a raspberry pineapple coconut smoothie — it sounds absolutely DIVINE! Do you make it yourself or get it from a juicer/smoothie place?

  5. Hi Kathleen! I”m your newest follower 🙂 So happy I bumped into your delicious blog!! Love this smoothie recipe! I’ve been trying to make more of these at home for breakfast, such an easy way to squeeze in all those fruits and veggies, this looks so good!

Comments

