Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis + Fundraiser + Workout

Hey my Scrumptious Chocolate Chips! πŸ™‚

Thanks for all of your comments on my last post. I’ve really been having fun trying out my new watch and seeing if it will work for the AP test. So far so good!

Tonight is the Fundraiser for the Girl’s Camp I’m going to in June. We’ve been planning out the dinner, bake sell, and auction for months, and today is the day that it’s happening!

So, what am I bringing? I’m bringing:

Chocolate Covered Pretzels


I made about 45 and bagged 42 of them.


Some of them I dipped in white chocolate and sprinkled with pink sprinkles, other ones I dipped in milk chocolate, sprinkled with green sprinkles, and drizzled in white chocolate, …


…And other ones I dipped in milk chocolate and rolled in pecans/almonds and drizzled in both milk chocolate and white chocolate.

(And as it was National Pretzel Day yesterday, I’ll show you how I made these in my next post.)

Red Velvet Cookies with White Chocolate


This batch made a TON of cookies! I even have some that are not picture (there are at least 38 cookies in the picture; the batch made even more than what’s shown!).


I decided to do an alphabet theme since there would be a lot of families with little children there tonight. I know my little Sunbeams (3-year-olds) would like it. πŸ™‚

And Swiss Chocolate Cupcakes frosted with a Homemade Chocolate Frosting.


I made about 31 of these – 24 for the auction and then a few I can give away.


…………………………………………………………………..

My right knee has been bothering me for the past couple weeks. It started a few weeks ago, when I remember feeling some pain after riding the bike (not during — afterwards). And to tell you the truth, I pretty much ignored it. I just thought it was something that would go away if given time.

But it didn’t.

And then, a few days ago, I noticed that my right knee was swollen. It’s two times the size of my left knee and very stiff (I can’t raise my leg higher than hip-level, and neither can I raise my leg in the back (as if doing a butt kick) higher than 90 degrees). I can still walk around, but I can’t walk around too much, as it can get painful by the end of the day. We asked my friend’s dad, who’s a Rheumatoid Arthritis doctor, if he could take a look at my knee and see what he thought. After he explained how the swelling occurs and stuff like that, he strongly advised me to not exercise for an entire week. He also suggested I take 600mg of Motrin (ibuprofen) 3 times a day to help with the pain and swelling.

About 5-6 years ago, I had some problems with my right knee, and they diagnosed me with Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis (JRA). After sticking a needle in my knee twice (to remove the excess fluid), I really don’t want to have that happen again (as I don’t do too well with needles…). So I hope that the Motrin and rest does it, but I’ve been taking the Motrin since Tuesday and the swelling hasn’t really gone down; I think my parents will end up taking me to the hospital this next week. If they do, I’ll keep you posted!

………………………………………………………………..

I knew I wouldn’t be sane not working out at ALL, so I put together this is the workout that works the Abs and Arms. I made sure that the exercises wouldn’t put any strain on my knee, and I have been doing for the past couple day and have really enjoyed it.


It takes me about 30 minutes, and my arms and abs feel SO good afterwards. It has been keeping me sane while I wait for my knee to heal.

(I’ve also put together a full body workout that I would do if I COULD use my knee — I’ll share it as soon as my knee gets better and I can try it out.)

………………………………………………….

I’ve got to go (my parents are getting loaded up in the car with all the goodies my sister and I are bringing), so I’ll talk to you soon! πŸ™‚

Out of curiosity, do you consider white chocolate as chocolate? I don’t know, since there’s no actual cocoa/cacao powder in it….

Do you prefer to work your arms, abs, or legs? I really like working my arms. πŸ˜‰

xoxox,

24 thoughts on “Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis + Fundraiser + Workout

    • Thanks. πŸ™‚ I used to have it as a child, and then it went into remission, so I really never thought about it for a few years. It’s never bothered me until now (and I don’t know what sparked it). Maybe I just overused it. Maybe it was weakened from something (like overdoning on peanut butter, as that can cause inflammation if in excess). I’m not quite sure, but it feels fine now. Rest seems to be helping it. My parents are keeping track of it. I know that going to the doctor and having the needle stuck in my knee (to take out the excess fluid) will solve it, but I just want to see if something else will fix it (as I don’t do too well with needles anyways….).

    • Thanks Heather. I have no pain (like in other kinds of arthritis), but my knee is swollen. For most individuals who get juvenile rheumatoid arthritis it goes into remission and never bothers them ever again, and that’s what happened to me. I think I may have overdone on peanut butter (as that can influence inflammation), as I was having it 4-5 times a day — yeah, I had it ALL day, so I’ve cut that out (in addition to gluten, as I know that can influence inflammation, and I don’t want to put anymore stress on my knee than I need to). Right now I’m waiting to see if it will go back to normal on it’s own, but at least I know what is going on (unlike when I first had it) and I know what can be done to help. My friend’s dad has been checking up on my regularly, so I’m grateful for that. I should be fine, and if given time, I should be back to my old self running around and having a great time. πŸ™‚

  1. Owwie knee 😦 Hope it’s a bit better now, sounds like it was extremely painful! Hope you’re resting up, and good idea about the inflammatory foods – it can make a big difference sometimes.
    On another note, all those desserts looks fantastic and delicious, not sure which I would want to try first! Yum!

  2. everything looks amazing AS ALWAYS love!! And Im sorry to hear about your knee. I actually have arthritis in my knee as well, but mine is from built up scar tissue from surgery and so many injuries. Its fine most of the time, but when it rains it aches pretty bad. I just take a hot bath, and rub some icy hot all over. My hubby wont come near me because of the smell, but my puppy still snuggles with me!! πŸ˜‰

  3. Pingback: Vanilla-Nut Banana Cookies! « KatsHealthCorner

  4. Girl I feel your pain I was told I had it when I was two. I have had like 10 of the needle things it doesn’t feel good afterwards. I have been in remission um like twice. Your lucky you don’t really feel the pain. I’m 11 now and am not in remission.

    • Hey, Renee! I’m so sorry it has taken me so long to respond. Thank you so much for your comment. It’s really meant a lot to me. I’m sorry you’ve had to go through so many needles. I know the two I had were NOT pleasant AT ALL. You are so brave. You are so strong. I hope you start going into remission soon though. I know it’s not fun having it. 😦

  5. Pingback: Easy Vegan Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Bars! « KatsHealthCorner

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

